Customer Reviews for

Cell

Average Rating 4
( 657 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

First off, I've never been so glad that I don't own a cell phone! Secondly, Stephen King has penned another gruesome winner, going back to his days of blood and gore. CELL starts off with the Pulse, where everyone who owns a cell phone answers a call and subsequently go...
First off, I've never been so glad that I don't own a cell phone! Secondly, Stephen King has penned another gruesome winner, going back to his days of blood and gore. CELL starts off with the Pulse, where everyone who owns a cell phone answers a call and subsequently goes psycho. Back to their basic days of kill or be killed, these are slobbery creatures with no morals, emotions, or human qualities besides the desire to destroy.

Enter Clayton Riddell, a man happy to have never given in to the need to purchase a cell phone, who watches the people on the street of Boston go murderous. He hooks up with Tom, another "normie" and Alice, who watched her mother go crazy and kill a cab-driver, to escape the city. Clay is heading home to Kent's Pond, Maine, to check on the well-being of his estranged wife, Sharon (who doesn't own a cell phone) and his son Johnny (who does).

What follows is the groups trials and trevails as they're inevitably pushed towards Kashwak, the NO-FO zone. You'll have to read CELL to figure out what this means, but believe me, it's well worth your time and effort!

Stephen King has returned to his days of blood and gore, guts and more blood, and the result is a winner. If you love horror, or King in particular, you won't go wrong picking up a copy of this latest winner.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time reading this or your money buying it.

I love Stephen King's books - but this has got to be the most ridiculous one he has written yet. Don't waste your money.

posted by piuta55 on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected.

    (Originally written February 20, 2006)

    I am not the world's biggest Stephen King fan. Nor am I a fan of the zombie genre (what could be less scary than a monster whom you can escape with a fast walk?). So when a friend of my son's insisted that I borrow his copy of "Cell," I was humoring the young man more than anything else.

    Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised. This story is brisk and gripping, and not bogged down with a lot of the overly heavy details to which King is often prone. It is also shorter than many of his opuses, which pleased me.

    But most importantly: This is NOT a zombie novel! Sure, the victims of the Pulse share many of the violent characteristics of zombies, but like the movie "28 Days Later," they are more like RABIES victims than the undead. And that's just the beginning. They quickly begin evolving as a group, making them more and more interesting than "regular" zombies with each page.

    I was a HUGE fan of Richard Matheson's "I Am Legend" from all those years ago, and was disappointed to see the theme "devolve" into the zombies we are familiar with today. So it was nice to see King return the genre to the greater potential it once had with Matheson's vampires.

    My biggest complaint would lie in the ENDING. As other reviewers have commented, the book feels incomplete. With Gary Brandner's "The Howling," I felt that we were missing an epilogue - in "Cell," I felt as though I were missing an entire final chapter, maybe TWO. Is King planning a sequel to "Cell?" I hope so; I will read it. As it stands ...

    But again, overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this book, and I would recommend this book to fans of "I Am Legend," "28 Days Later," and (to a lesser degree) the "Dawn of the Dead" 2004 remake. If you are a hard core fan of the George A. Romero zombie genre, you probably won't like it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    the celll

    Title: Cell
    Author: Stephen King
    Genre: Horror Novel
    Pages: 480


    Cell starts out with a wallop it is hard to put down for several of the chapters you want to keep reading to see what happens next. Clay Riddell is an aspiring comic book writer from Maine that traveled to Boston to land a career in a graphic novel deal. During his trip tragedy strikes the human population. Someone has sent a signal (pulse) through cell phones that cause people that hear it to go insane. It takes less than a second and everyone that had a cell phone to there ear has gone mad and is either trying to kill someone standing near them or themselves.

    Since Clay doesn't own a cell phone he is okay though. But he has been pretty lucky because these people strike without warning and randomly. It is a very small group that doesn't own a cell phone. Clay comes across a man named Tom whose phone happened to get broken that morning and a girl named Alice that saw her mother go crazy over the phones tone.

    Clay thinks about his son that is on the other side of Boston and fears that the tone may have got to his son. So he needs to get to him to see if his son is dead or insane, or even got a lucky break like his dad.

    Most of the roads are blocked because people crashed their cars because they went insane so the three of them had to travel by foot. The people they encounter were in like zombie like states and exhibiting strange behavior. These zombie like people also known as Phoners are trying to stop Clay and the other 2 from reaching his son. Clay is determined to reach is son and will do anything in his power to stop the zombies.

