Customer Reviews for

A Cedar Cove Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome !!!!!

Couldn't put it down. I have enjoyed the series and am waiting anxiously for the next one. I felt like i was a part of the family. Small town America--where everyone cares about each other, isn't it great!!!
I have read most of Debbie's work and have enjoyed ever...
Couldn't put it down. I have enjoyed the series and am waiting anxiously for the next one. I felt like i was a part of the family. Small town America--where everyone cares about each other, isn't it great!!!
I have read most of Debbie's work and have enjoyed every bit of it.
I would recommend this as a definate must read.

posted by 193387 on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Total Disappoint

The free sample gives you one page to read. One sentenence. I think I have read this book before. I wanted to read the sample to make sure before I accidently purchased it again. Total waste. I won't purchase this book and now doubt I'll continue the series. Geeezzz.

posted by 5777084 on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    Awesome !!!!!

    Couldn't put it down. I have enjoyed the series and am waiting anxiously for the next one. I felt like i was a part of the family. Small town America--where everyone cares about each other, isn't it great!!!<BR/>I have read most of Debbie's work and have enjoyed every bit of it.<BR/>I would recommend this as a definate must read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Awesome Book - We're reading it with our Debbie Macomber Book Club

    This is just an awesome book. Well, all of her books are awesome. We are going to be reading this book starting December 1st, 2008 with our Debbie Macomber Book Club. It is a Yahoo Group. So anyone interested in this group is more than welcome to join us. The more the merrier. We read nothing but Debbie Macomber books. We will be alternating reading next year the Cedar Cove Series and the Blossom St Series (and in between a regular non-series book)<BR/>Again, this is a great book. She manages to get you hooked from the first chapter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Total Disappoint

    The free sample gives you one page to read. One sentenence. I think I have read this book before. I wanted to read the sample to make sure before I accidently purchased it again. Total waste. I won't purchase this book and now doubt I'll continue the series. Geeezzz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Loved it

    I couldn't put the book down, finished it in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Wonderful

    Another great story by Debbie Macomber. I love visiting Cedar Cove and its residents every chance I get!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Modern Day Version of the Christmas Story

    I love Christmas stories so I picked this one up, haven't read the other books in this series. I found it very enjoyable and original in its parallels to the first Christmas. Must reading for the holidays.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I just finished A Cedar Cove Christmas

    The book was a very fast read and I enjoyed it very much. If you have read the Cedar Cove series you will know the people in the book. It is a touching Christmas story that makes you smile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    No Room at the Inn!

    Fans of Debbie Macomber have found her Christmas novels to be nothing short of a delightfully necessary part of Yuletide cheer. A Cedar Cove Christmas will exceed these expectations! Mary Joe Wyse has previously believed everything David Rhodes said but is now having intense doubts that don't bode well for the future, especially a future with a soon-to-be-born baby he fathered. Mary's brothers, Linc, Mel and Ned have blown it as well, with their overbearing, albeit loving, intentions. They're threatening to find David and give him a message to treat their sister honorably and perhaps give David a sound thrashing as well, not necessarily in that order. Mary decides to beat them to the punch and find David herself to discover whether she has his support or not, not a hopeful sign at all based on his former lack of connection to her after discovering her pregnancy. Traveling to the festively decorated Cedar Cove town, Mary finds a wealth of friends who offer her neutral but wise advice to help her in searching for David's home and parents. But the search becomes almost insignificant compared to the beautiful reception Mary receives from these very special Cedar Cove residents. Meet Grace and Cliff Harding who offer Mary a room above their barn to stay through the snowstorm-driven, Christmas Eve night, a place holding an ox, some sheep, a donkey and one ornery, human-biting camel. You'll meet several other memorable characters who are graciously and warmly present to Mary in her moment of need, even before her searching brothers arrive to find an unexpected moment and a smitten young man helping their beloved sister. Yes, you might think you know the outcome in this wondrous Christmas tale, but you really don't because Debbie Macomber has created uniquely inspiring characters who equally care for each other and the stranger who arrives to find 'there's no room at the local inn...' How they interact will absolutely thrill each reader and remind one anew that love is truly the greatest Christmas gift anyone can give or receive! A Cedar Cove Christmas is a grace-filled, romantic tale you will want to buy, keep, share and reread each holiday season. Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on September 15, 2008

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Great, Great, Great !!

