Customer Reviews for

A Certain Wolfish Charm

Average Rating 4
( 431 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy

In 1816 Lily Rutledge worries about the radical change in behavior of her twelve year old ward Lord Oliver Westfield. She has sent letters to the lad's guardian Duke Simon Westfield demanding he get involved in his nephew's life, but she doubts the wastrel reads her mis...
In 1816 Lily Rutledge worries about the radical change in behavior of her twelve year old ward Lord Oliver Westfield. She has sent letters to the lad's guardian Duke Simon Westfield demanding he get involved in his nephew's life, but she doubts the wastrel reads her missives as he only sends her money and besides he is too busy chasing skirts.

Lily decides the time for confrontation with the womanizing duke has passed. She goes to his home Blackmoor, but is stunned when Simon, realizing what is happening to his nephew, orders her to leave while he takes Oliver into his home. Simon plans to mentor Oliver on what it means to be a Westfield as puberty is bringing out the werewolf gene. Lily refuses to leave because she loves Oliver who calls Her "Aunt Lily" while she thinks of him as her son; nor will she abandon Oliver to a beast who failed to recognize him as blood. However, as Simon and Lily fight their attraction to one another, they fall in love, but he conceals his wolfish tendencies while she becomes more concerned over the physical and emotional changes to Oliver.

This is an entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy starring two seemingly cross-starred lead characters who share in common the belief that Oliver comes before their needs. The story line is emotional intense at times but only when Oliver struggles to cope with his hormonal changes especially the monthly need that seems like a werewolf's PMS. Fans will enjoy this fine historical romance as the author daringly combines the paranormal within an amiable story line.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I thought this might be a good book. I love the fantasy vampire books. This was so boring. I do not recommend it.

posted by Alexandria34 on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy

    In 1816 Lily Rutledge worries about the radical change in behavior of her twelve year old ward Lord Oliver Westfield. She has sent letters to the lad's guardian Duke Simon Westfield demanding he get involved in his nephew's life, but she doubts the wastrel reads her missives as he only sends her money and besides he is too busy chasing skirts.

    Lily decides the time for confrontation with the womanizing duke has passed. She goes to his home Blackmoor, but is stunned when Simon, realizing what is happening to his nephew, orders her to leave while he takes Oliver into his home. Simon plans to mentor Oliver on what it means to be a Westfield as puberty is bringing out the werewolf gene. Lily refuses to leave because she loves Oliver who calls Her "Aunt Lily" while she thinks of him as her son; nor will she abandon Oliver to a beast who failed to recognize him as blood. However, as Simon and Lily fight their attraction to one another, they fall in love, but he conceals his wolfish tendencies while she becomes more concerned over the physical and emotional changes to Oliver.

    This is an entertaining werewolf Regency romantic cozy starring two seemingly cross-starred lead characters who share in common the belief that Oliver comes before their needs. The story line is emotional intense at times but only when Oliver struggles to cope with his hormonal changes especially the monthly need that seems like a werewolf's PMS. Fans will enjoy this fine historical romance as the author daringly combines the paranormal within an amiable story line.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    Addictive Regency Paranormal Romance

    What I liked about A Certain Wolfish Charm was the beastly Simon Westfield. No offense to Lily - I always like the men more. Like most of regency heroes, he's arrogant in his dealing with others. Not simply because of his title, as is the case in many historical romances, but because he really couldn't help it. His desires and attempts to hide his wolfish lifestyle from Lily were endearing and often so funny I laughed aloud.

    I really enjoyed Simon's banter with his younger brother, Will, as he fought his instincts to take Lily as his Lycan mate. The combination of regency and paranormal was so smooth and the intimate moments beautifully done. This is one of the best romances I've read in the past year and I'm anxiously awaiting the release of "Tall Dark and Wolfish' & "The Wolf Next Door". While I'm waiting I think I might just curl up with A Certain Wolfish Charm and read it again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    the wolf series

    great great great love it love it love it please make more, kim benitez,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    What a great novel!

    I really enjoyed reading this book by Lydia Dare!!! I can't wait for the next books in the series to be released!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tantalizing Romantic Adventure

    A brief description of this book's main female character caught my attention. She was only 24, but considered herself "on the shelf," was devoted to raising her dead sister's adolescent son, and seem to have spunk. I had to know more.

