Customer Reviews for

Celebrity in Death (In Death Series #34)

Average Rating 4.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Low key but emotional- great addition to the series.

Celebrity in Death is the latest book in the Eve Dallas series and it is almost contemplative compared to some of the earlier books. Eve is the subject of a vid that is being made based on Nadine Furst’s book about the Icove case. A dinner has been planned with the cas...
Celebrity in Death is the latest book in the Eve Dallas series and it is almost contemplative compared to some of the earlier books. Eve is the subject of a vid that is being made based on Nadine Furst’s book about the Icove case. A dinner has been planned with the cast members and their real life counterparts to celebrate the near completion of the movie. As usual, Eve is grumpy about getting dressed up and having to attend a fancy social function. All of that changes when one of the actors ends up dead and Eve and Peabody have to solve the murder.
The victim, K.T. Harris, was disliked by everyone who worked with her and even had a tussle with Eve during the dinner. She was playing Peabody in the vid and her resemblance causes Eve and the rest of the NYPSD staff some moments of unease. AS they dig deeper into her life and death, they discover that K.T. had lots of secrets and was doing her best to disrupt the lives of her co-workers by various methods such as blackmail and coercion. It seems to Eve and Peabody that everyone has a motive and with the majority of the suspects being actors it is going to be difficult to really find out what happened.
This book has less of the action that earlier books had but more introspection into Eve and Roarke’s lives. Peabody and McNab have their special moments as well. Eve is moving on from the events that happened in Texas and coming to some measure of peace. Roarke still worries about Eve but looks back on his life and realizes how much balance Eve brought to him. Their relationship just keeps getting stronger and more loving. There are thirty four books in this series and they only cover a little over two years which adds to the continuity of Eve’s relationships both personal and work related. The overlying theme of this book is about choices and how making a certain choice at a particular time has caused events to happen in each of the lives of the characters in the book. This is also the means that Eve uses to finally solve the murder-looking at choices made and how that person’s life was affected by them. It all ties together and makes this a satisfying addition to the series.

posted by SharonRedfern on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Slow reading......

I own and have read the first 24 in this series.....I stopped buying them since they were starting to all be the same thing.......I just recently saw this new one and decided to try her again......still the same "stuff"....no new energy or ideas or experiences in this o...
I own and have read the first 24 in this series.....I stopped buying them since they were starting to all be the same thing.......I just recently saw this new one and decided to try her again......still the same "stuff"....no new energy or ideas or experiences in this one either....so disappointed......was pretty decent to mid-way, then repetitive and slow......will barely be able to make myself finish it. I guess, after 34 books, it would be difficult to put new life into the stories......too bad. The first 3 in this series were the BEST books ever!!!!

posted by LookingForFangs on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Low key but emotional- great addition to the series.

    Celebrity in Death is the latest book in the Eve Dallas series and it is almost contemplative compared to some of the earlier books. Eve is the subject of a vid that is being made based on Nadine Furst’s book about the Icove case. A dinner has been planned with the cast members and their real life counterparts to celebrate the near completion of the movie. As usual, Eve is grumpy about getting dressed up and having to attend a fancy social function. All of that changes when one of the actors ends up dead and Eve and Peabody have to solve the murder.
    The victim, K.T. Harris, was disliked by everyone who worked with her and even had a tussle with Eve during the dinner. She was playing Peabody in the vid and her resemblance causes Eve and the rest of the NYPSD staff some moments of unease. AS they dig deeper into her life and death, they discover that K.T. had lots of secrets and was doing her best to disrupt the lives of her co-workers by various methods such as blackmail and coercion. It seems to Eve and Peabody that everyone has a motive and with the majority of the suspects being actors it is going to be difficult to really find out what happened.
    This book has less of the action that earlier books had but more introspection into Eve and Roarke’s lives. Peabody and McNab have their special moments as well. Eve is moving on from the events that happened in Texas and coming to some measure of peace. Roarke still worries about Eve but looks back on his life and realizes how much balance Eve brought to him. Their relationship just keeps getting stronger and more loving. There are thirty four books in this series and they only cover a little over two years which adds to the continuity of Eve’s relationships both personal and work related. The overlying theme of this book is about choices and how making a certain choice at a particular time has caused events to happen in each of the lives of the characters in the book. This is also the means that Eve uses to finally solve the murder-looking at choices made and how that person’s life was affected by them. It all ties together and makes this a satisfying addition to the series.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Still going strong as the 34th in the series is released