    I have read several of Stephen King's books and this is one of his best and keeps you wanting to turn to the next page. Another one of his books I enjoyed was The Mist. He is a master at horror books and keeps you guessing and wanting more. It is hard to put down once you start reading it late into the night.

    King makes you fear technology after you read the book Cell that all the gadgets that we count on in our everyday life and take for grant might someday overwhelm us. We are so hooked on technology we never take into consideration there might be a dark side to it also.

    I enjoyed the book by page eight catastrophe had broke loose. and it never let up from there it was action packed. The only thing that could have been better was the ending King could have ended it differently instead of leaving you wondering if there will be a sequel. I guess if he did continue on though the book could have end up being possibly 900 pages or more because he would have had to go on for quite a while.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FIRST BOOK I'VE READ BY STEPHEN KING...NOW A HOOKED FAN!

    Cell is about the survival of humanity from the devastating pulse. I will not summarize the whole book because I do not want to spoil the whole thing. I am over all very impressed with my first Stephen King Novel. His descriptions of events and characters are great. His writing style/language is a masterpiece of its own. He is a passionate writer that will get involved with the characters; you will become extremely close with Clay and his companions. The only objection I have to King's style is the language. I did not expect to see bad language blasted on every other page. It's small and ignorable, and certainly does not take away from the book. Cell was a bit confusing at times, but all the questions can be answered if you read carefully; all but one at least. Who started the pulse and why? I could not figure that out and I don't believe you can just from the reading. Maybe I'm wrong, and hopefully I will figure it out. Cell also could have been 100 pages longer, but the ending was satisfying. This books was great. I'm sad that it is over because I want to know what happens next with Clay and his friends. I can't wait to start my next Stephen King novel. You will not regret readings this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Science fiction as written by Stephen King

    This is Stephen King's second foray into the realm of science fiction; the first being "The Tommyknockers". Sad to say, "Cell" is nowhere near as good as that - but it's still better than 99% of the so-called horror novels currently in print. And King's prose style has definitely matured here; in spite of the gore (and be warned, there is PLENTY of gore) "Cell" is an extremely well-written book about the dangers of the modern world as seen by the master of the modern horror novel. <BR/><BR/>Clay Riddell is in Boston trying to sell his comic art so he and his wife and son can live their lives in comfort. He apparently succeeds beyond his wildest dreams, but unfortunately he doesn't get a chance to enjoy his new life or to tell anyone about it - because that's when the phenomenon known as The Pulse occurs and drives mad anyone who listens to a cell phone, which these days is most of the world's population. <BR/><BR/>Actually, it doesn't really drive cell owners mad, but to say what it does do would be to spoil the plot and remove your interest in buying this book. <BR/><BR/>As I said before, this is not one of King's better efforts. He writes extremely well here, but he seems to be going more for the print equivalent of the Freddy Kreuger and "Friday the 13th" movies. There's actually very little of the horror we've come to expect from Stephen King in this book. But as I also said, this is still better than most of the other books on the horror shelves - and on that basis I give it a four-star rating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    not exactly fulfilling of the possibilites

    As a recent reader of King, I found this novel to not be worth the hype of the author. Luckily, I believe in second chances. The concept of the end of the world through a techno-terrorist act is unusual and draws the reader in, but after the initial disaster-zone, the suspense is lost. There are several lulls of boring explanation and no action. After Clay, Tom, and Alice meet up with Jordan and the Head, their discussions bring adventure (especially when they decide the phone-crazies must be dealt with). One thing that interested me was how the reader never knows what really happened. Was it a terrorist, or some kid with a super-computer? How exactly did the phone-crazies evolve? Was it really a glitch, or did they purposely become telepaths and levitators? These questions were what kept me reading¿ along with the great characters. Clay, the main character by far, gives off an older brother vibe. His desperation to find his wife and son make him a likable character with relatable emotions. He is, however, unrealistic and hopeful. Alice, the only female and a teenager at that, is hysterical most of the novel which is understandable, but stereotypical. The constant presence of the baby sneaker adds to her personality and femininity. Her unfortunate end is certainly not expected and, in my view, unnecessary to the development of the novel. Tom is the character that is not quite needed, but must be in every novel. He mostly makes Clay look good, but he is one of my favorite characters. The reader has no idea in the beginning that Tom and Clay stick together through it all, creating a Batman-and-Robin bond between them. The overall concept of this novel was great and original, but written with both ups and downs. Chaos out of an American staple is ironic and a great example of King¿s dark humor. This is a novel that must be read by his fans, just as long as it¿s not their first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Good but wasn't crazy about the ending

