Customer Reviews for

Cemetery John: The Undiscovered Mastermind Behind the Lindbergh Kidnapping

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    I Couldn't Put It Down

    Cemetery John is one of the most fascinating books I've ever read! I literally could not put it down. Although a nonfiction book, Cemetery John is as easy to read as any popular work of fiction. Mr. Zorn makes this very complex case easy to understand without trivializing the subject. Also, he never resorts to sensationalism, obscenity or vulgarity -- and thus makes the book suitable for all readers. This book does not deal with Lindbergh's later life, as that had no bearing on the kidnapping case. This book deserves a wide readership. Obviously, it will appeal to history buffs, followers of true crime and mystery lovers. But it can be read and enjoyed by anyone who wants an absorbing and fascinating book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Thirty years after the “Crime of the Century” was co

    Thirty years after the “Crime of the Century” was committed, economist Gene Zorn realized that he possessed vital clues concerning the case. As a teenager growing up in the Bronx, Zorn had actually overheard his neighbor, John Knoll plotting the kidnapping of Charlie Lindbergh.

    Gene’s son, author Robert Zorn, took over the investigation and discovered compelling evidence linking Knoll to the crime. By utilizing modern crime solving techniques and consulting top experts (there’s actually an impressive list of experts quoted in the book), the author makes a very strong case against Knoll.

    “Cemetery John” is a fascinating book and an enjoyable read. I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I saw the book in Barnes & Noble the other night on the way

    I saw the book in Barnes & Noble the other night on the way home from work: CEMETERY JOHN by Robert Zorn. It looked beyond intriguing. The main premise of the book is that Bronx resident Bruno Richard Hauptmann, the rightfully reviled man who was most certainly a part of the kidnapping of aviator Charles Lindbergh's baby in 1932, did not act alone. Hauptmann's participation in this sick crime, in which the kidnapped baby was killed, despite the Lindberghs having paid a hefty ransom, may well have been as a mere accomplice and follower in what was known as "The Crime of the Century."

    The leader? One John Knoll, whose neighbor in the Bronx was author Robert Zorn's father, Gene.

    Gene had shared his belief of John Knoll's involvement with Robert for years. Both father and son had unofficially worked to prove Gene's theory. Gene has since passed away, and Robert continued with researching the case. The astonishing result of what the Zorn men found is this new book. The title is taken from the fact that "John" was the name the kidnapper identified himself by when meeting with an intermediary at a Bronx cemetery, where he was given the ransom money for the child who was, by then, probably already dead. Hauptmann maintained until his execution that he himself was not "Cemetery John," though of course nobody believed him; part of the ransom money was definitely found secreted on his property. Besides, if Hauptmann had been "Cemetery John," while on trial for his life, he'd never have admitted it.

    'Twas the night before payday when I spotted the book in the store, so I decided I'd come back and pick it up the next evening, once I had a bit more cash in my purse. By the time I returned, a mere 24 hours later, the store appeared to be sold out of copies. The staff had to find one for me since the rest of them had already been sold straight off the shelves. Such is the power of a well-written, entertaining and fabulously researched book.

    I don't want to say too much more about the content of this amazing story, since to do so would spoil it for any potential readers. All I will say is that I cannot recommend this book enough! It's the research coup of the year, and if you want a great true crime read, run right out and buy your copy today - before your bookstore runs out of them, too.

    Hats off to both Robert Zorn and his late father, Gene!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    This is an excellent book

    Mr. Zorn presents a riveting account of the heartbreaking crime and of the bizarre trial that marked the end of the official investigation into the Lindbergh kidnapping. His perspective is unique and intensely personal, yet he approaches the subject with commendable objectivity and clarity. Zorn has wisely confined his analysis to observations related to the crime rather than delving into later controversial events in the life of the renowned aviator - events which clearly had no bearing on the 1932 kidnapping. I detect no hero worship in this account .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    A superb and lucid account of the crime, trial and disposition o

    A superb and lucid account of the crime, trial and disposition of the case. highly plausible account.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    surprisingly new

    As a criminal defense lawyer, I have long been fascinated with the Lindbergh kidnapping and subsequent legal proceedings. This is an excellently researched and developed theory of the conspiracy and conspirators. I have no doubt that, if this case were to occur today, this evidence would be pursued and could result in capture of all persons involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I have read a number of books on this subject and on Lindbergh h

    I have read a number of books on this subject and on Lindbergh himself; I've also written one. Although the kidnapping, like the Kennedy assassination, can never be fully put to rest, this book offers some of the best theories of what really went on. As another reviewer pointed out, there is no reason to fault it for not discussing some of Lindbergh's later, sometimes distasteful, activities; those happened after the fact. If there is any "hero worship" here, it is justifiably in the author's admiration of his father and his dedication to continuing his father's work. It's a good book, very well written, and logically argued. I enjoyed it immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Totally not innocent

    Hauptman was so not innocent, but he was also not alone. He was the scapegoat of the other(s) involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Innocent!!!!

    Hauptman was innocent--what a railroading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ss

    Interesting from the first moment I started reading. If nothing else, the composite picture of cemetary John and John Knolls picture are one in the same. Never have I seen two pictures match so closely. The author has me convinced!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    reccomend

    the story was just ok! it was a bit confusing at times until you remember that the story is being told as hear say.thru the author's father.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1