Customer Reviews for

Cesar's Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love o...
I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

posted by booTX on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What Advice???

I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. ...
I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. I was told to learn Meditation so that I could project to my Dogs, since they don't understand Language. Oh No...I WILL NOT go there!!! My Dogs are ALL Well behaved. I was reviewing his book for those on my Website who had asked about my views on him. I do not watch TV and this was my first experience of him. His Book went out with the Garbage. I am NOT a Dog Trainer nor an Expert. I have had Dogs my entire life, and grew up with a family who 'rescued' Dogs and rehab'ed them long before Rescue was the word used. Maybe Ceasar DOES have a great Program, some of my friends in the Rescue that I belong to just Love Him...but this Book sure didn't show it to Me.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

    I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great Beginning Book about what every dog owner should know.

    In Cesar's Way, He talks about his life and how during his whole life he has been around dogs. What you can get out of this book depends on your willingness to experiment on your own terms. If your looking for a book that tells you step by step how to solve each of your dogs bad behavior, look else where, this is just not that type of book. He gets his teachings from mother nature. Overall, great read for any dog owner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    dog whisperer is great

    Easy to read info on how dogs tick. Helps alot to understand them, but could have used some more how-to details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting auto biography mixed with some animal advice

    I would suggest this for anyone that owns, or wants to someday own a dog. It's Cesar's autobiography, but also a book about dog psychology. It explains why our dogs do the things they do...because we allow them to...and unknowingly encourage it.
    I must say, I probably won't take all of the advice with my pack of dogs, but I'll definitely take some of the advice to heart, and next time I bring a dog home, I'm going to definitely handle things differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Great study in human behavior (and canines, too)

    What strikes me most about Cesar Milan is his way of immediately seeing unnatural behavior in both humans and dogs. When off-balanced people ("unstable pack leaders") interact with dogs, the dogs often suffer and exhibit problem behavior. Milan and Peltier show examples through stories. You'll learn about dogs and why they behave the way they do, but more importantly, you'll learn about yourself and how your behavior influences those around you. Cesar's advice made me realize where I went wrong with my previous dogs and showed me how to be a better, more-stable pack leader and my current dog is so much more of a joy for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    A good book, with a few main points to make, and some technical info too.

    This book gives more sight into the psychology of a dog. It can also get you off on the right foot with a new dog, or can be used with your current one. This book will help you keep your dog or dogs at a good mental state(for a dog). It builds then reinforces a few main points such as: walking is something that needs to be done at least twice a day, you need to have rules for your dog and reinforce them, and praise comes last out of these all. Those main points are said by Ceasar to be the key to a dog living a healthy life and keeping them from thinking they are in control, or being the 'pack leader'. After a few chapters into the book, you can see that he is reinforcing a lot of the same things previously mentioned in addition to controlling your dog and being the pack leader. It can get a little repetitive, but it is said in different ways so it is not too obvious. The last half of the book is very nice. Ceasar starts to get into other things such as dog backpacks, treadmills, moving for dogs, and some other neat things. Just so you know it is mentioned a few times in the book, and I could image, some people mite disagree with some ideas or thoughts in this book, but still, you will come away from it with some very good knowledge on how a dog's mind works. I recommend this book, to not only dog owners but to people who are around dogs at parks, friends houses, and other social areas. -David

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Everyone who own's a dog should have a copy!

    All I can say is that I absolutley loved this book! Anyone who ownes a dog should have a copy of this book! Cezar talks about all types of behavioral issues that dogs exhibit and what to do about breaking their bad habbits. He also goes into what goes on in their minds- as far as body language and energy go. It's an awesome book that's helped me, believe me- it's one of the best buys you can make!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Humans & Animals. Let us not forget humans invented the wheel, animals invented....? Exactly. Do not Disney humanize your pets. If you wish to, then take up philosophy & implement what you learn from it unto your pets. Confused? People, humans, us- dominate the world. Animals are just animals, life is not a Disney movie. Here's the proof: throw yourself into a pool, the ocean, a lake, a river, anything similar & then call your dog to help you out. Rin-tin-tin & Lassie were created by a producer, a writer, & a director. Your working dog doesn't go out to make a living & provide you with a roof, you do - 40 hours a week. Love mans' best friend for what he is, a companion. But don't forget who is at the top of the food chain. The day your dog learms to open a can of food, then treat him as an equal. This book was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    to achieve a zen relationship with your dog

    There are many goals to this book: biography, statement of personal mission to save red-zone dogs, consolidation of 2006 show episodes, to give you the essential basics in communicating with your dog, and a mild chastisement of American pet owners that by 'spoiling' their dogs remove the natural heirarchy that their pet requires to lead a calm-submissive and happy life. After reading this book I finally got the full meaning of my responsibilities as a pet owner and the rules required to to be the pack leader. By exercising VERY SIMPLE actions, I have zen walks, at a perfect 'heel', with my rescued boxer and border collie. They 'stay' on command for minutes without training or much effort from me. Together my dogs and I have tapped the astounding natural etiquette that intrinsically belong to dogs but lay hidden from the average American pet owner. Before you read books that teach you how to command actions from your dog, this book teaches you how to create a learning environment, polite behavior, and a method of communication that acts as the foundation to teach anything else you might want from your dog. After the essentials, all action-training is only icing on the cake. Although I will attest to miraculous results, the only complaint I have against this book is that there isn't enough of it. Subsequent problems I have encountered with troubling behaviors seem to be discussed in Cesar's second book but I haven't seen it on the shelf yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    This is NOT a dog training book

    I have read many reviews on this book and realized that most people purchased the book with a great misunderstanding on what it is all about. This is a book about getting in-tune with your dog and using body language to establish your role as a leader. It does not teach you techniques to train your dog or new puppy. If you're looking for quick fixes, this is not the book for you. Cesar's mantra about dog ownership consists of three key elements: exercise, discipline and affection (in that order). Without these key elements, you cannot begin to establish your role as a leader in your household and your dog will continue to dominate you. He goes on to explain that discipline does not mean hitting the dog or yelling at it, but rather to establish rules, boundaries and limitations. After your dog has reached a calm and submissive state, you may then lavish affection on it because affection, as any good dog owner knows, promotes and reinforces whatever behavior the dog is engaging in. I highly recommend this book for someone who is struggling to gain leadership in their doggy household. You will learn much about dog psychology in this book and how to start your role as a true 'pack leader'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Another book in the future???

    After reading some of the other reviews here I realized I wasn't the only one disappointed that Cesar's book didn't detail the actual methods used to correct some of the problems these dogs were having. I just don't think if you have a dog tugging ahead of you on the leash just saying shhh! will get across to the dog that is undesirable behavior. I can understand the mindset of his technique but we still need to know how to correct the undesirable behaviors. Even on his TV show it doesn't demonstrate what technique he uses to correct aggression, etc. I think, just maybe, that information will be in his next book. 'Cesar's Way' to be continued. . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2