Customer Reviews for

The Celestine Prophecy

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

An Incredible Journey Through Life-Threatening Obstacles And Breath-Taking Adventures

I was at a point in my life where I needed to know what was to come next in order for me to continue when this book came into my life. A co-worker, oddly enough, had left it at our work by accident. I had never read a book that had completely changed my view on life u...
I was at a point in my life where I needed to know what was to come next in order for me to continue when this book came into my life. A co-worker, oddly enough, had left it at our work by accident. I had never read a book that had completely changed my view on life until this book. The positive and peaceful feeling of this book is indescribeable. Read it, you'll love it too!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book will grab you--or it won't

Most people I know who have read this book were either deeply moved and enlightened by it, or found it a bunch of 'hooey.' Not much in between. I fall into the latter category. I gave myself a pat on the back for actually finishing it, but story lost credibility for ...
Most people I know who have read this book were either deeply moved and enlightened by it, or found it a bunch of 'hooey.' Not much in between. I fall into the latter category. I gave myself a pat on the back for actually finishing it, but story lost credibility for me when I came upon the suggestion that couples should not have more than one child so that all the energy they would transmit doesn't get diluted. The number of children one chooses to have is a personal choice with many variables,of course, but that attitude left me feeling extremely turned off. And the part about squinting your eyes so you see auras just made me laugh. But as a quick-paced fictional read, this was pleasant enough. This book is not worth spending your money on, but if you're curious about it, visit your local library to see if you can borrow a copy.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    This book will grab you--or it won't

    Most people I know who have read this book were either deeply moved and enlightened by it, or found it a bunch of 'hooey.' Not much in between. I fall into the latter category. I gave myself a pat on the back for actually finishing it, but story lost credibility for me when I came upon the suggestion that couples should not have more than one child so that all the energy they would transmit doesn't get diluted. The number of children one chooses to have is a personal choice with many variables,of course, but that attitude left me feeling extremely turned off. And the part about squinting your eyes so you see auras just made me laugh. But as a quick-paced fictional read, this was pleasant enough. This book is not worth spending your money on, but if you're curious about it, visit your local library to see if you can borrow a copy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The plot of the story is not well developed and serves only as a delivery tool for the author's ideas about spirituality.

    The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfiel

    Plot: The book discusses various psychological and spiritual ideas that are rooted in many ancient Eastern Traditions, such as the claim that vegetarianism can help an individual to establish a connection with the Divine. The main character of the novel undertakes a journey to find and understand a series of nine spiritual insights on an ancient manuscript in Peru. The book is a first-person narrative of spiritual awakening. The narrator is in a transitional period of his life, and begins to notice instances of synchronicity, which is the realization that coincidences may have deep meaning.

    The story opens with the male narrator becoming reacquainted with an old female friend, who tells him about the Insights, which are contained in a manuscript dating to 600 BC, which has been only recently translated. After this encounter leaves him curious, he decides to go to Peru. On the airplane, he meets a historian who also happens to be interested in the manuscript. As well, he learns that powerful figures within the Peruvian government and the Catholic Church are opposed to the dissemination of the Insights. This is dramatically illustrated when police try to arrest and then shoot the historian soon after his arrival.

    The narrator then learns the Insights, one by one, often experiencing the Insight before actually reading the text, while being pursued by forces of the Church and the Peruvian government. In the end, he succeeds in learning the first nine Insights and returns to the United States, with a promise of a Tenth Insight soon to be revealed. The Insights are given only through summaries and illustrated by events in the plot. The text of no complete Insight is given, which the narrator claims is for brevity's sake; he notes that the 'partial translation' of the Ninth Insight was 20 typewritten pages in length.

    In the novel, the Maya civilization left ruins in Peru where the manuscript was found, whereupon the Incas took up residence in the abandoned Maya cities after the Maya had reached an "energy vibration level" which made them cross a barrier into a completely spiritual reality.

    Discussion: The book was generally well received by readers and spent 165 weeks on the New York Times Best Seller list. My main criticism is that the plot of the story is not well developed and serves only as a delivery tool for the author's ideas about spirituality. James Redfield has admitted that, even though he considers the book to be a novel, his intention was to write a story in the shape of a parable, a story meant to illustrate a point or teach a lesson.

    I disapprove of Redfield's heavy usage of subjective validation and reification in dealing with coincidences to advance the plot thus spending more time concentrating on the explanation of spiritual ideas rather than furthering character development or developing the plot in a more traditional manner.

    I also think that he improperly explained and, in some cases, completely unexplained "facts" as flaws in the story. Examples of this include the author's suggestion of the presence of a Mayan society in modern day Peru, rather than in Central America, as well as the suggestion that the manuscript was written in 600 BC in the jungles of Peru, despite the fact that it is written in Aramaic. This shares a thread with the Book of Mormon, which is a purported history of Hebrew people who migrated to the American continent 600 years B.C

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Not really how Ascension and Immortality Happens

    This book is okay for beginners and for a 'made for TV movie' but it is NOT how you actually achieve ascension. Therefore it is NOT a guide book for the process. Its a feel good New Age version of enlightenment and ascension. Read it with that in mind and do not consider it real truth and guidance. For the real truth I recommend you read,' The Resurrected Dead Now Immortal Live Among Us; A Manual For Immortality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    I liked it....but I didn't.

    the reason that I disliked the Celestine Prophecy... I'm sorry if you have read this book and think that I am an idiot for complaining about the main message that this book is trying to tell us; that nothing happens by coincedence and that everything has a reason. It's just that... well... everything is so easy for the main character. He leaves on a plane to Peru to find a manuscript that he knows nothing about, has each insight HANDED to him by people in his 'chance' meetings, is jailed... briefly (and even manages to squeeze an insight out of that), and is freely let go and sent back to the U.S.-after disobeying a church that killed to keep the manuscript under wraps. I just don't see why he didn't step in the damn thing when he first arrived in Peru. the worst part about this is that I *somewhat* agree with what the Prophecy is trying to tell us. The whole 'not a coincedence' thing.. I just wish everthing hadn't worked out so well for the main character. every book needs a good tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    misunderstandings

    this is a good read,simple, to the point(a little high schoolish) yet easy for not so educated people. that was probably the reason for the simple writing. there are many people who have read the series and have really liked it or not. i believe it was meant to just remind us of our place and keep an open mind, however, i dont think people should truly guide their entire lives by these 'insights'. the series is fine. there are better books dealing with spirituality; and i think this series is a 'beginner' book for those who are in search of more depth spiritually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1