Customer Reviews for

Cesar's Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love o...
I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

posted by booTX on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What Advice???

I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. ...
I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. I was told to learn Meditation so that I could project to my Dogs, since they don't understand Language. Oh No...I WILL NOT go there!!! My Dogs are ALL Well behaved. I was reviewing his book for those on my Website who had asked about my views on him. I do not watch TV and this was my first experience of him. His Book went out with the Garbage. I am NOT a Dog Trainer nor an Expert. I have had Dogs my entire life, and grew up with a family who 'rescued' Dogs and rehab'ed them long before Rescue was the word used. Maybe Ceasar DOES have a great Program, some of my friends in the Rescue that I belong to just Love Him...but this Book sure didn't show it to Me.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

    I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    What Advice???

    I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. I was told to learn Meditation so that I could project to my Dogs, since they don't understand Language. Oh No...I WILL NOT go there!!! My Dogs are ALL Well behaved. I was reviewing his book for those on my Website who had asked about my views on him. I do not watch TV and this was my first experience of him. His Book went out with the Garbage. I am NOT a Dog Trainer nor an Expert. I have had Dogs my entire life, and grew up with a family who 'rescued' Dogs and rehab'ed them long before Rescue was the word used. Maybe Ceasar DOES have a great Program, some of my friends in the Rescue that I belong to just Love Him...but this Book sure didn't show it to Me.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    What does Milan know about modifying dog behavior?

    Milan uses interesting terminology to describe what he does. Some of his methods are at best old-fashioned and at worst brutal. I am surprised that owners are buying into this approach. Why doesn't he show us how to modify dog behavior without force? This is what the modern, scientifically based dog behavior consultants are doing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Well worth every penny !

    An amazing book capable of helping any level dog owner, provide a better life for their dog, and themselves. If you love your dog then you should buy this book ! This book should be given out to every new dog owner whether from a pet store or an adoption shelter. It should be just as important as your dogs rabies shot!! Also this book should be sold in the self help section , because 90% of the time our pets problems stem from our mistakes, lack of knowledge and responsibility. Definite Great Buy !!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    He is awful!

    Ceasers ways pf training are cruel the aspca hastold him not to use his methods i would do 0 stars but it wont let me

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    Not reccomended and VERY outdated - No Rating unless zero counts but since a rating is required I give it 1 star

    his tecniques were useful 50 years ago because there was nothing else out there at the time.....2010 he is still using old, out dated tecniques and has not progressed. Positive Reinforcement folks are waiting for him to to cross over and join the modern world of dog training and behavior. Science backs up positive rinforcement, there is no science based research to backup his menthod otherthan than the the fact they are inhumamne, and dangerous to anyone that attempts to use his methods...notice the flags on his tv show "caustion do not try these methds at home?" I called his facility to let his staff know I would love to visit his institute whie visiting my family, I was told outside visitors are not allowed on the premises. Big red flags went up in my head. I've read all his books and its the same old techniques from the old days of military style training with a slight twist - "Cesar's Way." His opinions of the first dog and our President allowing the dog to pull is his way of indirectly critizing the President's choice of positive reinforcment training, and the trainer who was chosen by the First Family to work with their family dog. Statements like this which in my opinion are unprofessional, and very unethical - Cesar lacks integrity among many other things -

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you Cesar!

    I got this book last summer after adopting a new puppy. He was a bit of a handful in the beginning, but just making a few adjustments made the world of difference! Now my dog walks well on the leash and seems to have gotten over his separation anxiety. Cesar's tips really helped me! Of course every dog is different, but Cesar gave me the basics and I went from there. I recommend this as a great guideline for any dog owner!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Interesting But Disappointed

    I found the book read like a novel making it difficult to latch onto techniques promoted by the author. It appeared the book was more about the author's life than trying to help someone learn more about living with dogs. I did not find it useful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Horrible Book

    This book is more about how to screw up your relationship with your pet than how to help or love your pet. The book also mainly show cases the author's important, special celebrity cliets who obviously don't care about their dogs (AKA Jada and Will Smith) if they allow this nutcase to abuse and harm their dogs into fearful submission. I cannot believe people are actually following this guy and giving the book 4-5 stars!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Interesting but no specifics

