Customer Reviews for

Certain Girls

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Weiner is very creative

My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

posted by lovetoread76MC on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A disaster

I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, an...
I adored "Good in Bed" and was excited to see a sequel. I have never been more disappointed in a book. Not only does she ruin everything I loved about the original she goes and ruins Cannie's happy ending. Good in bed left Cannie on a happy note new baby, a good job, and a new love. This book does the opposite. I don't want to spoil anyone but for those who have read it know what I mean. I still love the writer and look forward to her books but who ever told her this book was a good idea needs to be slapped.

posted by Burtnee06 on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Jennifer Weiner is very creative

    My sister loved this book. My mom can't wait to read it.. She was laughing out loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    awesome as usual

    awesome as usual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great book

    Funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    She does it again

    Read good in bed first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    Fun to follow cannie later on in life....i liked the book but liked the first one best (good in bed)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved it

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one of my favorites..

    In the sequel of "Good in Bed", Cannie comes back with Joy, Peter and Bruce. It's an amazing story between families.. mothers and daughters, fathers and husbands. I love this relationships between all of them. Cannie reminds me of myself quite a lot. Joy's and Bruce's relationship is splitting image of me and my father. Not even going to lie, the ending is going to shock you. You are going to have a very large box of tissues ready and waiting. I suggest anyone who loves a good read, and Jennifer Weiner to give this book a shot. Definite chick lit. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Never thought I'd see a sequel

    ...to Good in Bed. I bought this book because I was a fan of Jennifer Weiner. Now, I absolutely love her!! The ending was a huge, bittersweet surprise, but I was hooked. I don't usually care for "sequels", but this one felt appropriate and welcome. If you read Good in Bed, you'll identify all the familiar characters, struggles, and grand themes. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Down to Earth TRUE chic lit Novel

    Jennifer Weiner is an amazing and gifted writer. Her novels are entertaining, witty, and real. 'Certain Girls' is the sequel to Wieners best-selling novel 'Good in Bed'. This novel follows up on Cannie a good thirteen years later, with her daughter Joy. Tears will be shed, and anger may build but its a phenomenal story about a girl in the midst of growing up trying to find the meaning in her and her family's "dysfunctional" life. Read this novel! Its fantastic! All chic lit fans will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    This book was entertaining from beginning to end. One of my favorites and I've read all of her books. Very easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Should be considered a "must read" for every woman

    Never, ever did I think I would take the time to write a review for a book, and I've read some good ones. I had to take the time with "Certain Girls", however, as this is one of the most memorable books I've read in years. I read this book during a 5 hour airplane flight and found myself laughing out loud on the plane during some parts. In other parts, I tried and failed to fight back tears, which I think the person sitting next to me found alarming. This book will stick with you, and you'll be so sorry when it comes to an end. I just handed it over to my 17 year-old daughter, because as much as I think any woman would love it, I think that mature (there is some frank discussion about sex in this book) teenagers will also find it highly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and touching sequel to Good In Bed. Great by the pool read.

    After reading one of Jennifer Weiner's earlier books a few years back, I went right out and bought her next book. Her writing is funny, her characters interesting, and her story lines are something most women can relate to. Be sure to read Good In Bed before diving into Certain Girls. It's not necessary to follow the story, but when you finish this you will want to go back and read the prequel. You might as well read them in order. Good author to add to your summer reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Jennifer does it again!

    as always, this book is a fabulous page turner! loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Loved It!!!

    I loved Good in Bed but I thought that Certain Girls had a little more depth and better developed story. Would love to see the two books made into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Sex and the suburbs

    Talk about your turn abouts! Boy, this is one great book! As good as GOOD IN BED, this is one fine beach read. Weiner, who seems to have put her heart and soul into this book, has to be credited for her honest portrayal of love, loss, and life. The bottomline on this one is the emotional tug you will feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Oh the Tangled web we weave!!

    I loved this book! I don't think we always think about how the things we do today can impact our lives for years to come. The book gives you the story from two perspectives: Cannie and her daughter Joy. I could remember so many of Joy's thoughts as my own when I was becoming a teenager so many years ago. Now, as a parent myself I could also find myself relating to Cannie. The storyline has many twists and turns and in the end it left me wanting to know more about what happens with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just love this author and look forward to what she comes out with next. I loved this book from cover to cover. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    The reader becomes Cannie Shapiro

    This is a wonderful book by a very talented writer. A follow-up to Good In Bed, 13 years later, this book is truly inspired. I loved becoming Cannie once again, and also, her daughter Joy. The writing is so good that you really feel what they are going through. It was wonderful all the way to the last word on the last page. You'll laugh, you'll cringe, you'll cry, just what you want in a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Couldn't put it down

    Loved this book, like the others. She is a wonderful writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Wonderful

    It's the continuing story of Cannie from Good in Bed, you don't have to read the first one to enjoy the second but it might help put some things in perspective. Jennifer really has a way with words and I really enjoyed this book even though I rarely like to cry at the end which I did. And if you read the first book you will be reintroduced to Joy who was only a baby when Good in Bed ended and is now 13. A really great story with strong characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4