Customer Reviews for

Centurion's Wife, The (Acts of Faith Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

the centurion's wife

This story of the early Christians just after Christ's ascension to heaven was uplifting and interesting. However, the story did drag a bit in the middle, but picked up toward the ending. I liked the story because of my interest in the early Church and ancient history...
This story of the early Christians just after Christ's ascension to heaven was uplifting and interesting. However, the story did drag a bit in the middle, but picked up toward the ending. I liked the story because of my interest in the early Church and ancient history. Don't know how historically plausible everything was, but I enjoyed the premise and setting, and the sweet love story between a Roman Gaul and a young Jewish woman. Will definitely read the remaining two books in the series.

posted by andrea10 on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

I liked the book. Very good story. A little long in middle but other than that a good read.

posted by 10819708 on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    GRACE

    MY MIDLE NAME :MY FATHER IS A PASTER. SO I LOVE CRISTIAN BOOKS. so if you want to read a cristian book
    read: Hatti big ski and the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Dull Boring

    Very lame. Dull. Boring and this is coming from someone who love Biblical historical fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Fave book!

    I love this book. It is like you are right there. This book includes vivid details and amazing mental pictures of the setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    What a great book! I'm so glad I found the genre of historical C

    What a great book! I'm so glad I found the genre of historical Christian novels; I am learning and understanding so much more about the time of the early Christian church. I definitely look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Awesome

    Fabulous book. Riveting, touching, inspirational. I highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Courage and faith

    This book is great. I think it going to be one of my favorites historic based faith building books that I have read. I would highly recommend this book and it's author Thank for letting me enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Excellent

    Good christian read enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Excellent Christian fiction

    I just discovered Davis Bunn and Janette Oke's writing. I like the perspective of the side of the Centurion who's slave was healed from a distance by Christ. I like the way they paint a picture of Jerusalem during the years of the early church. I would highly recommend this book to any reader who wants reading that does not involve sex on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Greaat

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I love this book!

    I have owned this book in paper back for four years. It is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Awesome book

    One of the best books i have ever read the second one is really good too i am going oo buy the third one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. For some reason it took me several tries to

    I enjoyed this book. For some reason it took me several tries to get going on it but once I finally stuck with it I liked it. I liked it better the more I read. I would definitely recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Amazing!

    A life changing book from the first page. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Back in Time

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book

    Another awesome read for those who enjoy Biblical fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Janette Oke never fails! GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Beth

    Omg....that happened to me a few weks ago....l was talking to a 13 yo girl and she was telling me all about her bf AND her nook bf.....she asked if l had a bf....l said no, l dont need one....she said that l was being silly and started posting everywhere saying that her friend is "14 and single and needs a hot date"....she never mentioned my name.....thank the good Lord.....and l eventually convinced her l really dont want a bf....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    recommended

    i enjoyed the book. it is an interesting period in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    aqeq Adequate

    Nicely written. Simplistic. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10