Customer Reviews for

A Certain Slant of Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Absolutly and completely oustanding!

This book completely made the top of my best book list. When Helen took the girls body and saw James, I almost cried. It was so amazing. The connection was amazing. Everything was amazing!I immediatly fell in love with James. This is a book you want to read over and ove...
This book completely made the top of my best book list. When Helen took the girls body and saw James, I almost cried. It was so amazing. The connection was amazing. Everything was amazing!I immediatly fell in love with James. This is a book you want to read over and over again, its a book that you won't want to stop reading. I was reading it during class and wouldn't put it down. I kept getting in trouble. When i got home my mom would say 'Jess, you need to go to bed, put the book down.' I would say 'Yeah, yeah. One more chapter.' I would constantly say that. This is a book for Twilight readers. It gives you a whole differant perspective on ghosts too. You WILL fall in love!

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully Written

If you appreciate the raw skill of writing and words then this read is ideal. The author describes everything with clarity and beauty, weaving words together in a way I've never seen before. The story itself was well enough to pass the time but not the best I've read. I...
If you appreciate the raw skill of writing and words then this read is ideal. The author describes everything with clarity and beauty, weaving words together in a way I've never seen before. The story itself was well enough to pass the time but not the best I've read. If you can find this book for a bargain its defiantly worth it.

posted by kiki09ist on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    This is a rare book. Amazing writing, and use of words. I finished it in two days, and each time I had to put it down because life got in the way, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. It was very touching. A little sad and haunting (excuse the pun). But I love(d) it and would recommend it to any avid reader willing to delve into new literature.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Absolutly and completely oustanding!

    This book completely made the top of my best book list. When Helen took the girls body and saw James, I almost cried. It was so amazing. The connection was amazing. Everything was amazing!I immediatly fell in love with James. This is a book you want to read over and over again, its a book that you won't want to stop reading. I was reading it during class and wouldn't put it down. I kept getting in trouble. When i got home my mom would say 'Jess, you need to go to bed, put the book down.' I would say 'Yeah, yeah. One more chapter.' I would constantly say that. This is a book for Twilight readers. It gives you a whole differant perspective on ghosts too. You WILL fall in love!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow...What a Great Book

    This book was so good, and so ridiculously intense. It's one of those books that leaves you in a weird mood once you finish it, because you get pulled into the emotions of the characters. I read this months and months ago, and I still remember it. I'm going to reread it soon. This book is highly recommended, but if you're looking for a fun, lighthearted read, this isn't the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    great read!!!

    It took me a day and a half to read this book and that is only because I couldn't take it to work with me. The plot is unusual and provoking. It has become my favorite book to share with others. Can't wait for another Laura Whitcomb release!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    OhMyPuma(inside joke)

    The moment I flipped past the title page, I couldn't cease reading. This book is definately not the typical love story. As I was reading A Certain Slant of Light, so many emotions flew through me: joy, love, bitterness, lonliness. If this were the only book on Earth, I would be completely content.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Wow

    Wow I read this book in one sitting. I couldn't put it down. Very unique story that drew me in instantly. I found this recommended on Youtube and I'm thankful for it. Great find!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Great, but YA? Really?

    I really enjoyed this book, but the whole time, I kept thinking, "Did I really pick this up in the YA section? It must have been shelved wrong." The characters are late-twenty-somethings spirits who steal teenage bodies, and therefore have adult relationships, and obviously just think like adults. I've read in other reviews that a lot of other people recommended this book to older women... I think it just got catergorized wrong at the publishors level. That said, I really, really enjoyed this book. The plot visited many different sort of life-styles and sometimes seemed to almost skip into different genres (is it a romantic period piece? Is it a edgy young adult book? Is it a teenage Christian novel?), but strangely, it worked. The writing was rich and very skilled, and the storyline, while sometimes a little flat, dealed with the sort of paranormal genre that is popular right now, but it was in a fresh, creative take. I definitely look forward to reading more from Laura Whitcomb.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BOOK

    It's a pretty good book. It's a ghost story but it's not your normal scary ghost story. This one is more about longing and love. Helen has spent over 100 years dead going from human host to human host hanging around them without being ever seen.Then one day while in her human host's(Mr.Brown) class she realizes one of his students named Billy can see her. She wonders why and finds out later that he can see her because he is a spirit actually living in Billy's body til Billy decides to come back named James. Helen is over the roof,head over heels for James and he soon becomes her human host and gets Helen to get a human body and the story goes from there. Don't want to actually give too much away for those that want to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amazing, well written, couldn't put it down