    I was hoping for actual guidlines for training your dog, which I never read. To Cesar's credit the book was very interesting. Maybe the next book could be more to the point. Step by step procedures seem to be what most people are looking for.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    From the show to the book

    After I read the book I decided to read the reviews that were posted. I am astounded that someone claims that Cesar's ways are somewhat inhumane. That taking his dogs for runs in the morning before feeding is inhumane. Do this person not excersize? Also this book isn't about 'dog training' it is about dog psychology. Anyone that knows cesar's show should know that so you shouldn't expect anything different from his book This is a great book and teaches you to really think about the way a dog thinks and why they bahave the way they do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    0 stars. No methods, No instructions given

    Very disappointed. A lot of hype on this book but no instruction, no how-to's. There's a lot of 'I fixed Oprah's problems' but didn't say how.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    What do the experts think?

    A quote from Dr. Nicolas Dodman, director of the Animal Behavior Clinic at Tufts University's Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine: 'My College thinks it is a travesty. We've written to National Geographic Channel and told them they have put dog training back 20 years.' That pretty much says it all. Cesar's methods are outdated and unnecessary.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great Beginning Book about what every dog owner should know.

    In Cesar's Way, He talks about his life and how during his whole life he has been around dogs. What you can get out of this book depends on your willingness to experiment on your own terms. If your looking for a book that tells you step by step how to solve each of your dogs bad behavior, look else where, this is just not that type of book. He gets his teachings from mother nature. Overall, great read for any dog owner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    He IS the Dog Whisperer!!

    I am completely sold on Cesar Millan! I don't know how he did it, but he figured out what makes dogs tick. He explains and demonstrates his techniques so clearly that anyone can learn. I love him, I love his show, and I love this book. I'm in the process of reading another of his books, so I'll let you know what I think about it later.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Read this book before condeming Cesar's techniques.

    Cesar saves dogs lives with his humane training techniques. He uses techniques that dogs understand. He does not use the standard treat based techniques many people learn in obedience classes. His techniques work. Anyone who uses the same techniques in an angry or harsh manner could harm a dog. But the harm would be caused by an individual who does not comprehend Ceasar's empahsis on training while in a calm state of mind. Read this book before condeming the techniques.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Separating the good techniques from the inhumane

    By being so candide in his book Mr. Milan has opened himself up to a charge of reproachable conduct both past and present in his treatment of his dogs. Dogs are domesticated animals and no matter what country you live in, to not feed your dogs but make them forage for food especially a lactating dog is illegal in the US and immoral wherever you live. I can't imagine anyone thinking it's beneficial to take a dog out and run it for 8 hours a day, regardless of it's breed. Yes, I did read the book and he states quite clearly that he takes the dogs to run and exercise starting at 6:30 am and does not returning home until over 8 hours later. I watched his show every chance I could, and while I think he has some good instincts he now sickens me. If he ever writes another book he should definitely get a new editor.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    I AGREE - THERE ARE NO SPECIFICS

    I have to agree with the person who wrote the April 26, 2006 review, to the letter. The book is interesting in and of iteself - however there are no specifics on 'how to' correct a dog when they misbehave. There are no specifics outlined - he just states to 'correct' the problem. How? That's why we bought the book - to learn exactly how. Why on earth would we purchase the book and take the time to read it if we weren't interested in training! Literally - there arre no directions on how to correct our misbehaving dogs. We'd all love to have the time to walk our dogs for 3 hours a day - but let's be honest........who has the time? I'm almost fearful that our dog won't adjust properly because she won't get the hours and hours of walking needed to be calm-submissive. Albeit, many dog owners do not take adequate time exercising their dogs - but in Cesar's way, it's either hours of walking or don't get a dog. To me, that's extremely negative and unrealistic. The work that he does rehabilitating animals is sensational - and we commend him on that. I also agree with the above reviewer in that all we have to do is project the calm-assertive energy and the dog will change their behavior? I don't think so. In some people, it's just not possible why? We don't know how!! Tell us Cesar!! The book should have outlined more specifics on step by step instructions for us novices. We love your program - we love you, Cesar. But the book wasn't as helpful or as encouraging as I had hoped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Cool Book

    Cool Book Cesar Millan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    So cool :D

    It is sweet. My aunt let me read it and my dog loves me even more. I highly recomend this book :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9