Customer Reviews for

Celeste (Gemini Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Celeste, by V.C. Andrews

    The book Celeste, by V.C. Andrews was an extremely good book. It was also a little creepy. The first few chapters were a little boring because it was all introduction, but I loved the rest of the book. This book belongs to a series and I have read the second one, Black Cat, and I plan on reading the rest of them, also. I love all of the V.C. Andrews books and I would reccommmend them to anyone who likes to read novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Zane to seleste

    Ill be ur lover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Grandmother granddaughter

    A recommendation from my grandmother..... rare to have a book loved by all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    One of the best!!!!

    I loved this book. It was my first vc andrews do i didnt know wat to expect. When i read it i just couldnt put the book down. They only usauly only take a day to read for me, but so hard to get

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    OK....that's all

    The plot itself is interesting, but the way that Andrew Neiderman, NOT the real V.C. Andrews herself, put pen to paper to create this story was horrible. I've read the first 2 books, currently on Child of Darkness. Believe me, the second one sucks. You should only read it so you can better understand the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I liked this book and it does get better

    I'm up to the Gemini Series #3 Child of Darkness, and while I've read many reviews that say they didn't like this book, i really did like it. I think it was a good book that made me want to read on to the next two books so far. I found it interesting that one post mentioned how it didn't sound like VC Andrews didn't write the book herself. The reason for that could be 'cause she died a long time ago and the books have continued to be written by her family. So, it is another person's perspective. As for it not being realistic, well, I think sometimes that's what makes a book good. It can take us into a world where it is impossible for certain things to happen. Over all I think it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    i love it

    i loved it just like all the other ones so moving!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Sad, but good

    This book is a great book. I mean it put so many feelings in just one book. It was so sad especially in the beginning when Celeste's mother treats her brother better than her brother. And what I hate is her mother. Other than that this book was so nice.I loved it. I guess it is my second favorite book aside the Dollanger Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    It was just as intense as her Flowers in th Attick!!

    I have been reading V.C. Andrews for a long time. I really enjoyed This book. Celeste has remained couragious over her mother's close watch. Are they going to make a movie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    wonderful book

    This is another wonderful series from VC Andrews. I have always loved these series, will always want to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Thrilling and Sad

    This book was great, except made me really frustrated. The girls mother didnt let her be who she wanted to be, and completly brainwashed her. I would recomend this book to anyone. Its exciting, creepy, and dangerous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    SAD

    I am sorry to say that this book was not it's best and I am a Big fan of V.C. Andrews I have read all of her books annd this book made me sad. I wanted to scream because Celeste was a book who had potential but I noticed that I reread some of the same details a good several times and that bored me-the book was a good plot but this time the writing sucked. I wanted with my whole heart to see Celeste kick the sense into her mother but It didn't happen and I also wanted to see Celeste refuse to dress up as Noble-to be herself and turn her mother into the police because who knows in the next book what's going to happen. I will definetly be buying the next book to this series in hopes that it will get better and there will be a change in Celeste. The reason I said the book made me sad is because of the lousy job at publishing this book I don't like to reread the same details in a book a million times but that's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Tis Not Even One Star

    This book could not get any worse. Andrews' original works (the Casteel and Dollanganger) were riveting and truly interesting. The ones written by that ghostwriter started out good, but have recently dived into a whirlpool of pure, unadulterated boredom. The recent books lack any significance that set them apart from the others. Basically, they follow the same plotline. And the biggest mistake the ghostwriter made was writing the mini-series. V.C. Andrews is among my all time favorite authors - not the ghostwriter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    A BIG TIME V.C. Andrews fan

    This book was ok. For V.C. Andrews not writting it, I guess I can live with it. Yes she is dead and other people are writing her books (her family from what I heard) but that should not mean that her books get this boring. It was ok, but as someone else said I could put it down which is not common with all the other V.C. Andrews books. I am not all that disapointed thought. I still love her ideas...even if it is getting kinda repetative. I own almost every single one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    I Loved Celeste

    I noticed a lot of bad reviews with Celeste. I have read ALL of V.C. Andrews book and found this one to be no different from the others. It was well written and the plot was good. I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    More disappointing than usual, Mr Ghost Writer

    I agree with the statement that the Dollanganger and Casteel series' were the best out of all 'VC Andrews' books. I mean, the Dollanganger series was a little twisted, but it had substance. My favorite series of all time is the Casteel series. I LOVE 'Heaven'! Celeste is just another dissappointment in a long series of mess. The ghost writer seems to be mistaking twisted plots as automatically qualifing as good writing. He cheats! That's all there is to it! It's like reading a frilly, empty story trying to have some substance, but severely lacking in such! I admit, I think the plot IDEA is totally intriguing, but our 'VC Andrews' imposter did not do it justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Like Flowers in the Attic

    Celeste reminded me of the original VC Andrews books. You have another sick and demented mother as bad or worse than Corrine. I have read VC Andrews since I was 12 yrs old. Better than Broken Wings series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    ...

    The beginning was really boring and drawn out. It took me a long while to get thru the begining because it wasnt able to keep my interest. After that, it was ok. The mother was really making me mad and the story line was really unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    vc andrews's magic is gone

    i am frankly dissappionted in the recenct vc andrews books, i have read her earlier works and they are a lot better than the trash that is printed out under her name. Celeste was a tragedy. Vc andrews's family should be concerned that the books are losing their style. About celeste, In simple terms the book sucked What was with the dead people talking.That was highly annoying.The mother should be admiited to am asylum. Well I all vc andrews's dedicated fan are going to by the sequel to celeste (black cat)in october but when i buy it i am gonna keep the recipt so i an return it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    It Could Have Been Better

    This was not one of V.C. Andrews bests. I have read several of her books and they all had the effect of me not wanting to put them down. This book to me had no climax in it and I found that I could stop and take a break from reading it very easily. I will probably end up buying the second book in the series because I think the plot is good, and hopefully the second one will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2