Customer Reviews for

A Certain Slant of Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

This is a rare book. Amazing writing, and use of words. I finished it in two days, and each time I had to put it down because life got in the way, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. It was very touching. A little sad and haunting (excuse the pun). But I love(d) it and...
This is a rare book. Amazing writing, and use of words. I finished it in two days, and each time I had to put it down because life got in the way, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. It was very touching. A little sad and haunting (excuse the pun). But I love(d) it and would recommend it to any avid reader willing to delve into new literature.

posted by Howard_Roark on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully Written

If you appreciate the raw skill of writing and words then this read is ideal. The author describes everything with clarity and beauty, weaving words together in a way I've never seen before. The story itself was well enough to pass the time but not the best I've read. I...
If you appreciate the raw skill of writing and words then this read is ideal. The author describes everything with clarity and beauty, weaving words together in a way I've never seen before. The story itself was well enough to pass the time but not the best I've read. If you can find this book for a bargain its defiantly worth it.

posted by kiki09ist on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Great, but YA? Really?

    I really enjoyed this book, but the whole time, I kept thinking, "Did I really pick this up in the YA section? It must have been shelved wrong." The characters are late-twenty-somethings spirits who steal teenage bodies, and therefore have adult relationships, and obviously just think like adults. I've read in other reviews that a lot of other people recommended this book to older women... I think it just got catergorized wrong at the publishors level. That said, I really, really enjoyed this book. The plot visited many different sort of life-styles and sometimes seemed to almost skip into different genres (is it a romantic period piece? Is it a edgy young adult book? Is it a teenage Christian novel?), but strangely, it worked. The writing was rich and very skilled, and the storyline, while sometimes a little flat, dealed with the sort of paranormal genre that is popular right now, but it was in a fresh, creative take. I definitely look forward to reading more from Laura Whitcomb.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BOOK

    It's a pretty good book. It's a ghost story but it's not your normal scary ghost story. This one is more about longing and love. Helen has spent over 100 years dead going from human host to human host hanging around them without being ever seen.Then one day while in her human host's(Mr.Brown) class she realizes one of his students named Billy can see her. She wonders why and finds out later that he can see her because he is a spirit actually living in Billy's body til Billy decides to come back named James. Helen is over the roof,head over heels for James and he soon becomes her human host and gets Helen to get a human body and the story goes from there. Don't want to actually give too much away for those that want to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    this is a must read

    This book as really good. it was nothing that i expected. the start is hard to get into, but once you get past that it is a great book. it was hard to but it down. there is a lot of romance and examples of family problems. overall a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ghost Story

    I finished a Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb last night, and I'd just like to say that I loved the story. I did the audio version, which was phenomenal. This reader is wicked good because she made the story come to life. I never thought I'd enjoy a ghost-type story, and I've never read one before for that matter (I don't count The Book Thief since "death" really isn't a ghost), so this book reminded me to never say never. The characters were well developed, and there was so much emotion infused in the storyline that was well thought out. The author's descriptions of everything is so eerily detailed. I was able to picture it like a movie, the way she described places, feelings, reactions, etc. I loved it!

    I just have to say, when James caught Helen's scent, and he was saying "you smell like...*contemplates*...you smell like...*contemplates*..." All I kept thinking was, "please don't say freesia, please don't say freesia." His answer was jasmine... whew!! :) (All you twi fans will get that one. Hee hee.)...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    great book !

    I thought the book was very well written. Somedays I couldn't put it down. It was a little explicet. Both the beggining & end were confussing but you soon caught on. I reccomend is book for summer reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Well written and in its own way, very beautiful. I was left want

    Well written and in its own way, very beautiful. I was left wanting to know what happened to Billy and Jenny at the end, I felt that was a little unfinished, considering their bodies were being used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Different romantic approach!

    What a difficult, beautiful and facinating book! It wasn't riveting or necessarily suspenseful, although it was filled with incredibly unique descriptions from a ghost's point of view, that if I didn't know any better, I would sincerely believe the author actually spent time as one.

    Helen is a ghost and for the first time in 130 years, human eyes are looking at her. Those eyes belong to a boy who has not seemed remarkable until now. Helen is terrified and also unnerved by the fact that he can see her; but she also finds herself incredibly intrigued. She is immediately drawn to him and discovers his name is, James. The fact that he is in a body and she is not presents this preposterous couple with their first challenge. Now, the two of them struggle to find a way to be together as they begin to discover the secrets of their former lives and also of the young people they come to possess.