    Lily Rutledge needed help with her 12-year-old nephew and who better to turn to than the boy's guardian even though he hadn't shown any interest in the lad in six years. She was still mystified why her brother-in-law had chosen his cousin as guardian. He wouldn't even answer her letters.

    Little did Lily know that a simple, quick trip to see the Duke of Blackmoor at Westfield Hall would turn her life and the world as she knew it upside down.

    Thus begins the tantalizing adventure of "A Certain Wolfish Charm" by debut romance author Lydia Dare.

    Simon Westfield, the Duke of Blackmoor, has a scandalous reputation. He is rich, powerful, charming, and devilishly sexy. He keeps the gossip busy with his latest indulgence. He has no time for tedious things like correspondence.

    Lily arrives on Simon's doorstep demanding his help with young Oliver. The once sweet and gentle boy is fast becoming unruly, often given to burst of temper, and growing more rapidly than most youngsters his age. Simon quickly sends Lily away without considering what is troubling the boy. Once he fully realizes the boy's predicament, he races after Lily to return her to his home and send for the boy.

    Lily, glad Simon will finally show Oliver some attention, returns with him. Simon now wants to keep Oliver with him, but Lily will not abandoned her nephew and is determined to stay. Despite his outrageous behavior and scandalous lifestyle, she finds herself drawn to Simon.

    Trying to keep his instincts under control, Simon is instantly pulled to Lily. Her strength and resolve stirs him and he vows to protect her from others and himself at all cost.

    The attraction between the two is felt immediately. The push and pull between them only entices the reader in deeper. Add in Simon's sinfully charming brother, Will, along with the handsome men next door and the pot begins to boil. To top it off, Lily is befriended by Prisca Hawthorne of Langley Downs who loves to stir up trouble for the Westfield men.

    This isn't a murder mystery, even though murder is threaten numerous times and you think on occasion it might happen. The book does have a mysterious element even though it's billed as a historical romance set in Regency England. "A Certain Wolfish Charm" is oh, so much more.

    While the attraction between Simon and Lily heats up, the reader is beguiled as a mystery unfolds surrounding the Westfield men, including Oliver. Lily finds a Lycan family tree and the pieces begin to fall in place.

    You'll be laughing out loud one minute, ready to choke one of the Westfield men the next, all the while loving the relationship that is growing between Simon and Lily. By the time the mystery is revealed, you'll be a believer already fallen under the spell of "A Certain Wolfish Charm."

    Author Lydia Dare captures the feel of 1816 England while stimulating the readers romantic side and arousing curiosity about a mystery tied to the moon. "A Certain Wolfish Charm" is the first in a trilogy with "Tall, Dark and Wolfish" next and "The Wolf Next Door" to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Storm

    She laughed. "Okay. "

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Dakota

    "It's at midsummer nights dream res. 3" he pads there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Tayla

    "I'm just gonna go," she mumbled and ducked out silently padding off into the forest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Loved

    I couldn't put this book down. Just bought the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Of all of this series this is my favorite. It has old fashioned

    Of all of this series this is my favorite. It has old fashioned gothic love story feel plus a paranormal kick. I have read all the stories in this series & looking forward to reading more,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Contains lots of Steamy Secrets

    He gets crankier and crankier as the moon gets full . . . The rules of society can be beastly -- especially when you're a werewolf and it's that irritating time of the month. Simon Westfield, the Duke of Blackmoore, is rich, powerful, and sinfully handsome, and has spent his entire life creating scandal and mayhem. It doesn't help his wolfish temper at all that Miss Lily Rutledge seems not the least bit afraid of him, and in fact, may be as untameable as he is . . .

    A women whose charms are stronger than the moon . . . When Lily Rutledge's beloved nephew's behavior becomes inexplicably wild, she turns to Simon, the boy's cousin and guardian, for help. But Simon's idea of assistance is far different from hers, and Lily finds herself ensconced in his house and engaged to the rouge. They both may have bitten off more than they can chew which each begins to discover the other's darkest secret . . .

