Customer Reviews for

Certain Girls

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Weiner is very creative

My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

posted by lovetoread76MC on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A disaster

I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, an...
I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, and a new love. This book does the opposite. I don't want to spoil anyone but for those who have read it know what I mean. I still love the writer and look forward to her books but who ever told her this book was a good idea needs to be slapped.

posted by Burtnee06 on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    A disaster

    I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, and a new love. This book does the opposite. I don't want to spoil anyone but for those who have read it know what I mean. I still love the writer and look forward to her books but who ever told her this book was a good idea needs to be slapped.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    From Someone Familiar with Author

    I've read two other of her prior novels, (it feels like forever), and about 200 pages into this one kept wondering if I've completely made too much hype for myself. I do give Weiner credit for taking me back through Joy's frustrations with an overprotective mother...but otherwise if it wasn't for a certain "event" in this book I'm thinking I'd give it less credit. I didn't expect the ending from a PINK book. I guess I expected a certain Elle Woods Blonde "Perfect Day" kind of story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Jennifer Weiner is very creative

    My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    I Think Disappointing Says It All...

    I struggled to get through a book that I was waiting to read - loved 'Good in Bed', but found this book disappointing. I found the characters undeveloped, whiny, judgemental, self-pitying, unrelatable and, with the exception of Peter, unlikable. It wasn't a 'beach read' unless you go to the beach to get depressed. Maxi who could have been a good character, wasn't developed in this book and I kept having to look back to remember who Samantha was. The book was disjointed, didn't flow well and, while being told from two different perspectives - one would have been too much. Obviously, some of the reviewers found something in there that I didn't - but no way would I recommend you buying this book unless you want to wallow in self pity. Take something lighter to the beach so you can have a good time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Very hard to get through

    I loved Good in Bed but had a difficult time with this book. As I walked through Cannie's relationship wtith her daughter I saw myself and could relate to the strains of a mother daughter relationship. This story seemed to lack the substance the first one had and even though these characters are Ms. Weiner's I wish she would have been more sensitive to Cannie's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Heartbreaking

    I loved Good in Bed and was anxious to read about more if Cannie's adventures. It took everything I had to finish this book. It was sad. And exhausting. The last third was brutal; I have to wonder if the author even likes her main character. Cannie deserved better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Page turner.

    Kept me up a few nights... my only regret was not getting enough sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Loved it.

    Although I didnt get into it right away, once I did I really enjoyed it. I never read any of her other books before so I had no basis for comparision. Sad, unexpected ending, but you felt for her, how could you not? Also, I enjoyed the turn around that Joy made. I really liked this book. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed...

    I was happy that there was a sequel to Good in Bed, but I was kind of disappointed with it. The ending was too abrupt and the characters just didn't work for me this time. Something was definitely lost in translation. The last couple of chapters were so damn depressing and I barely got through them.

    Readers fell in love with Cannie Shapiro, the smart, sharp-tongued, bighearted heroine of Good in Bed who found her happy ending after her mother came out of the closet, her father fell out of her life, and her ex-boyfriend started chronicling their ex-sex life in the pages of a national magazine.

    Now Cannie's back. After her debut novel -- a fictionalized (and highly sexualized) version of her life -- became an overnight bestseller, she dropped out of the public eye and turned to writing science fiction under a pseudonym. She's happily married to the tall, charming diet doctor Peter Krushelevansky and has settled into a life that she finds wonderfully predictable -- knitting in the front row of her daughter Joy's drama rehearsals, volunteering at the library, and taking over-forty yoga classes with her best friend Samantha.

    As preparations for Joy's bat mitzvah begin, everything seems right in Cannie's world. Then Joy discovers the novel Cannie wrote years before and suddenly finds herself faced with what she thinks is the truth about her own conception -- the story her mother hid from her all her life. When Peter surprises his wife by saying he wants to have a baby, the family is forced to reconsider its history, its future, and what it means to be truly happy.

    Radiantly funny and disarmingly tender, with Weiner's whip-smart dialogue and sharp observations of modern life, Certain Girls is an unforgettable story about love, loss, and the enduring bonds of family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    awesome as usual

    awesome as usual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I skimmed through enough to know to put it down. I had read spoi

    I skimmed through enough to know to put it down. I had read spoilers from other reviewers so I was prepared for certain events. I was not interested in investing too much time into the book. The back and forth between the daughter's (Joy) narration and mother (cannie) I did not enjoy. If felt like Joy was just rehashing what Cannie had gone through in "Good in Bed". Loved that book and how it ended. The author should have just stopped there. I'm glad i didn't fully read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great book

    Funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Bummer

    After reading "Good In Bed" I was excited to find the next chapter in Cannie's life...but sad to say, this was disappointing. Made myself finish but the unexpected turn toward the end didnt even make me bat an eye. Really not a fan of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Laugh and cry outloud

    Really good book, the ending left me really sad concidering what this character went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    This book is ok

    This book is ok it dont ,look,good the end is the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    She does it again

    Read good in bed first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    Fun to follow cannie later on in life....i liked the book but liked the first one best (good in bed)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    COuldn't get into it...

    Read 3 chapters and archived it; I just couldn't get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved it

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Fun!

    I had alot of "escape time" with this book-fun but not too frilly! I usually steer away from "girlie" books but really enjoyed this one, as well as, "Good in Bed" (recommend that you read that one first to fully enjoy "Certain Girls"). Above average plot, well-developed characters and enough "laugh out loud" moments to get me a couple stares on the Boston T! Every once in a while, we all need to be reminded that our own dysfunctional families are really not that out of the norm and how not to take ourselves too seriously in the process! The ending is a total "emotional blindsider" so don't peek if you want the full impact! Enjoy...it was worth the trip!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12