    If you're reading the synopsis of this story or even describing it to someone, it actually sounds a little "hokey." However, it "works" and on so many different levels - and is a story of forgiveness and ultimate healing for the dead and the living. The author intertwines modern-day dysfunction with 130 year old history, to develop a surreal yet difficult to imagine kindredship amoungst her hero and heroine; all the while making it believeable. And let's face it, that isn't easy to accomplish! I did, however, wish Whitcomb had devoted more pages to the romance between Helen and James - but the time they did spend together was gently but fulfillingly written, which delighted me!

    This is not a "feel-good" story - it's unapologetically "heavy" and attempts to send a message. It's left up to the reader to decipher what to keep and what to walk away with...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Entertaining read.

    This was an easy, entertaining read. The concept is interesting, and the love story between the two characters was engaging and emotional. I absolutely could not put this book down. The ending was a bit too corny for me, but I'm sure the hopeless romantics out there would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Different

    A nice change. A little off kilter of a book. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    A Certain Slant of Light

    If you like to read books of many varieties then you're going to like A CERTAIN SLANT OF LIGHT by Laura Whitcomb. The story takes of when Helen finally is seen by a human for the first time in over a hundred years after her death and becoming "Light". That person was a student of the English teacher she was haunting named Billy but the reality was that his actual name was James, a spirit similar to Helen who inhabits Billy's "empty" body. James shows her how to inhabit an "empty" body of another student from the same school named jenny whose spirit decides to leave the body. Overjoyed by their discover of each other, the two soon fall deeply in love. But as the lovers struggle to find a way to be together, they begin to discover the secrets of their former lives and of the young people they come to possess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insightful read.

    Laura Whitcomb does a good job developing her characters. She has a creative story line and ties everything together well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Has a great ending.

    When i first started reading this it took me a while to get interested. but as it progressed i could feel the love between James and Helen. There were quit a few parts that made me laugh but overall this book was good. The ending was great i think, i was amazed by it all. I loved how james had set Jenny and Billy up to meet and feel like they were already in love ( and possibly having a baby!) and to find out how helen died. But she finally was excepted into heaven where everyone she loved was waiting for her. The ending was great and not very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting

    This book was an easy read that just took me a couple days. It is interesting because it has elements that you haven't heard of before. I did like the characters and it is sad at the end I wished it could have gone better but unfortunatly it didn't and I cried. This book isn't for everyone so I'd say you'll either love it or hate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Read This!

    A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb is a story about a girl named Helen who died about two hundred years ago. She spends her afterlife following different living people until they die. Her current host is Mr. Brown, the English teacher at the local high school. Helen spends her days in a monotonous pattern until, one day, she realizes one of the boys in the class is watching her. His name is Billy, and she hasn't payed any attention to him until that day. Later, he informs her that he is dead, but has taken over a human's body. After this, they get Helen a body, and the rest of the book is spent with her troubles as a human.<BR/>I thought this book was really good, and I read it pretty quickly. It got a little slow when Helen was Jenny (the body she takes over) but it quickly picked up speed again. This book made me really sad at times, but at others, it was funny and cheerful. The most interesting part for me is Helen's search for how she died. This book is great and really good to read if you have time to read it all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A need to read

    This book is an amazing read! Although its not as good as the Twilight Series, it was stll really good. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Original

    Laura Whitcomb should be proud of this book, she really produced an awesome plot line and an aray of characters. I am in love with the ending of this book and the middle and beggining its a wonderful novel. This love story between to spirits:one in an abandoned body and the other light proves that nothing is more powerful than true love. Very genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Lights and Quicks

    I very much so enjoyed reading A Certain Slant of Light. Laura Whitcomb does a great job of weaving in and out of Helen's past and present memories. Yet I was quite disappointed that one didn't find out what happened with James and Billy's father. I still fully recommend this book, for those who enjoy a bit of both the Lights and the Quicks. ' :

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Reader

    I just LOVE this book. I mean the ending just made my heart melt :] . I don't know why. I just loved it. The writing was awesome. i never put it down. I definatly recomended this book to like everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Not for people under 14.

    This was a good book, but with a lot of sexual detail. I don't think anyone under the age of 13 should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    A TRUELY UPLIFTING NOVEL

    This was a beautiful story of love, hardships, life lessons, and redemption. Laura Whitcomb's writing can be compared to a diamond in the rough. I cannot wait to see what she comes up with next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3