BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Certain Wolfish Charm

Average Rating 4
( 431 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy

In 1816 Lily Rutledge worries about the radical change in behavior of her twelve year old ward Lord Oliver Westfield. She has sent letters to the lad's guardian Duke Simon Westfield demanding he get involved in his nephew's life, but she doubts the wastrel reads her mis...
In 1816 Lily Rutledge worries about the radical change in behavior of her twelve year old ward Lord Oliver Westfield. She has sent letters to the lad's guardian Duke Simon Westfield demanding he get involved in his nephew's life, but she doubts the wastrel reads her missives as he only sends her money and besides he is too busy chasing skirts.

Lily decides the time for confrontation with the womanizing duke has passed. She goes to his home Blackmoor, but is stunned when Simon, realizing what is happening to his nephew, orders her to leave while he takes Oliver into his home. Simon plans to mentor Oliver on what it means to be a Westfield as puberty is bringing out the werewolf gene. Lily refuses to leave because she loves Oliver who calls Her "Aunt Lily" while she thinks of him as her son; nor will she abandon Oliver to a beast who failed to recognize him as blood. However, as Simon and Lily fight their attraction to one another, they fall in love, but he conceals his wolfish tendencies while she becomes more concerned over the physical and emotional changes to Oliver.

This is an entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy starring two seemingly cross-starred lead characters who share in common the belief that Oliver comes before their needs. The story line is emotional intense at times but only when Oliver struggles to cope with his hormonal changes especially the monthly need that seems like a werewolf's PMS. Fans will enjoy this fine historical romance as the author daringly combines the paranormal within an amiable story line.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my fave werewolf story - but it was ok.

This was more romance than story to me. If you like really racy fantasy books, then this is for you. If you like more plot I would recommend the Black Dagger Brotherhood over this. I will probably not read anymore in this series.

posted by ashredbrown on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic Regency Werewolves are fun

    Werewolves in Regency England? It may sound a curious premise, but the author, Lydia Dare, makes it work beautifully in A Certain Wolfish Charm. Young Oliver, orphaned Earl of Maberly, has suddenly grown from innocent child to wild teenager driving his dear unmarried aunt to distraction. Said aunt, the enterprising and beautiful Lily Rutledge, turns to Oliver's fellow guardian for help, but Simon Westfield has his own well-thought-out reasons for hiding in the background all these years. The trouble is, he maybe hasn't thought them out well enough.

    The author maintains a consistent picture of Regency manners and mores, while adding that curious twist of lycanthropy. So how does a sincere, sane gentleman cope with "the wrong time of the month?" And how does he hide the fact that his emotions will always spin out of control when the moon comes full? It's rather a nice way to turn our feminine trials on their head, and Lydia Dare does it delightfully.

    The characters are fascinating and believable. The inevitable miscommunications of a romantic tale are kept under careful, and very appropriate, Regency control. And the scenes of love and seduction are nicely done with humorous conversation, pleasant timing, and plausible charm. A Certain Wolfish Charm has all the allure and bite of its title, and I'll be happily looking out for sequels in the stores.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    The best of the trilogy

    This first book was the best of the trilogy. A fun getaway read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    pretty good series

    Bought one then ended up buying the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Historical+Fantasy=Fun!

    A Certain Wolfish Charm is the first in a triology of books based on a family of werewolves in Regency England. It was a fun read, even though there were more than a few times I wanted to bop the male lead over the head with something heavy. Very heavy. Since he's a werewolf and therefore would heal almost instantly...honestly, there is much to be said for open communication in a relationship. Though I suppose it wasn't as prevalent in the nineteenth century as it is today. His obstinacy aside, though, I did enjoy it quite a bit and look forward to reading about his two brothers--who hopefully won't take as long to get a clue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet read!

    I picked this up as a free Nookbook and now have the other three in the series on my Wish List because of it!

    "A Certain Wolfish Charm" pulls you into a time where men were men and women were women - and werewolves were myth or worse, something to be hunted down. The author portrays the era with a wonderful flair, putting you right there in the dark forest with the big bad wolf and at the fancy balls with the well-dressed high society women gossiping about each other.

    A sweet and lovely read - looking forward to picking up the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charmed by the Wolfish Charm of this book.

    I happened to see the cover for this and was interested. (I like the art as well as the stories)I am glad I bought it. Lydia Dare spins a good tale. She made the historical part of the romance believable. The whole story is well told and I loved the ending. Made me want to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Lily's sister was married to Simon's brother and when their lives ended, their son Oliver was left in their care. Lily has been raising Oliver as if he is her own son but when he undergoes some drastic behavior changes, she write to Simon because she thinks what Oliver is going through is because he is male. Lily has no idea what to do. After many unanswered letters, she decides to drop in on the Simon and force him to speak to her. None of them could have imagined how much they would come to rely on one another.

    I can never get enough paranormal romance. I enjoyed this book but there were a few times I had to put it down because I just couldn't get myself into it. That could have just been my mood though. If you're a romance fan, you will most likely enjoy reading A Certain Wolfish Charm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Victorian Paranormal Romance

    Lily Rutledge has a problem. Her 12 year old ward, Oliver is changing faster than she can keep up with. Not only is he growing rapidly in size but his temperament has changed drastically. She needs help! After trying unsuccessfully to make contact with Oliver's guardian, Simon Westfield, Duke of Blackmoor, Lily takes the bold step of going to see the Duke herself to demand that he pay attention to his ward.

    Simon, Duke of Blackmoor, isn't your typical Duke. He and his two brothers, William and Ben are werewolves. After learning of Oliver's changes, Simon decides it is time that he takes Oliver under his wing and teach him the proper way of a Lycan.

    Lily has no intention of giving up Oliver so if Simon wants Oliver, he can just deal with her too!

    Watching the sparks fly and the attraction grow between Simon and Lily in this delicious Victorian paranormal was a real treat. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end and I can't recommend it highly enough!

    I've had the pleasure of reading the next two books in the series, Tall, Dark & Wolfish and The Wolf Next Door, and I can assure you that you will definitely want to order all three books! They are not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8