Customer Reviews for

Certain Girls

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Weiner is very creative

My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

posted by lovetoread76MC on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A disaster

I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, an...
I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, and a new love. This book does the opposite. I don't want to spoil anyone but for those who have read it know what I mean. I still love the writer and look forward to her books but who ever told her this book was a good idea needs to be slapped.

posted by Burtnee06 on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed...

    I was happy that there was a sequel to Good in Bed, but I was kind of disappointed with it. The ending was too abrupt and the characters just didn't work for me this time. Something was definitely lost in translation. The last couple of chapters were so damn depressing and I barely got through them.

    Readers fell in love with Cannie Shapiro, the smart, sharp-tongued, bighearted heroine of Good in Bed who found her happy ending after her mother came out of the closet, her father fell out of her life, and her ex-boyfriend started chronicling their ex-sex life in the pages of a national magazine.

    Now Cannie's back. After her debut novel -- a fictionalized (and highly sexualized) version of her life -- became an overnight bestseller, she dropped out of the public eye and turned to writing science fiction under a pseudonym. She's happily married to the tall, charming diet doctor Peter Krushelevansky and has settled into a life that she finds wonderfully predictable -- knitting in the front row of her daughter Joy's drama rehearsals, volunteering at the library, and taking over-forty yoga classes with her best friend Samantha.

    As preparations for Joy's bat mitzvah begin, everything seems right in Cannie's world. Then Joy discovers the novel Cannie wrote years before and suddenly finds herself faced with what she thinks is the truth about her own conception -- the story her mother hid from her all her life. When Peter surprises his wife by saying he wants to have a baby, the family is forced to reconsider its history, its future, and what it means to be truly happy.

    Radiantly funny and disarmingly tender, with Weiner's whip-smart dialogue and sharp observations of modern life, Certain Girls is an unforgettable story about love, loss, and the enduring bonds of family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Did not love it

    This book was a let down, I thought the ending was awful, not as funny as her other books. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Certain Girls...don't like this book

    An interesting idea for the structure of the book - writing from the daughter's perspective as well as Cannie's. It was too long between this book & 'Good In Bed', so I had difficulty remembering the specifics of the story lines. I did not care for this book at all - very disappointing. The ending was just horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Incredibly disappointed

    I love Jennifer Weiner but was seriously disappointed with this book. Cannie wasn't nearly as funny as she was in Good in Bed. Joy's problems couldn't be blamed on being a normal teenager because her brattiness and attitude were unbelieveable even for a normal teenager. And the ending had me throwing down the book at work during my lunchtime and my co-workers asking why I was so angry. If you're a Weiner fan and feel like you need to read this one, go ahead but prepare to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I could not believe this! Her last book was terrible and this one started out great and then the last 50 pages turned me off so badly!! I LOVED her first few books -- what has happened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1