Customer Reviews for

Certain Girls

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Weiner is very creative

My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

posted by lovetoread76MC on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A disaster

I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, an...
I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, and a new love. This book does the opposite. I don't want to spoil anyone but for those who have read it know what I mean. I still love the writer and look forward to her books but who ever told her this book was a good idea needs to be slapped.

posted by Burtnee06 on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    From Someone Familiar with Author

    I've read two other of her prior novels, (it feels like forever), and about 200 pages into this one kept wondering if I've completely made too much hype for myself. I do give Weiner credit for taking me back through Joy's frustrations with an overprotective mother...but otherwise if it wasn't for a certain "event" in this book I'm thinking I'd give it less credit. I didn't expect the ending from a PINK book. I guess I expected a certain Elle Woods Blonde "Perfect Day" kind of story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Very hard to get through

    I loved Good in Bed but had a difficult time with this book. As I walked through Cannie's relationship wtith her daughter I saw myself and could relate to the strains of a mother daughter relationship. This story seemed to lack the substance the first one had and even though these characters are Ms. Weiner's I wish she would have been more sensitive to Cannie's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    This book is ok

    This book is ok it dont ,look,good the end is the best part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    COuldn't get into it...

    Read 3 chapters and archived it; I just couldn't get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Audiobook version just okay

    If you can get past the nasily narrator for Cannie's parts (which annoyed me many times during the slow parts) this book was okay. As a previous reviewer stated, this Cannie just didn't seem the same as the original. At times it felt like a Jewish religion lesson. And it was difficult to keep up with the real time and flashback parts of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    This was ok.....

    Jennifer Weiner's writing is getting more and more intellectually immature...each book is getting progressively worse. Her new novel, Best Friends Forever, was a real snoozer - go back to your roots - Good in Bed was a lot more interesting than the last couple of books. All of her books are way too predictable. Next time I'll check her newest out from the library instead of purchasing - it was a waste of money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Certain Girls

    Not one of her best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Not as good as others by Weiner

    After reading everything else written by Jennifer Weiner, I was sure that I would love this one just as much. Not so, I'm afraid. This book was narrated, every other chapter, by Cannie (mother), or Joy, her 13-year old daughter. Cannie turns out to be extremely overprotective, much too much so, and that doesn't jibe with the character of Cannie as we first met her in "Good in Bed." There were likeable and not so wonderful characters throughout, but the younger friends of Joy's were not fleshed out enough. The plot was sometimes boring, then suddenly took twists or turns that seemed too extreme. I just ended up feeling dissatisfied by much of it, as compared with all of Weiner's books written prior to this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Not the ending I would have hoped for Cannie

    I loved the book Good in Bed, it is one of my favorite books and so I was looking forward to reading the rest of her story with her daughter's perspective. However, the ending ruined the book for me. I did not feel this was the appropriate way to end Cannie's story. Overall, it was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Not a happy ending......

    I am a consistent fan of Jennifer Weiner and have loved all of her prior books, with Good in Bed rating at the top of my choices. I was thrilled to read the sequel to Cannie's life....but was extremely disappointed by the ending of the story. The news of Cannie's husband was shocking.....and I felt that I missed 'something' when I reached the end of the book. Overall, this was my least favorite of all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Liked but not loved

    I'm a big fan of Jennifer W. When I first heard the book was told from two different perspectives 'one being a teenager' I didnt think I would like the book. However, it was good but I enjoyed her previous books better. I was really disappointed with the ending and was not expecting to read what I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3