Customer Reviews for

The Cell - Twilight's Last Gleaming

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Disappointed

    I had a really hard time getting into this book. I started and stopped it a couple of times. I especially didn't like reading the end of what appeared to be some personal rant of the authors own beliefs.
    I thought by the books description that it this would be a solid story rooted in our modern society of how things could possibly go awry. It seemed more of the main character coming to God story that has been told and nothing new.
    I was disappointed to say the least and I have thought about reading some of his other books but this makes me think twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Whats wrong with the world today?

    What is wrong with the world today? I wonder if anyone sits down and really thinks about the state of the world. How many of those people really have the "well I won't be alive to see it attitude"? Or, if you are like me, you wonder just what one person can really do to change so many things.

    Hambleton has a way of telling a story. It may not be real today, but it could very well be real on the same day, within another year. What we have is a book, with a spiritual theme, and a Sci-Fi genre. Not many can pull of such a task.

    I admit it took me a while to actually get in to this book. Once I stopped focusing on the present day and looked at it from a different point of view I was able to read between the lines a little more.

    "The Cell" is full of colorful characters; John, Najeev Mohammaed, William, the powerful Professor Burkhart who is also the main leading character, who helps John fight the Supreme Court against the Anit-Hate group, FAAHAD, which is completely corrupt.

    This is a world where Christianity is abolished. A world where Christianity has gone underground and groups rally to try to save it.

    Every page brought new information.

    At times I found it hard to follow along, but I was so engrossed I kept reading until there was an easy stopping point and would go back and scan over previous pages.
    Engaging books can be overwhelming to some, but I found it quite enjoyable because I was reading something outside of my comfort box. I tend to shy away from books regarding religion and other countries. I fear too many rely on past events, such as 9/11 to feed their novels.

    I did not feel that at all with this one.


    This is a book within a book. The author mixes fact with fiction, and it is up to you, the reader, to decide what to do with this information. You will see parallels with his Sci-Fi world and the world which you are living right now.

    What do you do with this information? Share it? Or pack the book away for safe keeping, as sort of a manual in case you should need it?

    What would happen if Christianity were to be declared a terrorist group in the world today?

    That choice is yours, but you have to read the book first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    A Look At An All Too Possible Future

    Edmund Burke said, "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming is a fascinating, intriguing, and extremely frightening look at a very plausible future if America does not heed these words. In The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming, Hambleton blends current events with history while employing compelling characters to spin a thought provoking novel that leaves the reader both chilled and challenged. The year is 2020 and the Christian church in the United States has been driven underground by an overzealous government seeking to silence what it views as an extreme religion. Christians are painted as extreme radical fundamentalist bent on assassinations and terrorist activities. They have become the feared and hunted. To survive, the church must meet in small groups of no more than 10 in a cell to avoid detection, persecution, and death. While the novel itself is a fast-paced page-turner, it is the collection of essays and Hambleton's suggested reading list which should truly act as a wake-up call to the Christian reader. If the American evangelical church continues to sacrifice itself on the altar of political correctness, this work of fiction could well become a reality. The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming is a must read! 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great book - must read!

    Book Review: The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming by Chris Hambleton


    This book gives us a chilling glimpse of what life could be like right here in the United States within a few years, if Christianity were outlawed as a terrorist group. It raises issues that have snuck up on us within our own lifetimes, little changes that have accrued to make Christians second-class citizens, to be snickered at and looked down upon.

    What if Christians were no longer allowed to care about other people? While Jesus walked physically on earth, the Gentiles (such as the Romans and the Greeks, two supposedly "civilized" cultures) routinely discarded the useless, the dead and dying; they abandoned unwanted children to die of exposure or starvation. No one cared about the beggars, the blind or deaf, the crippled or the lepers. except Jesus, and then His followers. Christians routinely rescued unwanted babies, nursed the ill and abandoned back to health, and remained in the cities to nurse the ill when the rest of the populace fled away from plague victims.

    These Christian ideals have become so much a part of our American culture today that few of us question where they came from. In The Cell, when Christianity is outlawed, it doesn't take long for the old and useless to be dehumanized, allowed to die so the State's medical resources can be used elsewhere. The unborn, unless they have powerful protection from their families, are seen merely as a source of tissue to be harvested (and that "unborn" period sometimes extends to as much as three months after birth.) Instead of the source of mercy and humanitarianism, Christians are demonized as war-mongers, intolerant and hateful.

    The Cell is the story of how Christ's Body, the Church, is forced to go back underground, as in the 1st century AD. Small groups of 3-10 believers meet secretly and have to be extremely careful, as the power of the US government itself is harnessed to blame the Christians for bombings and killings that are actually performed by Islamic and other terrorists, with the specific aim of exterminating the Church. (Think of Nero and his attempt to blame Christians for burning Rome.)