    I thought this book was very well written. It almost had a classic kind of feel to it. Not that is compares the the classics (no offense to the author), but her style is great. I read the whole thing before i knew it. I would recommend it to anyone who likes paranormal, amazing, fiction, or even if they liked books. Its an appealing book to anyone. Great beginning, great ending. It started easily, not too slowly, and didn't jump into the story line too fast. Easy to follow, but still made you think. Loved it. Good job, Laura, good job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Beautifully Written

    If you appreciate the raw skill of writing and words then this read is ideal. The author describes everything with clarity and beauty, weaving words together in a way I've never seen before. The story itself was well enough to pass the time but not the best I've read. If you can find this book for a bargain its defiantly worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book since Twilight

    I really loved this book. Then again, I say that about almost any good book I finish reading. Ever since I read Twilight I've been trying to get interested in other books, but just couldn't. I'd read a book and stop reading in the middle because I just wasn't enjoying it. This book changed that. I was tuned in from the beginning. The emotion that comes through the main character's point of view is tangible. The chemistry between Helen and James, who were destined for each other, makes me fall in love with the two and wish I could find another James out there in the real world. The plot is brilliant. There are some chapters that make you want to stay in that chapter forever and some that make you want to hurry to the next one to see where the suspense leads up to.

    I'm not saying this is the best book you'll ever read. It's not number one on my list, but for anyone that's into paranormal romance, this is the perfect book to read! Laura Whitcomb's first novel definitely was a success.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!

    I read this book in one day and i couldnt put it down it started off fast and was a well woven book most books you wish there was a sequel but this book i still wish there was a sequel but the author rapped the story up really well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING...

    This book caught by surprise. From the very first page I was captivated by Helen's words. Her loneliness rang through each of her words and pulled you into her world. Almost as if I was her wandering and watching and unable to be heard. Once James was introduced... the dialogue between the two of them had a touch of the old romance found in the classics. The bond between the two of them was amazing, touching, passionate, and agonizing all at the same time. I'm completely in love with this book and this has definitely become one of my favorite stories read. Highly recommended!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Best Ghost Story Ever

    This book was way edgy and exciting. It definitely kept you on your toes. I totally loved the story of and imagintion from the author. It was a great romance novel and it didn't feel like it took forever to read. I read it on a car trip and it made the drive more interesting.
    I loved how the main chracter has to deal with flashbacks of her former life, her new romance with another ghost, and the the girl's body she has taken over. when I read this book it felt like I was the one experiencing all the excitable events. You could really feel the pain she went through.
    My sis was so mad because I wouldn't sut up about this book for a week. It just really pulled you into the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK

    i love this book, its the best! I read it in maybe 4 days. amazing book. I really do recommend it. =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    A Certain Slant of Light

    This book was simply fantastic! I read it in about sixteen hours. I just couldn't put it down! Laura Whitcomb included the perfect amount of sex, love, and the supernatural. This is an absolute must-read. You won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good Book.

    This book is really interesting and so funny and so sweet. I love it. I love James and Helen, Billy and Jenny, and Cathy and Mitch and Libby. I won't say anymore, just read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    this is a must read

    This book as really good. it was nothing that i expected. the start is hard to get into, but once you get past that it is a great book. it was hard to but it down. there is a lot of romance and examples of family problems. overall a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    100 times better than i thought it would be!

    When i checked this book out at the library, i figured it would mostly be about ghosts and spirits and basically a mystery overall...but WOW. i was so shocked with how much love and romance had been incorporated in this book. and i even cried at the end! this is definitely in my top 5 favorite books of ALL TIME.

    even though recommending it to everyone is so cliche, i'm telling you this is an absolutely amazing book. you have to read it. i simply couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    WOW

    Im 13 years old and i checked out this book from the library. And when I started reading it I thought I wasn't going to like it (because the first chapter was realy slow). But as i got deeper into the story...I couldn't put it down. I found myself at night, when I couldn't sleep, with the book in my hand and thrilling pictores in my mind! I found myself one night to have almost finished the whole book! I had to convince myself to stop reading, so that I would have something to read after I finished my ISAT's!! This book is a dark cloud of edge, thrilles and challenges...but it is also filled with unforgettable characters, emotion and realism. Its as if I can Feel Helen watching me now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16