Customer Reviews for

Cay

Average Rating 4
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The Cay Is A Great Book

My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this b...
My opinion of this book is that I liked it. The Cay is a very good book for young readers. This book has a lot of detail about what goes on in the story.

The Cay is a great book for readers to read. It's about this boy named Phillip. He lived with his mom and dad. There was this war that was going on and these Germans invading his town. Phillips dad makes him and his mother get on this ship to the United States to be safe from the war. But they get part way over to the United States and their ship gets hit by a torpedo from a German submarine. When the boat wrecks Phillip gets knocked out when the torpedo hits the ship. When Phillip regains his consciousness he wakes up in the middle of the sea with this African American in this small raft. His mom never liked though kind of people because they were always different then white people. She said the lived different and talked different than everyone else so she always told Phillip not to talk to them or to have a friend like them kind of people. But Phillip is alone with this African American. They finally arrive at this island by them self. When Phillip tries to see he can't. When the torpedo hit the ship when Phillip fell is got blinded by something. So the only guy Phillip has to rely on is the African American. So will Phillip overcome his racist mind to survive this trip? You will have to read the book to find out what the outcome is.

posted by 2116880 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a really weird book. I mean CREEPY!! My teacher made me read this. It was scary and hurtful and sad. Disappointing................

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very nice

    I had to read this book for school a few years ago, but I recently read it again. I still think it's a great and very compelling read. You actually get absorbed into the book and start to like the characters. It's a good book for all ages.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Gr8 book

    This book is gr8 my science teacherbis reading it to the class but i am reading it on my nook too

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    This Is A Good Book

    The Cay by Theodore Taylor takes place in Williamsted. When Phillip and his mom left Williamsted their ship got torpedoed and the boat sank. Phillip got rescued by an old black man. I liked this book because it shows ways to help people survive in the wild if there is nobody around. While on the water searching for an island Phillip went blind. Phillip is a young white boy. When they found an island Timothy built a fort. Timothy tried to do his best keeping Phillip in good condition but had to be careful with their supplies. At the end of the book I really liked how Timothy knew he was going to pass away so he set some stuff up on the island so Phillip could survive on his own because I think that Phillip is a little young to survive on his own and plus he is blind. I think that Phillip would¿ve not survived if it wouldn¿t have been for Timothy. Timothy also reminds me of myself in some ways because he is an outdoors person just like me. The part of the book I didn¿t like was that as soon as Timothy passed away the ship found Phillip, how come they didn¿t come before Timothy died. This was a good book. I liked a lot of stuff and I disliked a lot of stuff. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys the outdoors.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome

    It is an amazing story and Timothy saved phillip! We read this in class... it is good read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    The cay

    It was probably one of the best books I have ever read. It was very sad, but I liked how the author told it from the main characters perspective. We read this book in class, and I was able to imagine what it was like there because of how the author worded it. Two thumbs up for me!(:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    The Cay by: Theodore Taylor

    This is a great book! It may look uninteresting by the cover but it is very good!!! I am getting ready to read it my fourth time!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    The theme of The Cay is learning about oneself and learning abou

    The theme of The Cay is learning about oneself and learning about other cultures.  Once you start reading, you can’t put this book down because something new and exciting happens in every chapter.  One example from the book that conveys the theme is when Phillip’s mother told him, “They have their place and we have ours.” Phillip later learned this wasn’t true.  Another example is when Timothy told Phillip, “No matter what culture you come from, you are the same on the inside.”  I think this is true of everybody.  I would give the Cay five out of five stars and would recommend this book to any preteen because it shows a great understanding of other cultures.  I think it is important that preteens have an understanding of other cultures so they can overcome prejudice in their own lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    The Cay is a very enjoyable book. It teaches you an important le

    The Cay is a very enjoyable book. It teaches you an important lesson on overcoming prejudice. In the beginning of the book, Phillip is not very fond of Timothy. As the story progresses, Phillip wants to become his friend and asks "Are you still black, Timothy?" This book just gets better and better as you read on and its hard to put down. I highly recommend The Cay.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Katw Katelyn goode

    It is a really good book and fasanating

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Really good

    I was reading this book in school and i love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    The Cay

    I read this book and it was very sad and sometimes funny:) Then i decided to whatch the movie:) The movie was not that good:( It leaves out alot of the good parts:( And its cheaply made. But the book was really good and I think you should read it:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Emotional adventure

    Itll make you laugh and cry. It is so amazing and touching

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    What i read so far

    It is good so farvwe are reading it i class you should get it!
    Vy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Pretty stinkin awesome!

    My mom had me read this book. I thought it was an awesome book. People who are interested in island book this book is just right for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved it

    This was the best book ever. And it was funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The Cay

    I've always loved the book. Its such a great story every young reader and older reader would enjoy for quite a while. When my English teacher a few years back had a set of these books and read it to the whole class, she had tears in her eyes when she read the last few chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Th ending

    I want to tell my whole class the ending but i cant.:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    The Germans are invading the island of Curacao. It is the beginn

    The Germans are invading the island of Curacao. It is the beginning of World War two. German ships are around the harbor so that nobody can leave.
    Description and summary of main points
    The boy and his parents get on a ship to go to Norfolk Virginia. The boy is on a ship when the Germans sink the ship. They boy is has become blind after being hit on the head with a piece of metal from the ship. An African American man saves him and takes him to an island. The African Americans were not treated very nicely, so he was afraid of him. The man takes care of the boy, until a large storm comes through and the man dies. They boy is on his own for a few days, until a ship comes through and finds him. They save him and take him to a hospital and do surgery and it restores his vision.

    It is a great book for all ages to read. It has a good anti-racism message inside of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    CLICK ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sad, short, emotinal, insparational, and most of all a boock to remember. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    My class is reading it

    My class is reading it and i am in 5th grade and i really want to tell my class the ending but i cant :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12