    The book is a fascinating read and gives much food for thought. In his extensive Afterword, Chris goes on to explain that many of the pre-conditions that lead up to this possible future are already well-established. We as Americans and as Christians need to wake up and be aware of the forces of evil that constantly seek to undermine us. Definitely recommend - 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Remarkable Treasure

    This author was given a gift, a vision which he took and compelled into a sci-fiction, fantasy book with hidden parables of a spiritual nature, one has to read in between the lines to understand the purpose of this book. A true believer reading this book will be enlightened to the possibilities of the future on the horizon and be prepared of actuality of its occurrence. .This book is full of impact, it is a reverse of Islamist against Christians. Today's Americans claim Islamic terrorists are enemies doing whatever they can to accomplish their mission of bringing their Allah to the forefront and be the world leader.Except not Muslims being prosecuted in this story but Christianity is abolished and outlawed as a fundamentalist religion. The Christians disband or go underground to escape the lies and deceptions of the Arabic world who is trying to sabotage the Christian's institution with attacks and slander. The United States becomes a Socialist and corrupted government. The head agency FAAHAD. against Hate Crimes is a ploy breaking all constitutional laws to go after all Christians and destroy any foundation they have to stand upon. The characters in this book, from William, John, Najeev Mohammed, others and Professor Burkhart who becomes the leading character, lawyer and helps John fight the Supreme Court against the corrupted Anti-Hate agency, FAAHAD.
    There are so many elements in this story, one has to have a sticky pad to keep up with all the excitement and possibilities of characters and future events.

    My conscious as a reader rallying for William and his underground mission . He and others were true Christians until the end of their lives and the sacrifices they gave captures a reader's heart. Leaving them to ask will they be as brave to sacrifice their lives as martyrs for a higher supreme being?
    I have read one of this author's books, waiting for the suspense, a little disappointed until the most horrifying but plausible scenes came to life, this author is an artist at making the heart race, I had to walk away to get my breathing under control and go back and read it detaching my self from emotions, to get through this part of this magnificent story that touches all aspects of literature.

    It is filled with vital information and knowledge that Americans and the whole world has forgotten about and put on the back burner for selfish pursuits. The author is remarkable in concluding the book with factual knowledge that ties the ends up nicely. There is a message written among the suspense. A parable to be figured out. This book has to be read more then once to get true enjoyment out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Gripping

    Mr. Hambleton not only shocks readers with his graphic diction, but gives a captivating lesson on the history of America. This book shows how horrifying the future of America can be if Christians continue to sit back and watch freedom slip away through their own apathetic behaviors. The end of the book not only gives quotes of our forefathers, but is also a call to action to Believers to take a stand on the Biblical principles that this country was founded. I anxiously await the release of Mr. Hambleton's next book! It is refreshing to read a book that not only has a great story line, but is also doctrinally sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly plausible and chilling...

    Hambleton deftly extrapolates a highly plausible, if chilling, possible future for the expression of evangelical Christianity in America in "The Cell." Through the lives of his characters, we see how historical trends have influenced popular culture and created an environment that grows more intolerant of evangelical Christianity by the day. "The Cell" is an engrossing, interesting story with engaging characters and a "ripped from the headlines" feel.

    The presentation of "The Cell" is nicely done - the novel itself presents a fast-moving, engaging story full of characters that the reader can grasp readily. Afterward, the author provides a series of essays and a suggested reading list that show that the scenarios in the novel are not only plausible, but in some ways nearly inevitable. "The Cell" is both an entertaining novel and a call to action - if the church wants to avoid living in that world, Hambleton offers specific suggestions for positive changes that need to be made now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    When Life Becomes a Cell

    What has happened to the United States of America? It's 2020, the four-hundredth anniversary of the Pilgrims landing on America's shores, a place where Pilgrims and many other groups who followed, sought and found a life free from religious persecution. America, land of the brave, land of the free, was a place where one could freely and safely speak their beliefs. In 1620, John Carver signed the Mayflower Compact and became the first governor of the Plymouth Colony. The Mayflower Compact guaranteed the furthering of Christian faith, individual liberty and a free society. William Bradford followed these principals as the colony's second governor. Four hundred years later, their namesakes, John Carver and William Bradford, try to re-instate these basic rights. But their numbers are small. Since 2008, the year of the big financial crash, America has become increasingly more intolerant to these basic rights and freedoms. In fact, the very people whom the Christian Americans welcomed into their country, are now stagnating and, very nearly, obliterating Christianity. John and William must operate underground to avoid detection. Their church is in the basement of the local hospital; they operate like a cell, keeping their numbers to less than ten because too many people congregating at one time might alert the authorities, or, worse yet, the warlords, the Husam. Numbers grow and, when they do, the cell breaks off into more cells, forcing the new group to find a different location for secret worship.

    Starting to sound scary? Very! Detection by the Husam means instant annihilation, either by contact with a suicide bomber, or a severe beating followed by a live beheading. Forget the Armageddon stories and movies of the late twentieth century. Forget the Mayan prophesy of 2012. Chris Hambleton knows his history. This is obvious in his recent book, The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming. He also knows his Bible. The recent trail of events in North America could well be leading to the downfall of American civilization and the obliteration of basic human rights and freedoms. The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming is a fact-filled, live action, page turner that will have the reader spellbound till its chilly conclusion.

    The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming is a work of fiction. With a strong base of both American and world history as well as Christianity, The Cell: Twilight's Last Gleaming tells a story that is both compelling and thought provoking. It is highly recommended by: Emily-Jane Hills Orford, Allbooks Reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1