Customer Reviews for

The Cellar

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My 2nd Laymon novel

I now see why THE CELLAR is considered a "cult classic" amongst fans of the "splatterpunk" genre--it is fun! You don't have to care about the characters & Laymon doesn't really develope them fully enough for the reader to feel anything for them--they are cardboard cut-...
I now see why THE CELLAR is considered a "cult classic" amongst fans of the "splatterpunk" genre--it is fun! You don't have to care about the characters & Laymon doesn't really develope them fully enough for the reader to feel anything for them--they are cardboard cut-outs; fodder for the Beast that dwells in the cellar. Most of Laymon's characters are just "targets" for the depravity he inflicts on them--& it's very effective. THE CELLAR is the second book I've read by Laymon &--as I've said before--it won't be my last. Many consider it the "holy grail" of the genre--Bentley Little & Edward Lee sing high praises for it & from reading their novels, I can see it was a big influence on their work. This is why I had to find it, read it & see why so many horror fans & authors recommend it highly. Well, I've now read it & join their ranks in saying: This is a fun, sexually depraved, gore dripping piece of work that comes from one sick mind. Loved it.

posted by Jonny-Morbid on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ok book.

The writing style was ok. The characters aren't very well developed. It seems Laymon just likes to get straight to the story and doesn't worry about developing characters or settings. Good for people who just want to read a scary book without all the over writing.

posted by Cica_1984 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My 2nd Laymon novel

    I now see why THE CELLAR is considered a "cult classic" amongst fans of the "splatterpunk" genre--it is fun! You don't have to care about the characters & Laymon doesn't really develope them fully enough for the reader to feel anything for them--they are cardboard cut-outs; fodder for the Beast that dwells in the cellar. Most of Laymon's characters are just "targets" for the depravity he inflicts on them--& it's very effective. THE CELLAR is the second book I've read by Laymon &--as I've said before--it won't be my last. Many consider it the "holy grail" of the genre--Bentley Little & Edward Lee sing high praises for it & from reading their novels, I can see it was a big influence on their work. This is why I had to find it, read it & see why so many horror fans & authors recommend it highly. Well, I've now read it & join their ranks in saying: This is a fun, sexually depraved, gore dripping piece of work that comes from one sick mind. Loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ok book.

    The writing style was ok. The characters aren't very well developed. It seems Laymon just likes to get straight to the story and doesn't worry about developing characters or settings. Good for people who just want to read a scary book without all the over writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Freaky!

    This was the first book by Richard Laymon I ever read and although his are hit and miss for me, I really enjoyed this one. A friend recommended it and I'm glad she did; it was a very entertaining read! I like Laymon's writing style a lot but I was not expecting the ending; he really shocked me! Graphic and disturbing, this book captured my horrified attention right from the start. Good book if you like to be scared. I also liked Come Out Tonight, The Traveling Vampire Show and Island by the same author. If you liked this book, you might also try Dean Koontz (especially his older books), Philip Margolin, and Tess Gerittsen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OVERHYPED. JUST AVERAGE.

    First, I like Richard Layman quite a bit for some of his other books. The Cellar, however, was just a very "lightweight," readable form of pulp fiction with some expected (from him) nastiness. By contrast with his more recent books, I can tell he was a beginner when he wrote this one, which has no character development to make you care. There is some child victimization that was unpleasant also, and put me off a bit. The basic premise was OK.

    Maybe it was just me, but the book never really drew me in and scared me. I felt instead like I was watching with detachment one of those silly slasher movies that has no character development or plot...you just watch for the gore/action scenes. Still, being so short and written in such an easy-to-read, basic style, it was an OK little escape. Interesting twist at the end...

    I would highly recommend Body Rides as a much better example of his more developed writing (terrible, cheap looking cover art but a very engaging book).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    This could quite possibly be the worst book I have ever read. I bought it after reading the reviews and hearing that it was in the top ten list of scary novels. It was horrible!!!!! Don't waste your time...The characters were cut-outs, the plot was ridiculous and completely unbelievable. I won't give away the ending but the book is about a creature who kills people. Not very original at all...if you want a good horror novel read Stephen King!!!! After reading The Cellar, I felt my intelligence lower.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    I learned my lesson

    I thought I was devoting my valuable time wisely. Apparently not. This book was terrible. I stuck it out hoping it would improve. Sadly to say it didn't. The villian could have been stopped many times and was allowed to get away. He continued to ruin lives over and over again. His vile relationship with a small child was disgusting. The whole story was about rape and how the victims were violated. No justice in this book. Only to end with the very same victim happily accepting a life of rape. Thank God we have many authors to choose from. This was my first and last book by Richard Laymon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    The Celler-Horror at its finest!

