Customer Reviews for

Cemetery Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bell weaves a believable tale of a parent's worst nightmare.

Cemetery Girl was an addictive novel, that kept me up till 3 in the morning to reach the conclusion. Bell weaves a believable tale of a parent's worst nightmare. He delivers it with an authentic voice in Tom Stuart.

Protagonist Tom Stuart, father of Caitlin and husb...
Cemetery Girl was an addictive novel, that kept me up till 3 in the morning to reach the conclusion. Bell weaves a believable tale of a parent's worst nightmare. He delivers it with an authentic voice in Tom Stuart.

Protagonist Tom Stuart, father of Caitlin and husband of Abby tells this riveting story from his perspective. The story is broken into three parts. The first part deals with events leading up to Caitlin's disappearance. The second takes us through the aftermath and how it impacts them. In the third part of the book Caitlin returns, thin, dirty and silent. She is changed; gone is their beautiful vibrant daughter. This isn't how they imagined her return, and Tom is still seeking answers.
This story while fictional could be ripped from the headlines of any news paper. It gives us an in-depth look at the chilling horror of having your child abducted. Tom and Abby are flawed, both as humans and parents. I would be naïve to believe I was a perfect parent. I think we all question ourselves. Bell's characters show us their raw emotions. They give voice to unspeakable thoughts making this all the more surreal. While this isn't a Stephen King novel, the tale is so real, so horrible that you will find yourselves checking on your kids in the middle of night.
Cemetery Girl will leave its mark on the reader. The next headline of a child's abduction will draw you back in and make you think about the unthinkable. I will unquestionably be reading more of David J Bell's work.

posted by kimba88 on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not sure what all the hype was about

From the description and all the reviews, I thought there were going to be some major twists and turns and a really unexpected conclusion. But no, it all boiled down to exactly what you would expect from an abduction case with Stockholm syndrome. The author set up a lot...
From the description and all the reviews, I thought there were going to be some major twists and turns and a really unexpected conclusion. But no, it all boiled down to exactly what you would expect from an abduction case with Stockholm syndrome. The author set up a lot of really interesting scenarios, but then they all turned out to be plot devices he just sort of left hanging. How much was the brother actually know beforehand? Why does no one else notice the 12 year old "ghost girl" running around a small town? Neither of these grown men thought to report this girl to the police for her own safety? This small town police department really didn't bother to investigate what happened to Tracy? What was Liann's weird motivation? Lots of things were hinted at then never really addressed.

posted by JilliJ on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bell weaves a believable tale of a parent's worst nightmare.

    Cemetery Girl was an addictive novel, that kept me up till 3 in the morning to reach the conclusion. Bell weaves a believable tale of a parent's worst nightmare. He delivers it with an authentic voice in Tom Stuart.

    Protagonist Tom Stuart, father of Caitlin and husband of Abby tells this riveting story from his perspective. The story is broken into three parts. The first part deals with events leading up to Caitlin's disappearance. The second takes us through the aftermath and how it impacts them. In the third part of the book Caitlin returns, thin, dirty and silent. She is changed; gone is their beautiful vibrant daughter. This isn't how they imagined her return, and Tom is still seeking answers.
    This story while fictional could be ripped from the headlines of any news paper. It gives us an in-depth look at the chilling horror of having your child abducted. Tom and Abby are flawed, both as humans and parents. I would be naïve to believe I was a perfect parent. I think we all question ourselves. Bell's characters show us their raw emotions. They give voice to unspeakable thoughts making this all the more surreal. While this isn't a Stephen King novel, the tale is so real, so horrible that you will find yourselves checking on your kids in the middle of night.
    Cemetery Girl will leave its mark on the reader. The next headline of a child's abduction will draw you back in and make you think about the unthinkable. I will unquestionably be reading more of David J Bell's work.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific family drama filles with suspense

    Four years ago, twelve year old Caitlin Stuart vanished while walking the family dog Frosty. Her disappearance has left the relationship between her parents Tom and Abby on life support. Abby seeks to move on starting with taking Frosty to the pound as he is a reminder of Caitlin; Tom prefers to keep Frosty with them as he is reminder of Caitlin. He leaves Frosty at the shelter

    Abby prepares for a funeral of her daughter, which is the final shock to her marriage as Tom rejects her notion of closure supported by Pastor Chris. Tom's half-brother Buster comes for the funeral to support his sibling. Tom goes back to the shelter to retrieve Frosty, but he has been adopted. The police pick up a female teenager who is Caitlin. She refuses to discuss what happened to her with anyone. Though his daughter's personality has always been to keep things to herself, Tom fears she was intricately involved in her abduction. He needs the truth so he investigates his offspring's life for the last four years.