    Reporter Nadine Furst and friend of Eve wrote a book about the Icove case and now has caught the attention of the big screen movie moguls who’ve made it into a major motion picture production, near the end of filming it’s decided that a grand party is due and of course the people who inspired the real life case have to be there too, which means that Eve and Peabody are in attendance when a death occurs. It at first appears perhaps accidental but soon becomes a murder investigation which turns into more than one murder investigation and soon Eve is up to her armpits in suspects but low on evidence.
    With the help of her crack team of cops and her “civilian contractor” she puts together a cause and effect that may just become a movie of it’s own by the time all the facts are collected and the crime is solved.
    When you’ve read 33 previous novels in a series there are bound to be a disappointment or two and this series is no different, but then you think of the accomplishment of it and you enter the realm of unbelievability. Number 34 is not a disappointment, in fact it’s astonishingly good. In her futuristic thriller series Ms. Robb takes us where Eve Duncan hates to tread into the glitter and sparkle of Celebrity as Nadine’s book about the Icove case comes to the big screen with big stars and big egos to match and of course in the course of the first few pages there’s a murder and it’s not the murder that stands out but the attention to detail this fabulous author goes into to catch this killer. We also get to as always catch up with the minor stars of the series who’s lives we’ve been invited into numerous times we also meet some new characters some you’ll like and some you won’t. The killer, you’ll meet him/her but you won’t know who he/she is until the author let’s you in. The love between Roarke and Eve is as always an integral part of the story because of it’s implausibility but perfection all the same. The narrative is flawless, the dialogue is all classic Robb with it’s hard edged and adult matter.
    This fiery thriller will keep you on your toes and keep you entertained as you desperately try to solve the crime before the author let’s you in on her secret. It will appeal to both men and women and young and older adult audiences as well,

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    first rate

    Celebrity in Death is the 34th story in the “In Death” series by J.D. Robb. These stories are consistently first rate.

    In this latest offering Eve and Peabody must find the murderer of the actress that was playing the part of Peabody in the movie adaptation of Nadines book on the Icove case.

    You either love or hate these stories. Count me among those that love them and will continue to buy them as long as Ms. Roberts keeps writing them.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    clairedunlap

    can't wait to read it. i know it will be great.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    a great read

    J. D. Robb has done it again, she pulled me right into the Eve's world and I didn't not want to let go. When an actress falls prey to her evil machinations, Eve must stand for her and sift out the one person who had the balls to shut this woman down. When Eve works a case, her dedicated pursuit of the killer will end when they are locked up in a cage and the irony is they don't think they belong there. Everything is in place for a great story, the murder, the apprehension of the killer, the romance, and the friendship. This was another great read in this wonderfully awesome series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE me this series. It never gets old. I've read ev

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE me this series. It never gets old. I've read every book written so far and will continue to read them as long as Nora keeps 'em coming!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Slow reading......

    I own and have read the first 24 in this series.....I stopped buying them since they were starting to all be the same thing.......I just recently saw this new one and decided to try her again......still the same "stuff"....no new energy or ideas or experiences in this one either....so disappointed......was pretty decent to mid-way, then repetitive and slow......will barely be able to make myself finish it. I guess, after 34 books, it would be difficult to put new life into the stories......too bad. The first 3 in this series were the BEST books ever!!!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Gripping and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

    Gripping and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I know after 34 books, it has to be hard to come up with origina

    I know after 34 books, it has to be hard to come up with original stories...but remember the story where there was a cop that had a grudge against Eve? There was a lot of that book in this story. Someone has a grudge against the world and there are lots of people who would want her dead. I really really like the JD Robb series, i like them better than most books written under Nora Roberts, however, these books are starting to be repetitive, and predicable. Now, there was one difference here, the ending didn't include Eve having a huge fight. Usually i read her books in 2 days, this book, i kept putting it down, i couldn't get in to it. I was very sad about that. I am seriously debating about her next book. Perhaps 33 was enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    In Robb fashion

    Wonderfully written!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Never Disappoints

    This is another wonderful book about Lt Eve Dallas and her gorgeous, sexy, very wealthy husband Roarke. I love the way all of the characters interact with one another and even the supporting characters are able to grow in each book. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    JD Robb does it again!

    Another great Dallas/Roarke read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not the best

    I love this series however this is not the most exciting. It felt flat to me, kind of boring compared to the other books in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Eve & Roarke do it again, manage to save themselves and all they hold dear with an iron fist

    Tottally worth the money. Wouldnt miss a entry into this world for any amount. She shows such heart even while trying ti hide it. Icove merders where a while back but you neednt read it to get the story here. JD Robb workes all her books as stand alones so no dropping in the middle and playing catch up. She makes NY sing with life and being a murder cop a calling not a JOB makes you hope that if you should ever happen to need her assistance, youd die knowing you were not only avenged but that the unsub got a swift kick in his arse for his troubles.... Love love love it
    Buy it rent it pass it around add it to your library it is a MUST have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Oh yes another great story

    Love the JD Robb series. And this book was as good as the rest of her books. Can not wait till her next book. Hope it will be soon

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed it, but it wasn't as much of a page turner as some others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    SLOW

    I have read 100 pages so far and just can't get interested. I have read all in the series and enjoyed all of them, but I am going to put this one down and maybe pick it up again later. I love reading Nora's books and it's ok to not like one once in a while.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Another great read from J D Robb/Nora Roberts! Can't wait for the next one! I've read this entire series and have fallen in love with all the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great read!

    As usual, JD Robb puts out another fantastic book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    I HAVE READ THE WHOLE SERIES. I AM READY FOR THE NEXT BOOK.
    AN INTERESTING SERIES - IT HAS ME HOOKED!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17