BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Celebration of Discipline: The Path to Spiritual Growth

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worthwhile Companion

    The Study Guide is Foster's first effort at expanding the content of Celebrations of Discipline and making it more understandable and personal. It can be used by either an individual or group for study. The Guide contains a few pages of further clarification on each discipline, as well as a related Scripture reading for each day, study questions, and suggestions for further reading.

    It is well laid out and organized. I found the introductory chapter very enlightening and inspiring. The text for each discipline has been helpful when I needed a deeper understanding or further clarification.

    I am using both this and the workbook as I study Celebrations. The advantages of using all three are that you get a unified picture, and this guide can be used in any timeline you wish. The workbook is intended as a year-long study. I use all three (the book, guide, and workbook) each night, which I am finding very helpful.

    As always, Richard Foster is generous, insightful, and practical. His questions help consolidate what you have read and encourage further thinking. The scripture references are also helpful.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Go Deeper

    When you use the study guide along with the book, Celebration of Discipline, you will get much more out of the book and grow in ways you have always hoped and prayed for. This will transform your life if you put a little time into it. A big WOW for me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Comprehensive, Challenging, and Convicting

    I have owned all three editions of this book. Every time I read it, I learn something new about the Christian Disciplines. If you want to be challenged in your faith walk and convicted of your need to go deeper then this book will help you do so. It lends itself to group study and has a companion study guide to help guide such study. I highly recommend it for those who are looking to develop their understanding and practice of the Christian Disciplines.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent Faith Study

    This is the 2nd time our Faith study group has chosen to work through this book. We are all gleaning something new the 2nd time around, and the new members are enjoying it as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy it, read it, grow from it

    This is a wonderful book that is sure to help any earnest seeker grow and understand in his or her faith. Whether you are new to faith or a lifer, Richard Foster has much to offer you. (I would recommend it to someone with a few years under their belt, however.) He is a rare voice who understands the problems and dangers of legalistic thinking when combined with religion. He offers a more generous understanding and thereby, life.

    Occasionally he could do a better job at defining a particular discipline, but in general they are well explained. For some of us he can at times be too conservative, but that is easily overlooked. He clearly knows his subject and has walked the life; his humility, grace, and generous spirit come shining through. It is refreshing to find a contemporary Christian author who is not self-promoting or aggrandizing; who does not seek to tell the world that he has the sole license on understanding God; and who understands the fallacy of the "prosperity gospel" school of thought. Foster is so much more engaging and true to the life in Christ than most of the books and authors that are publicized in the media.

    I am using this, the study guide, and the workbook in a year-long study (the workbook is designed to be used over the course of a year), and I am learning and growing every day from it. I have/am also read other Foster books as I progress through the year, most notably Prayer: The Heart's True Home and Life With God (see below.)

    Might I add that I have had an excruciatingly difficult 2008 and it continues. I have been thrown an experience that challenges my faith and perhaps even seeks to destroy it. My resolve will not let it; and Richard Foster is helping me come through it with growth and understanding and new life. He has been a wonderful companion and guide during an unusual horrific experience. Rather than sink into the darkness, he is helping me (along with some other sources of support) fly to new heights above the fray.

    This is must reading for any Christian; if we all could read it and put his thoughts into use, we would walk as a more unified bunch and avoid much of the valid criticism from the world at large. Better yet, we would be more inspiring examples of the Christian faith and life, and thus, more enticing evangelists.

    I would give all three to every person I know, if I could.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Where the spiritual rubber meets the road.

    Richard Foster lays out foundational concepts that, in Western Christianity especially, have been largely set aside. The book brings back the foundational disciplines that put us in position to receive the abundant life that God has in mind for each one of His children. These disciplines are not easy but then nothing this priceless ever is. It brings depth and connection to the Father through Jesus empowered by the Holy Spirit. Drink deep and enjoy the celebration. I would also recommend the year-long study guide companion to assist in persevering in the practice of these disciplines.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Amazing

    I found myself reading lines over several times, as they were so powerful that I wanted to feel what I was reading. This book will strengthen a baby-Christian and will comfort those that live in His Word!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    Hit the nail on the head.

    Quick, buy this one and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Changes the way you think and feel

    This is my second time reading this book since last year and I still get something out of it. I read it for one of my classes lsat year and to see the affect that it had was phenominal. I recommend this to anyone who is searching and wants to grow closer to God. It will stretch you and pull you to new limits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    Great

    I had to read this book for my religion class and i really loved it i think anyone else who does will too!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    LIFE CHANGING!

    Over 40 Men in My Church have chosen this book as a guild (along with the Bible) to grow stronger in our spirital walk with our Lord,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    Thank you!

    This book came right whne I need it. It helped me to focus the means by which I connect with God and have a postive realtionship with him. A good book with practical and insightful lessons to a fulfilling spirituality.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2014

    Excellent learning accessory to the book.

    Assists in getting the most out of Richard Foster's Celebration of Discipline. Appreciated the help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Jjjhvcfdbjffddftpf xbkmmkmmnkjkmnmmnm ...,.

    ?...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Highly recommended for the serious Christian

    This is a wonderful aid to the quest for righteousness. It explains and defines the classical Christian disciplines in simple understandable language and dismisses a number of the misunderstandings so typical in our consumer culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Solitary snowplace

    As the snow starts to pack onto your fur, the hill gets steeper. It is windy, and you dig your claws into the ground, ignoring the freezing cold digging into your flesh. Many cats give up their hike and go back to the party here. But they don't know what awaites them in the next result…

    ~€loudstar

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommened

    Great book or christians

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Revisited after 20 years┬┐did not disappoint.

    I first read Foster's "Celebration of Discipline" more than 20 years ago. Re-read it this winter, when one of my book clubs chose the latest revision as their winter selection. There aren't many substantive changes, but a new introduction helps introduce new readers to his concepts. Other smaller revisions have tightened the structure, eased a couple of previously-strained transitions, and added interesting examples and references for further reading. Definitely worth reading and discussing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    How to have a closer relationship with God !

    I Am that Christian that a lot of us find ourselves being. I believe but sometimes feel like there is always someone or something closer to God than I am. This is a great study on how to take the steps to learn to be a good christian and bring Christ into your heart in a very personal way. I heard the author speak on tv and sought the book out on my own. What a wonderful discovery and heart filling journey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3