    This is a terrific family drama as David Bell provides a strong look at grief and closure are customized to the individual; what Abby needs is not what Tom needs and visa versa. The amateur sleuthing is fun to follow as Tom still seeks closure by learning what went down. Although the well written ending seems weak compared with the strong story line preceding it; aMr. Bell provides closure to the audience rather than an open ended "non-solution" that appears more appropriate. Still readers will appreciate the aftermath to when a terrible incident impacts family and community.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Not sure what all the hype was about

    From the description and all the reviews, I thought there were going to be some major twists and turns and a really unexpected conclusion. But no, it all boiled down to exactly what you would expect from an abduction case with Stockholm syndrome. The author set up a lot of really interesting scenarios, but then they all turned out to be plot devices he just sort of left hanging. How much was the brother actually know beforehand? Why does no one else notice the 12 year old "ghost girl" running around a small town? Neither of these grown men thought to report this girl to the police for her own safety? This small town police department really didn't bother to investigate what happened to Tracy? What was Liann's weird motivation? Lots of things were hinted at then never really addressed.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    A Great Read!

    "Cemetery Girl" is the story of Caitlin Stuart, a girl who disappears at age 12 and is found alive four years later. Caitlin refuses to talk about what happened to her while she was gone, and her father, Tom, struggles to uncover the mystery behind those lost years. "Cemetery Girl" is told from the perspective of Tom, and as the story unfolds, the reader is treated to great writing that relays so much more than the typical mystery/thriller abduction tale. The author, David Bell, does an excellent job examining the effect of a tragic event and its aftermath on the different aspects of a person's life, all while showing the varied reactions of people to crises. This is a thought-provoking book, and one that would be good for a book club. I imagine many readers will be made uncomfortable by the choices different characters make in the novel, and the discussion about those choices could be excellent. Finally, let me say that I love the cover art for this book. Disclaimer: I received an ARC of "Cemetery Girl" from the publisher; no payment was received for this review.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Excellent Read

    This thriller grabs your attention at the beginning and never lets go. I found it very difficult to put down. Couldn't wait for all of the secrets to be revealed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great pre bedtime or beach read novel

    Plot kept me interested and twists in the story made it hard to put down. Satisfying ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great book

    This book was a really easy read and would make an awesome movie. Worth reading.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amateurish prose and mind-numbing characters

    Reads like a high school term paper with characters incapable of making intelligent decisions. The story-concept may have been interesting in another author's hands.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    David Bell¿s thriller debut, Cemetery Girl, is the story of the disappearance of 12 year old Caitlin Stuart and how her parents, Tom and Abby, coped with her being gone. Bell starts the story four years earlier after Caitlin¿s disappearance. Frantic and besieged, Tom vowed to never give up the hope that she is still alive and will come back home. However, Abby has given up and decides it is time to move on. She planned a memorial service and ordered a headstone as she felt the marriage ended when Caitlin disappeared. When Caitlin was found alive, she does not discuss the details of the events leading up to her disappearance and anything in between. Happy that his daughter has returned home safe, Tom is now on a mission to learn about her disappearance. The book is told from the perspective of Tom, which Bell did an excellent job getting the readers intrigued and fulfilled. His writing style made a sensitive issue easy to comprehend. The aftermath of Caitlin¿s disappearance tested the marriage of Tom and Abby and Bell¿s efforts to describe the different aspects and reactions of people were fantastically written. Cemetery Girl is a riveting and powerful novel, maintaining the reader on their toes until the end. Mesmerizing and full with torment, this captivating story shows to be a page-turner. It is a forceful ride, coiling through psychological territory and pulling the reader into emotional suffering. It is worth the read as the book is truly thought-aggravating.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Emotional Ride

    Tom and Abby Stuart seem to be a couple with the perfect life until their wonderful 12-year old daughter, Caitlin, disappears without a trace. The only witness to Caitlin's disappearance is the family dog. Abby finds solace at church, Tom endures by tracking every lead and keeping their daughter's story out there. Their marriage starts to fall apart as they are both pulled in different directions. Abby needs closure and Tom needs to keep hope alive.

