Customer Reviews for

The Center of Everything: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Fantastic!

I had read Laura Moriarty's other 2 books before I read this one and I feel like even though I went in reverse order, I saved the best for last. I am an avid reader and audio-book listener and this was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. You cheer...
I had read Laura Moriarty's other 2 books before I read this one and I feel like even though I went in reverse order, I saved the best for last. I am an avid reader and audio-book listener and this was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. You cheer for Evelyn and her family the whole way, hoping that they will finally catch a break in life. I was so sad to see it end just when she was ready to start the next chapter of her life in college. Perhaps a sequel? A must-read!

posted by ILgirl07 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What Happened to the Ending??

I kept waiting for this book to get better, just like I waited for Evelyn's life to get better. Then just when I thought she'd reach college and things would look-up the book ended. The story was sad and I could feel Evelyn's heartache. But, the ending was so abrupt and...
I kept waiting for this book to get better, just like I waited for Evelyn's life to get better. Then just when I thought she'd reach college and things would look-up the book ended. The story was sad and I could feel Evelyn's heartache. But, the ending was so abrupt and disappointing I don't know if it's worth the effort of reading the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    I had read Laura Moriarty's other 2 books before I read this one and I feel like even though I went in reverse order, I saved the best for last. I am an avid reader and audio-book listener and this was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. You cheer for Evelyn and her family the whole way, hoping that they will finally catch a break in life. I was so sad to see it end just when she was ready to start the next chapter of her life in college. Perhaps a sequel? A must-read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Perfect

    Probably my favorite book this year. Poignant without being whiney, poetic, funny, and very hard to put down. A must for any book club.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Great read

    I live in a remote location and read constantly. This was by far the best book I have read in a long long time. I can not wait for her next book. I grew up in the same era as Evelyn and I think everyone either knew or was a character in the book. Very easy to relate to and even harder to put down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Great Freebie!!

    This book pulled me into the storyline from the start! Put this one on your TBR list...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Great debut!

    The Center of Everything is a fresh and eloquently written coming-of-age story set in Kansas in the 1980s. The novel is written from the perspective of Evelyn Bucknow and spans a period of 8 years 'from when she is 10 years old to 18'. Moriarty does an excellent job of depicting Evelyn at each age, showing Evelyn's narration gradually mature. This novel is truly a must read. It will have you crying and laughing all the way through. The tense relationship between Evelyn and her mother is perfectly depicted. So is the relationship between Evelyn and her two friends, Deena and Travis. By the end of the novel, you feel as if you have known Evelyn your whole life. It as if you have literally been standing beside her as she deals with all of hte trials and tribulations that come with growing up. The Center of Everything was the best book I have read in the past year, and I am looking forward to more great books from Laura Moriarty!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Great coming of age book. Excellantly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Greatest+book%21%21%21

    It+was+amazing%21+I+loved+the+WHOLE+story%21%21+I+admired+eveything+but+the+last+oage.+It+didnt+have+much+closer.+But+i+recomend+this+book+to+peiple+from+ages+10%2B+because+of+the+amount+of+swears+and+mentionings.+It+also+includes+some+religious+beliefs+that+only+older+people+will+understand.+Other+than+that+i+highly+recomend+this+book%21%22%22

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    If only it never ended...

    I don't ordinarily post reviews, but felt compelled to offer my two cents after reading the criticism other readers recently posted. It's true--this isn't a high concept, Hollywood plot. If you're looking for twists and turns and completely lovable protagonists, look elsewhere. What this book has to offer is much more rewarding. It's subtle, with the narrator's voice changing slightly as she matures, and real, with a focus on the smaller moments that ultimately make Evelyn who she is. The characters are recognizable and complex. And Moriarty's prose is superb--beautiful and effortless. It was a wonderful read, one I will surely read again and again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    GOD AWFUL

    This book is the worst book I have read in a long time. The author jumps ahead 3 years in one page, then stretches one day our over 3 chapters. It is boring and pointless. The author does not explain important things. She also seems to forget things that happened, like in the middle of the book, they are watching TV, even though their power got cut off in the beginning. DO NOT BUY THIS!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    What Happened to the Ending??

    I kept waiting for this book to get better, just like I waited for Evelyn's life to get better. Then just when I thought she'd reach college and things would look-up the book ended. The story was sad and I could feel Evelyn's heartache. But, the ending was so abrupt and disappointing I don't know if it's worth the effort of reading the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    I totally love this book

    I totally loved this book. One of the best things about it is how Evelyn, the main character's, voice changes as she ages from ten to seventeen. And Laura Moriarty really captures all the agony of adolescence. This book rings so true for me: I cannot wait to see what this author writes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    A wonderful debut novel

    I enjoyed this beautifully written book. It captures the essence of an intelligent adolescent girl who has a sense of what life is all about without being handed any real tools to help her draw conclusions. Through the influence of teachers who believe in her, she begins to believe in herself. Moriarty's novel tells a story of family strife, love, discords and growth on the road to Evelyn Bucknow's maturity in a way that is believable and not syrupy. I found the story endearing and think it could be inspirational to teen girls faced with some of the same problems. I hated to have it end and found myself thinking of Evelyn for days after I finished the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Depressimg

    I am in the middle of the book. I just finished The Chaperone which was excellent. This book is well written but it seems more appropriate for a 12 year old who can identify with Evelyn. There's just so much heartache and despair. If the author was going for that she succeeded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Good book

    This is a story that sticks with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    couldn't put it down

    I read this book a few years ago and I absolutely loved it. Laura Moriarty is a fine writer and she captures you from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love to read, anything from harry potter to fifty shades of gr

    I love to read, anything from harry potter to fifty shades of grey to books by Emily Giffin, Mitch Albom and Sophie Kinsella yet this book so far I have to force myself to finish. The first time i started I fell asleep during the first chapter, then it took me three days to actually read more because my friend who recommended it said she loved it but I am half way through the book and I hate it, I see nothing of significance happening in this story, I feel like Evelyn deserves better than Deena and Travis, they can't do anything but bring her down, they deserve each other because they are both stupid and have no aspirations in life....ugh! I may Rewrite this if by the end of the book by some miracle I like it....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great book!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Amazingly Good!

    I absolutely loved this book! Its a story about a young, intelligent girl who is trying to find herself in the midst of everyone else. She sticks to her guns and is always original. There are obstacles she has to overcome and people she deals with but she does it in a gracious way and narrates the story like an adult versus a little girl. I enjoyed reading about life from her point of view and it was refreshing to read about someone who's mind stretched out beyond conventional thinking. Moriary puts this story together just as if it is her own life in a way that everyone can connect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    Still trying to finish

    This book is so slow moving and somewhat boring that every time I try to read it I find myself falling asleep. The story seems to be leading up to something, which is why I keep trying to read it but it's taking to long to really involve me in the story so that I want to stay with it! I will ammend this review if I ever get finished and find that the end is worth the effort of sticking with it, but so far I'm not there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    This was a great book.

    Though I'm much older than the main character, I can remember what it was like to not quite fit in. I could easily relate to Evelyn and her troubles and joys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5