    Lily doesn't know where to turn when her nephew, 12-year old Oliver, becomes a different boy in just over one month. His growth is startlingly, his manners are astoundingly rude, and he is no longer the young sweet boy she raised after his parents passing at the age of 5; thus, she seeks aid from Simon - Oliver's legal guardian. Simon, on the other hand, doesn't have a care in the world; he's a notorious rake whose sexy scandals are in the weekly gossip rages and because of that, Lily is able to track him down and force his hand in assisting with Oliver.

    Life for Lily becomes a bit mingled quite quickly though when her reputation becomes ruined by staying alone in the Westfield home without a chaperon and any available men begin to greedily seek out her hand solely for her false dowry. Surprisingly enough, a marriage proposal is placed before her by none other than the Duke himself and there quick marriage causes even more of an uproar for the ton. Yet, Lily knows not all is as it seems within her marriage and some dark family secrets are being kept from her. She desperately wants to discover once and for all the truth behind Simon's (and she even suspects Oliver's) wild mannerisms during the full moon and their shared family birthmark.

    I've been on a historic reading fix lately, but YUM, I forgot how much I enjoyed Book # 3 by Ms. Dare; so I'm happy I got back into the series with Book # 1. I'm notorious for reading series all out of order! Lily was a great female character lead and I liked her immensely. Simon grew on me throughout the book, but I felt he became unrealistically enamored with Lily too early on which did keep the story flowing well throughout. The overall "secret wolf" plot was intriguing and kept me turning the pages late into the night and the romance between the two was just right (steamy, but not over the top!). I cannot wait to start Book # 2 soon and even more excited that this series seems to keep growing and growing. More books to come out soon . . . yayy!

    Likes: Lily was very down to earth and realistic in her actions, which made it easy to become absorbed in her dealings with the Westfield family and young Oliver.

    Dislikes: Oliver's instant infatuation with Lily was hard to fully accept at times, but he was a very dotting and loving husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    Want to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Hooked!

    I am so glad I purchased this book, even if I had doubts. The plot was excellent. Characters were well written. I am definitely hooked on this series. My only regret is I didnt get the bundle pack, but it will be worth the extra money if all the books are this good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Period romance with a, you guessed it, wolfish twist

    This was a very entertaining read, lots going on. Well worth the download and the time to read for romance readers. Oh, and I wanted to smack Simon upside the head too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Lydia Dare, THE BEST OUT THERE!!

    I absolutely loved all of Lydia Dares Wolf books, I can't wait to read more of her wolfish books. They are great and I was suprised to see Lydia's A Certain Wolfish Charm on the list of free ebooks. It was a pleasure to read and I will continue to read many many more of her stories in the present and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Flipper

    This is a great werewolf romance book! Its what I call a heart flipper! When you are reading and you hear flipps! Its exsiting and you get to be in just about everyones view so thats cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i highly recommend this book

    a certain wolfish charm is one of the best books i read.. it as so much love and pain in it that is hard not to cry at some points in the story.. it also as alot of moments when all u can do is laugh specially when the parts when simon and will are involed.. the romance in this book is so good that u actually might picture it.. from the first page to the last you will not want to put it down and when its done u want to no more... i cant wait 4 tall,dark and wolfish and the wolf next door to come out... the story can only get better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    A Certain Wolfish Charm

    It was a book that got my attention and held it. The book was hard to put down. I can't wait to go to the next book in the series. I don't read alot of regency book this made it an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    OMG!!

    This is the first book I read from Lydia Dare...I really liked Simon's character and need to know where I could find one of him!! I also like Will alot and can't wait to read about him. I'm about to read about Ben and I know it's gonna be just as good. Lydia, girlfriend, you just gained another fan and look forward to more books from you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Paranormal Regency!

    Wow! I got an ARC of this book and I heart it. Ms. Dare combined two of my most favorite genres - Regency Romance and Paranormal Romance - all into one.

    Lily Rutledge has been raising her orphaned nephew and is concerned when he starts experiences changes she does not think is normal. So she tracks down his guardian, Simon Westfield, the duke of Blackmoor, for help. What she does not know is her nephew is a werewolf, and so is the duke.

    The duke does his best to push Lily away because he is afraid she is in danger with so many werewolves in her path, but at the same time, he cannot help but clutch her to him as well. There is something about Lily that calls to the beast in his soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10