Customer Reviews for

Celandine (Touchstone Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    By Anonymous at TeensReadToo.com

    This book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Meadowleaf

    Firebird, please go to last result.
    Meadowleaf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Creeksplash

    She wasnt sure who she wanted as a mate. - Creeksplash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Owlfeaher to skyleaf

    Wht are u talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Skyleaf

    Im fine? And you? Skyleaf (no alternate escape route? Or you could just wait them out)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Onetail

    Purred relieved she wasnt angrey. -Onetail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Kiyanleap

    First cat!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Celandine

    Once again, Augarde has woven a fascinating blend of adventure, tragedy, terror, beauty, and magic, this time adding a thread of historical color. It is interesting, and at times agonizing, to experience the fear, anger, hatred, and anxiety of a country at war, a page in history that has been overshadowed by more recent events. But whether the setting is a rigidly regulated girls' dormitory or a wild forest full of otherworldly creatures, this book delivers more than just social criticism. It is full of magical marvels, unsettling weirdness, and nerve-wracking suspense. It is peppered with luscious vistas, gruesome shocks, snicker-inducing pranks, and mysteries that linger even at the end of the tale, so that you're glad there's a third book coming. Plus, Celandine is full of rich, lively characters, memorable dialogue, and even a bit of romance tinted with a touch of sepia-tone melancholy. If you were to read this as the first book in the series, you would find it full of intriguing foreshadowings of 'things to come' in the latter-day adventures of The Various. And it is also charged with enough storytelling energy to send the trilogy's third book into orbit! (Robbie Fischer - Mugglenet)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Celandine

    (From Robbie Fischer, reviewer for Mugglenet.) The second book in the trilogy that began with The Various is an unusual sort of sequel. Instead of picking up where the first book left off, Celandine goes back several decades, to the early 20th century, when Europe was on the brink of the First World War. But in a really weird way, it does connect with the events of The Various, particularly as the farm girl Celandine Howard has unsettling visions of another girl who will live on the same farm...the better part of a century later. These aren¿t Celandine¿s only weird experiences, though. She senses a dog is dying merely by touching it. She has unsettling premonitions, and shows signs of having the healing touch. All of these things make her a social outcast, a target of bullies, and an object of suspicion to the teachers and staff at the boarding school Celandine is forced to attend after a set-to with her governess that, believe me, you would rather read for yourself than have summarized to you. Things are nearly as bad at home, where her father and oldest brother are unsympathetic, her Austrian-born mother is ostracized by a society at war with her homeland, and her closest brother is rushing headlong into danger on the battlefield. With all these things against her, it is no wonder that Celandine keeps her strangest gift a secret. For she also knows about the ¿little people¿ who live on the wooded hill on her family¿s farm. To the Various, Celandine is a fearsome giant, the only one of her race they have ever befriended. When the terrible events in Celandine¿s life trigger a major crisis, her secret becomes her refuge. But just when it seems she could go on living with her earthy little friends, another crisis comes from outside, one that will force Celandine to choose between facing her problems in the outside world and being completely destroyed. For a long-lost tribe of winged warriors is about to arrive and stir things up on Howard¿s Hill, led by a crafty devil who is willing to shed any amount of blood necessary to get the power that he wants. Once again, Augarde has woven a fascinating blend of adventure, tragedy, terror, beauty, and magic, this time adding a thread of historical color. It is interesting, and at times agonizing, to experience the fear, anger, hatred, and anxiety of a country at war, a page in history that has been overshadowed by more recent events. The misery of Celandine¿s school days is a study in changing attitudes toward childhood discipline and psychic powers, and of the unchanging nature of human beings¿be they little girls or little people¿when they are placed together in a tension-filled social structure. But whether the setting is a rigidly regulated girls¿ dormitory or a wild forest full of otherworldly creatures, this book delivers more than just social criticism. It is full of magical marvels, unsettling weirdness, and nerve-wracking suspense. It is peppered with luscious vistas, gruesome shocks, snicker-inducing pranks, and mysteries that linger even at the end of the tale, so that you¿re glad there¿s a third book coming. Plus, Celandine is full of rich, lively characters, memorable dialogue, and even a bit of romance tinted with a touch of sepia-tone melancholy. If you were to read this as the first book in the series, you would find it full of intriguing foreshadowings of ¿things to come¿ in the latter-day adventures of The Various. And it is also charged with enough storytelling energy to send the trilogy¿s third book into orbit! Robbie Fischer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Great literate fantasy for children!!!

    Celandine is superb fantasy for children!! It is so much better than most of the fantasy out there today because it weaves in historical fantasy as well as modern.for anyone looking for fantasy that is a cut above most out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    He's done it again!

    BUY THIS BOOK! 'Celandine' continues where 'The Various' left off (albeit 70 years earlier) and what a sequel it is. While I admired Midge's tenacity in the first book, Celandine's made me laugh out loud. In fact, it's been a year since I read the book and I still smile when I think about her exploits as she struggles to survive boarding school, and all of the other disasters that befall her. Of course, the Various are as endearing, frightening, and touching as ever. In 'Celandine' we meet a host of new characters which, thanks to the brilliance of Mr. Augarde, will have you cheering and booing, laughing and crying. And above all, they'll have you WISHING for the third book! I know I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Extraordinary

    How do I say this without sounding cliche? Um.I can't. 'Celandine' is, simply put, the most magical book I have ever read, and I am usually pretty hesitant about saying books are the 'most' or 'best' of anything. Celandine is an amazing character - I was so touched that I cried a little when I finished it. Of course, I was smiling like crazy too. I also loved how this book reads like a classic. The writing is so different from other children's books that come out today. I would almost say it is better than Harry Potter. My only question: How has the rest of the world not discovered Augard yet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Amazing- deserves to be a billion stars!!!!

    Fantastic, Pegs is my favourite character It was funny and gripping brilliant for first time readers, I should know because I read 3 books a day!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1