Customer Reviews for

Cesar's Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love o...
I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

posted by booTX on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What Advice???

I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. ...
I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. I was told to learn Meditation so that I could project to my Dogs, since they don't understand Language. Oh No...I WILL NOT go there!!! My Dogs are ALL Well behaved. I was reviewing his book for those on my Website who had asked about my views on him. I do not watch TV and this was my first experience of him. His Book went out with the Garbage. I am NOT a Dog Trainer nor an Expert. I have had Dogs my entire life, and grew up with a family who 'rescued' Dogs and rehab'ed them long before Rescue was the word used. Maybe Ceasar DOES have a great Program, some of my friends in the Rescue that I belong to just Love Him...but this Book sure didn't show it to Me.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Interesting But Disappointed

    I found the book read like a novel making it difficult to latch onto techniques promoted by the author. It appeared the book was more about the author's life than trying to help someone learn more about living with dogs. I did not find it useful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Interesting but no specifics

    I was hoping for actual guidlines for training your dog, which I never read. To Cesar's credit the book was very interesting. Maybe the next book could be more to the point. Step by step procedures seem to be what most people are looking for.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Separating the good techniques from the inhumane

    By being so candide in his book Mr. Milan has opened himself up to a charge of reproachable conduct both past and present in his treatment of his dogs. Dogs are domesticated animals and no matter what country you live in, to not feed your dogs but make them forage for food especially a lactating dog is illegal in the US and immoral wherever you live. I can't imagine anyone thinking it's beneficial to take a dog out and run it for 8 hours a day, regardless of it's breed. Yes, I did read the book and he states quite clearly that he takes the dogs to run and exercise starting at 6:30 am and does not returning home until over 8 hours later. I watched his show every chance I could, and while I think he has some good instincts he now sickens me. If he ever writes another book he should definitely get a new editor.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    I AGREE - THERE ARE NO SPECIFICS

    I have to agree with the person who wrote the April 26, 2006 review, to the letter. The book is interesting in and of iteself - however there are no specifics on 'how to' correct a dog when they misbehave. There are no specifics outlined - he just states to 'correct' the problem. How? That's why we bought the book - to learn exactly how. Why on earth would we purchase the book and take the time to read it if we weren't interested in training! Literally - there arre no directions on how to correct our misbehaving dogs. We'd all love to have the time to walk our dogs for 3 hours a day - but let's be honest........who has the time? I'm almost fearful that our dog won't adjust properly because she won't get the hours and hours of walking needed to be calm-submissive. Albeit, many dog owners do not take adequate time exercising their dogs - but in Cesar's way, it's either hours of walking or don't get a dog. To me, that's extremely negative and unrealistic. The work that he does rehabilitating animals is sensational - and we commend him on that. I also agree with the above reviewer in that all we have to do is project the calm-assertive energy and the dog will change their behavior? I don't think so. In some people, it's just not possible why? We don't know how!! Tell us Cesar!! The book should have outlined more specifics on step by step instructions for us novices. We love your program - we love you, Cesar. But the book wasn't as helpful or as encouraging as I had hoped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    NANCY ENGLISH BULLDOG OWNER

    It was nice to read cesar's life story. But i really did not get much from his theories. This is not a reference type book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    There are so many other dog training books out there that do not involve methods he uses. He has a great concept, but this can not be translated to the majority of dog owners. Also, some of what he says completely contradicts leading research in dog training today (ex. research surrounding dominance).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    2 months to read the darn thing and my dog isn't better

    I've never watched the show, but decided to try the book for another option. Cesar admits that the book is not a how-to. Fine, but it was tiring to read about him 'fixing' all these dogs, but never really explain what he did. I've tried several of his techniques without success. I don't believe in what he does, but he seems to have a way with his pack. If only the rest of us had time to walk and run our dogs all day long! Seriously..some real advice would have been helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Entertaining Journey with No Destination

    Did not deliver enough insight or advice. I grew tired of reading that the best solution was to call in an expert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Great person - Weak Book

    Mr. Milan has a passion and a natural instinct about dogs. His book however is slightly ambigious and tries to explain his intuition. Simply put 90% of the book is repetition. It's the same theories over and over again. The meat of the book can be summarized in 10 pages. For example: If your dog barks at other dogs (it is 'unbalanced') hold your chest out and ensure you are the leader of the pack. If you can filter through the repetition there will be some learning however I think this book owes much of it's success to Mr. Milan's powerful clients.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Disappointing

    I had never heard of 'The Dog Whisperer' until Cesar Millan made an appearance on Martha Stewart's show to promote this book. I was intrigued by his approach to rehabilitating an overactive dog by 'giving it a job' during its daily walks. He strapped a backpack on the dog, and it was magically more cooperative. I thought, 'Hmm. Maybe there's something to this guy.' Maybe there is, but you won't learn any of it from this book. At least one-third of the book is Cesar's biography. It explains in complete detail his life on his grandfather's farm, his miserable move to a big city in Mexico, how he illegally crossed into the United States and became a dog groomer, et cetera, et cetera, blah blah blah. Are you bored reading this paragraph? Try reading it spread out over about 100 pages. Finally, the book gets to his actual method... sort of. Cesar shares anecdotes about some of his favorite problem dogs and tells us that he easily gained control over the animal. All he had to do was project his 'calm-assertive energy' and the dog was putty in his hands. Yeah, right. He actually wants us to believe that all he had to do was project his energy at an aggressive, snarling, growling pit bull and everything was great? Sorry, but for mere mortals, that kind of method is not possible, and could very easily become dangerous. My biggest problem with the book is that it goes into excruciating detail in places where the reader really doesn't care, and just glosses over the points that are most important. When he finally does tell the reader what to do with the dog, he never says how to do it. Yes, I realize he is not a dog trainer, but neither are most people. That's why we buy the book - to use it as a 'Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems.' Cesar says to prevent your dog from doing this, or correct him when he does that, but he NEVER SAYS HOW. These are the details that matter most! I don't care about how great the salty sea air smells when he is out on off-leash walks with his dogs on the beach. (No, I'm not exaggerating. There really are several long, drawn-out descriptions of the joyous time he spends walking the dogs.) Overall, I am highly disappointed, and will most likely seek a refund. These days, everyone with a TV show apparently has to have a book, but if you're looking for a book that will actually tell you how to solve your dog's problems, I recommend that you not waste your money on this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1