    This is the 1st Macomber book I have read and I loved it. I am now a die-hard Macomber fan. The only other book that has had such an impact on me lately is A YEAR SINCE YESTERDAY by George Edward Zintel. I recommend these 2 great books to anyone who loves to read and laugh and cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A beautiful story

    On Christmas Eve, pregnant Mary Jo Wyse comes to Cedar Cove, Washington seeking the father of her unborn David Rhodes. There are no commercial accommodations available in town, but Grace and Cliff Harding allow Mary Jo to sleep in the loft of their stable.----------------- When Mary Jo goes into labor, paramedic Mack McAfee attends to her. The three Wyse men, her bumbling brothers (Linc, Mel and Ned) arrive to help their sister. Meanwhile Mary Jo has decided that instead of confronting David, who she has not found, she would prefer to be held by kindhearted Mack. However she doubts even this nice EMT would want to get involved with a woman who has just given birth.------------- A CEDAR COVE CHRISTMAS is an amusing and angst account of the Christmas saga with Puget Sound serving as the locale instead of Bethlehem as a stable is still a stable when it comes to hospitality for a pregnant woman. The cast is solid but it is the visitor Mary Jo who provides the anxiety, focus and equilibrium to the plot. Fans will relish Debbie Macomber¿s latest very Merry Christmas romp.------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Great Christmas story, great book, and great series!!  Recommend

    Great Christmas story, great book, and great series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    This story is perfect to put you in the holiday spirit.  It¿s pe

    This story is perfect to put you in the holiday spirit.  It’s perfect as part of the Cedar Cove series or as a stand-alone for Christmas.  

    Through this tale Macomber pulled at my heartstrings and made me laugh like crazy.  It was absolutely perfect.  This story is simultaneously completely original and a traditional love story.  I also love the many parallels you can draw to the original Christmas story.  Not only does Macomber create a brilliant storyline for us to follow but she brings it to life with her brilliant descriptions and captivating narrative so that you can picture it all.

    The character development in this novel is phenomenal.  Although this novel falls well into the series, you don’t ever feel like there’s anyone that you don’t know, nor any aspect of the story that is beyond you.  I love how the narrator gives each character their own voice.  Not only do you get to know them as individuals through the development on the author’s part, but it’s impossible not to picture them because of this.  

    This story brought tears to my eyes more than once and definitely warmed my heart.  It’s the perfect modern day Christmas story to bring you into the holiday spirit.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    a fun Christmas story

    Another quick and light read. I enjoyed the references to the Christmas story. It was fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Original Christmas Classic!!!!!

    'A Cedar Cove Christmas by Debbie Macomber

    This newest huletide treat from the queen of Christmas charm is a treasure. When Mary Jo Wyse heads to Cedar Cove by foot ferry to track down the father of her soon-to-be born baby on Christmas Eve, she finds the entire townsfolk waiting eagerly to help, even to young paramedic Mack McAfee. When she finds no room at the inn, a new friend opens up her barn and stable, with live Nativity animals, as her haven. When Mary Jo's three older brothers come looking to bring her home, they find more than they bargained for. If you've enjoyed Debbie's angel books about Shirley, Goodness and Mercy, you'll love this little book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A CEDAR COVE CHRISTMAS

    GREAT BOOK. IF YOU LIKE THE CEDAR COVE SERIES YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Predictable

    Good for a cold dreary afternoon if you don't have anything else to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Cedar Cove Christmas

    I loved the book, it was only my second of hers, Debbie Macomber has made me a fan for life. I will be back for much more. Debbie keeps you captivated from chapter to chapter by switching between stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    A Cedar Cove Christmas - VERY creative!

    Debbie Macomber really hit the nail on the head with this one. I was in to it from page one! What creativity she used as she linked the characters from this story with those in the very FIRST Christmas story. She is one of my "faves" and I read EVERYTHING she puts out, but this one was special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kind of corny, but a warm fuzzy type story

    This story was okay. It was sort of corny how the author tried to fit the characters with the Nativity, like the heroine having three brothers with the last name of Wyse. Get it...three Wyse men? Sheesh. But it was a light read and the theme was warm and fuzzy. So if you like hot cocoa by the fire type books, this is one of them. Probably the best part was the scene where she has her baby. And the ending was nice. But there was no SIGH at the end for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary Jo, Mack & the three Wyse men

    This book started out with a bang and kept on going. I loved the three bothers and their strong overpowering, nosey, but loving ways. I look forward to reading about the one true love that comes into each of the borothers lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4