    Four years later their world is rocked again when Caitlin is found alive...

    Dollycas Thoughts
    I think the book cover synopsis gives away too much of the story and loses some of the suspense. That being said it is a gripping story. The psychological part of the story is very compelling as all three main characters deal with serious issues. Losing a child is devastating enough but having them return after time, while fantastic, trying to acclimate together again can be overwhelming.

    The entire story is told from Tom's point of view and his pain, agony, fear, mistrust, sadness and grief are all poured out on these pages. As his childhood memories are revealed you feel even more of these emotions. At times I thought her was hallucinating visions of his daughter, his mind trying to cope. Maybe because I was taking this journey so closely with Tom I found myself really not liking Abby and her relationship with her pastor really upset me.

    This author has a voice I will continue to watch. This is a smart novel with keen insight. There are many layers in this story that add to the story making it different from other stories with a similar premise. Parents will hug their kids tight after reading this all too real nightmare.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New American Library. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Recommended

    Good novel for a first book. Kept my interest as a father. Looking foreword to the other reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    Boring. Couldn't get thru it.

    Boring. Couldn't get thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Not impressed

    The plot's "twists" you will see from a mile away, the characters are undeveloped and unrelatable, and the ending is rediculous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing. A grown man having a sexual relationship with a ch

    Disturbing.

    A grown man having a sexual relationship with a child under the age of sixteen is sexual abuse. Period. A twelve year old cannot give consent to a sexual relationship with a grown man. Period. It disturbed me that this point was not made abundantly clear in the novel. The only difference between a twelve year old child being forcibly taken away and being lured to run away is that the sex offender in the later case is smarter and more cunning. I suppose it is so much easier to assign blame to a victim than examine why we as a society still allow and accept the abuse of women and children.

    On the other hand, this is a novel, and the sexual victimization of women and children is still rampant and wildly tolerated in the USA. In the county that I live in, a person will literally do more jail time for driving without a valid driver’s license than for molesting a child. This is a fact. So the author’s portrayal of the conflicting attitudes and opinions in this novel does ring true. So does his griping account of anxiety and psychological disassociation. I also hate knowing ahead of time what is going to happen in a book or a novel. So at first I thought that the novel’s description was a spoiler, in that the girl doesn’t even make an appearance until halfway though the book. But actually, this enhanced the suspense.

    I found myself not able to put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Entertaining

    I was definitely curious about how this story was going to wrap up. I was interested enough that I decided to complete the book. Very different but overall was worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Quick read.

    Did not expect the way this one turned out. This was a quick weekend read. Interesting, Keeps you wondering Who is the bad guys... and will this have a happy ending?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Mediocre novel.

    Mediocre novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Everyone in my book club gave it high ratings .. Averaged out to a 4...it's a quick read because you don't want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    This book started out with a bang and I couldn't put it down - u

    This book started out with a bang and I couldn't put it down - until about half way through. Then the storyline began developing holes in the plot. Leads were suggested and not followed through. The reader wants to join in the search for Caitlin and her abductor, but instead she is found - all too easily - wandering at night along the side of the road - after 4 years of virtually no clues! To make matters worse, the relationship between her parents is difficult to accept. Tom is driven by the need for closure and to find out the answer as to what happened to Caitlin. Her mother, Abby, feels the opposite and wants to 'move on' from the abduction and loss of her only child. She does this by becoming a religious convert, developing a close 'friendship' with the Pastor of the church, and leaving her husband, Tom. At this point one is left wondering how Tom and Abby ever came to be together in the first place. I will probably not finish this book - at best, I may speed read the remaining half. There are already more loose ends than can be tied up in what is left of this book. Very disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Omg great book

    This book is for anyone who really loves a great mystery ,but it is really a sad story and always has you guessing . It is sad to say it really is how a predator can get in the head of your child. I wish they would make a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3