    I don't know if you are the type of person that is squeamish about certain things when reading a horror novel such as this, if you are then this would not help matters any. It will only keep you up at night. I bought this book from Barnes and Noble, I was looking for something extreme. As a horror writer and horror lover I tend to find the most bizarre thing in a book. The Celler had everything in it that makes a horror novel what it truly is. The characters were well written, the book actually gives you a bad guy that you would love to see die a horrible death. The setting is traditional, the creature itself is intriguing and makes you want to learn more about it and see it in action. The whole history behind what is taking place was well documented. When I heard this was a trilogy, I immediately knew that I had to buy the rest of the books, I am starting to read The Beast House now, I will write a review for that one when I am done. If you are into hardcore horror with a touch of sexuality in this then by all means pick this book up, once you start reading you will not be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    One of Laymon's best

    Its called Beast House. People from all over flock to see it. It has a dark and murderous history. For the last seventy five years people who have dared to live within its walls have met horrible fates. They have been found butchered and partially eaten. The locals don't believe that the murders were the work of any man. They believe it was The Beast. It lives in the house and it waits. It waits and hungers for some unlucky soul to venture in at night. Donna and her daughter Sandy are on the run. They are on the run from Roy, Donna's ex-husband. He's been in prison for abusing and raping Sandy. He has just been released and Donna knows that he will be looking for them, so she and Sandy have hit the road. They hope to find a place were Roy will never find them. They will soon learn that Roy isn't the only thing they have to worry about. They have fled one danger only to find themselves face to face with another. Beast House. I am a huge Laymon fan. I have enjoyed almost every story of his I've read. I was expecting big thing from The Cellar and I wasn't disappointed. I was drawn in on the first page and stayed hooked until the shocking end. The Cellar is the fastest paced Laymon novel I have ever read. I didn't realize how long I was reading it till I looked up at my watch and realized I had been buried in it for four straight hours. I could not put it down. I must warn though that there is a lot of graphic sex and violence. There is one particular scene of pedophilia that was very hard to read. This book isn't for everyone. No punches are pulled in this story. The Cellar is Hardcore Horror make no mistake about it. I recommend The Cellar to anyone who loves a hardcore and fast paced horror story. There are a number of sequels to The Cellar and I cant wait to get my hands on them. I look forward to seeing were this story goes next. Go grab a copy of The Cellar and see if you have the stomach for it. You wont be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    amazing read

    It kept my attention and I was on the edge of my seat the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love it!

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome

    It was a "different" kind of book. The ending just blew me away. I plan on reading another one of his books next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Its an okay read.

    This book has potential. However, I have one big problem with it. I believe the constant raping scene of an innocent child was not necessary. Once i stumbled upon the first scene i skipped it and the rest as well. I don't care much about reading this kind of thing. The story about the beast however, is interesting but i wish the author would have written a little more about them and their origins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    worst book i have ever read,

    can't imagine anyone actually enjoying this pile of cheap, one-dimensional trash. Beyond the fact that the rape of a child was unneccesarily graphic and vomit inducing, as if that wasn't enough, the book is flat. Flat plot, flat characters, flat dialogue. I'd demand my money back but its the brain cells and time lost reading this I miss most. What a giant waste. If this was the first book in the series i can't believe it was ever picked up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Not for me.

    I purchased this because I like a good horror book. This is decidedly not my kind of horror. The graphic repeated rape of the child was too much and unnecessary. It takes more thought to imply something than to describe it, he should have taken more thought. I have removed it from my Nook and will not be continuing this series. I will try another of his books after reading other reviews, just will steer clear of this one.
    The story of the beast was interesting and if I could have avoided the other parts easier this might have been a more "enjoyable" read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    In freaking-credible!

    I've read other Laymon books, but geez, I read this one at work in the space of two days. The child rape thing really got to me, and I just knew everything was going to turn out ok, like it always does at the end of a book. Man was I shocked! Laymon is must really be over the edge! Can you say NEEDS THERAPY?? Which means I and almost every other reviewer is right up there with him. He takes Stephen King to a whole new level. One thing though, what happened to Joni? Seems like she escaped or did she?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Should win an Award

    This book and the ones that tie N with it were awsome just the right amount of blood gore and depravity to keep a die hard horror fan intrested. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Hey guys, hey!

    Good book, if you like horror. Very raunchy. Wasn't a big fan of the whole molestation thing though. Beware, not exactly a happy ending, tie's in well with 'beast house' though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Horror with a Sick twist

    This was my first read by this author and I will admit I enjoyed his writing style. It's a fast read and keeps you anxious to read the next chapter. However, I found it difficult to read the descriptive detailing of the raping of the child victim in this story - that was too demented for my taste. Beside that, the book was an entertaining read. I am curious to see if there is a sequel, as I was not satisfied with the ending - not that it was bad, it just left me wanting for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    CERTAINLY ENTERTAINING

    I didn't find this book to be Laymon's best work, but it was certainly entertaining none the less. I have enjoyed most of his books and this book didn't let me down. The first and last chapters of the book are really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Horror or twisted erotica?

    I think I have spoiled myself with better written more expensive books. I know now what they mean when they say genre books. This book was not well written and the caracters were poorly built. I mean the woman character in this book is a whore from the beginning. You think gosh lady you have only known this man for a day yet you are supposed to sympathize with her. Don't get me wrong I like a dirty book with a little raunchyness in it but not one that should be filed under erotica when you purchase it in the horror section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4