Customer Reviews for

Cell 8

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

I started this book on a Friday and couldn't put it down! The topic of the death penalty is one that could be hard to read about, especially in fiction, but Roslund & Hellstrom have done it in such an engaging and thrilling way, that you turn each page waiting to see wh...
I started this book on a Friday and couldn't put it down! The topic of the death penalty is one that could be hard to read about, especially in fiction, but Roslund & Hellstrom have done it in such an engaging and thrilling way, that you turn each page waiting to see what comes next. It is filled with suspense until the very end, and leaves you just wanting to discuss it with someone else! Highly recommend it for book groups- really discussion-worthy reading.

posted by bookgirlNJ on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

The story is cleverly woven, although the switches between US/Sweden and +/- 6 years sometimes confused. The book was basically a discussion on the death penalty, and specifically focussed on the irreversability of a wrong judgement. The story was well contrived, but ca...
The story is cleverly woven, although the switches between US/Sweden and +/- 6 years sometimes confused. The book was basically a discussion on the death penalty, and specifically focussed on the irreversability of a wrong judgement. The story was well contrived, but carried by the characters from previous books. The character of Ewart Grens was significantly expanded and humanized, and the authors' distaste for legal/political processes made clear. Although not really my type of book, I had difficulty putting it down.

posted by djbchoctaw on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    I started this book on a Friday and couldn't put it down! The topic of the death penalty is one that could be hard to read about, especially in fiction, but Roslund & Hellstrom have done it in such an engaging and thrilling way, that you turn each page waiting to see what comes next. It is filled with suspense until the very end, and leaves you just wanting to discuss it with someone else! Highly recommend it for book groups- really discussion-worthy reading.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read

    Loved this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Wow

    I love the whole series...first you have box 21, the three seconds and now cell 8. I can't wait for the next book, already..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Death Be Not Proud

    The focus of this novel is the controversy over the death penalty, the plot is a mystery wrapped in an enigma. Playing a minor role in the story is, of course, Detective Superintend Ewert Grens, who was introduced to readers in the widely acclaimed “Three Seconds” a year ago. “Cell 8” is more of a polemic than an old-fashioned crime novel, often seeming merely a dry tract supporting arguments against capital punishment.

    Nevertheless, after a rather slow beginning, the book develops into an interesting tale with a finish so unanticipated as to take the reader’s breath away. Essentially, this is the story of a 17-year-old boy convicted of murdering his 16-year-old girlfriend. No real hard support was presented at trial that he committed the deed, but he is convicted solely on circumstantial evidence and sentenced to death. He spends 10 years on death row and then the authors once again show their ingenuity in carrying the novel forward [this comment by way of avoiding the heart of the plot].

    Yes, there are long spells of dry prose, but on the whole, it is well worth reading through from beginning to end, and is highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT WRITERS

    Highly recommended! I have found a great Swedish writing team that I am so glad to know about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Recommend. Will stimulate your mind.

    This book and the plot(s) will keep you busy trying to figure out where it is taking you. Well done to the authors. Also recommend
    " Three Seconds".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Grens is back with his team. They become involved with an American who is suppose to be dead and was on Death Row. This book brings up the difference in views of the death penalty. Grens team has the compassion for this man and his plight. This book is just as thrilling and fast paced as the last book Three Seconds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Really liked this book!

    I thought the story was fascinating, and the writing style was excellent. Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Hoxton

    Burns it with flamethrower

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Twisted

    Shut up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Finished it a month ago and still thinking about it.

    I felt so wrapped up in this book. I could feel the anger and despair. I am glad I read it. It has made me think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved this book. Well written, interesting believable characters

    Loved this book. Well written, interesting believable characters, twisty plot, and though it's about a murder,
    its not a murder mystery. Very good novel. Now I have some new authors' works to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Read it in one day

    Awsome read. waiting for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1