    Overall a sold Stephen King book. It's essentially his version of a zombie apocalypse story (well sort of). In any case, some good character development as usual but (and no spoiler alert here) really wish he included at least 5 to 10 more pages to wrap things up in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Wow

    This book has been a ride. As my first stephen king book I'm pleased. Of course I did read it a few years back when the horror genre decided to grip my intrest. Incredible story. Not exactly the first horror book you should read (I learned a lot about stephen king in this book, but I feel something not as complex is definately to be approached). Of course you've probably heard about the quick ending and well that's right. The ending definately needed more "umph" to it. Although the ending and some slow sections in the book I would reccomend it to any stephen king and horror fan.
    - Great Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Great thriller

    This book puts a twist to the modern zombie thriller, it makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    I am really confused

    I recenly purasured the cell and i still only have the sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Read rhis 3 times Read this 3 imes

    Makes you think about the world we live in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Buy It!

    I love reading stephen king novels and this is by far my favorite! You will not be able to put it down. The only reason i give it a 4 is because compared to his othere works, CELL, is relativly short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Another great book

    I have read mixed reviews about this book but personally I loved it. With all going on in todays technological society this book makes you think about things that could happen. Have we cursed ourselves by depending on computers to run things?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Almost perfect Zombie book

    All i have to say is that I am dissapointed Stephen King would end a book like this!!!! Other than the ending it's great though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    E.T. Don't Phone Home!!

    I listened to this as an audiobook, narrated by Campbell Scott, so my review is based on that version.

    This is one of those books that I have wanted to get around to for a while. Because I am a fan of Stephen King, I really had to know what he did with the cell phone!

    There are cell phone usage scares out there all the time (cell phone gives you brain damage, etc..) but the biggest scare I have ever had with the cell phone, before now, was the first time I opened my cell phone bill after I gave my three teenaged daughters cell phones. YIKES!

    This tale of the cell phone goes beyond what teenaged kids can do to your bank account and blood pressure. This ‘pulse’ that runs through the cell phone, changing everyone into zombies, is just the beginning of this strange tale.

    The thing about mindless zombies that makes them easy to defeat is the fact that they are mindless. So what would happen if they were not so mindless? What would happen if they all started not only working together but also started displaying supernatural abilities? Would the ‘normal’ folks ever stand a chance to survive?

    Although I generally enjoyed this very interesting story, there were a few things that I couldn’t accept. I know you are probably thinking I couldn’t accept the supernatural zombies, but no, I could accept that. It has all to do with the batteries, the family, and the brain. Because I don’t want to ruin the book for others, I will leave it there. I did really like the ending though.

    The Narration Review
    This book was narrated by Campbell Scott and I did really enjoy his voice. It was very pleasing to the ear. His character voices were very well done and easily distinguishable from each other. I think this is the first book that I have heard him narrate, but I do look forward to hearing him again. On GoodReads he is also listed as narrating The Shining and although I have already read The Shining, I might go and pick it up just to hear what he has done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do not answer your phone!

    Do not answer your phone! In Cell, the world gets a phone call, and everyone who answers is turned into a mindless zombie, leaving only aggressive and destructive impulses behind. People who do not have cell phones or who did not answer the call must fight for survival or be killed by the zombies.

    This book follows Clayton, who happens to not be a zombie, as he watches almost everyone around being turned into a zombie, fights for his life, and searches for his son with the hope that he might still be alive (and not a zombie).

    I really enjoyed Cell, but then I have enjoyed everything King has ever written. This is the first actual zombie book I have read, and I like how King plays them out in the story. As always, I enjoyed the character development and resolution of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Nice exeecution

    But the plot seems rather similar to M Night Shamalan's idea for The Happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it!

    I really enjoyed this book,except I don't like being left hanging at the end. I had a lot of unanswered questions when I was done reading. Other than that, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    An outstanding book but is there a sequel coming?

    The way that this book ended left me looking for a sequel online. I was dissapointed that i could not find one because this is a truely great book. I still reccomend reading because i ciuld not put it down. But be prepared for a crappy ending that leaves you begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great

    This book is my favorite of his books and any of the reviews that saw its bad is not true and that one comment that says thi is immposible ummmmm HELLO! Thats why it called science fiction..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The ending...

    The way this book ended upset me a bit, but it was still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11