Customer Reviews for

Cesar's Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Interesting to read but not totally practical for all dog owners.

I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love o...
I found this book so entertaining. Ceasar weaves his personal story into the information in the book so that you understand his background of knowledge. It was fun to read but I did not totally buy into his phiolosophy. I want to roll on the floor with my dog and love on her for no good reason becasue it pleases me and her. I cannot walk my dog for 30-60 minutes twice a day as I live in a very hot climate and it would wreak havoc on us both. I will NOT buy a treadmill for my dog. I did enjoy reading this book but I will not likely utilize the information in the book.

posted by booTX on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What Advice???

I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. ...
I am trying to figure out Where all of this Wonderful Advice Was Hidden. I learned about Ceasars 'Humble Beginnings', his views on Illegal Immigration, his disdain for Bill O'Reilly and adoration for Oprah Winfrey. I still didn't learn a Thing about training a Dog. I was told to learn Meditation so that I could project to my Dogs, since they don't understand Language. Oh No...I WILL NOT go there!!! My Dogs are ALL Well behaved. I was reviewing his book for those on my Website who had asked about my views on him. I do not watch TV and this was my first experience of him. His Book went out with the Garbage. I am NOT a Dog Trainer nor an Expert. I have had Dogs my entire life, and grew up with a family who 'rescued' Dogs and rehab'ed them long before Rescue was the word used. Maybe Ceasar DOES have a great Program, some of my friends in the Rescue that I belong to just Love Him...but this Book sure didn't show it to Me.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Well worth every penny !

    An amazing book capable of helping any level dog owner, provide a better life for their dog, and themselves. If you love your dog then you should buy this book ! This book should be given out to every new dog owner whether from a pet store or an adoption shelter. It should be just as important as your dogs rabies shot!! Also this book should be sold in the self help section , because 90% of the time our pets problems stem from our mistakes, lack of knowledge and responsibility. Definite Great Buy !!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you Cesar!

    I got this book last summer after adopting a new puppy. He was a bit of a handful in the beginning, but just making a few adjustments made the world of difference! Now my dog walks well on the leash and seems to have gotten over his separation anxiety. Cesar's tips really helped me! Of course every dog is different, but Cesar gave me the basics and I went from there. I recommend this as a great guideline for any dog owner!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    He IS the Dog Whisperer!!

    I am completely sold on Cesar Millan! I don't know how he did it, but he figured out what makes dogs tick. He explains and demonstrates his techniques so clearly that anyone can learn. I love him, I love his show, and I love this book. I'm in the process of reading another of his books, so I'll let you know what I think about it later.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Read this book before condeming Cesar's techniques.

    Cesar saves dogs lives with his humane training techniques. He uses techniques that dogs understand. He does not use the standard treat based techniques many people learn in obedience classes. His techniques work. Anyone who uses the same techniques in an angry or harsh manner could harm a dog. But the harm would be caused by an individual who does not comprehend Ceasar's empahsis on training while in a calm state of mind. Read this book before condeming the techniques.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    From the show to the book

    After I read the book I decided to read the reviews that were posted. I am astounded that someone claims that Cesar's ways are somewhat inhumane. That taking his dogs for runs in the morning before feeding is inhumane. Do this person not excersize? Also this book isn't about 'dog training' it is about dog psychology. Anyone that knows cesar's show should know that so you shouldn't expect anything different from his book This is a great book and teaches you to really think about the way a dog thinks and why they bahave the way they do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Cool Book

    Cool Book Cesar Millan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    So cool :D

    It is sweet. My aunt let me read it and my dog loves me even more. I highly recomend this book :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    I have dealt with aggressive dogs since I was only 16 years old

    I have dealt with aggressive dogs since I was only 16 years old and now I'm 32. I had always wondered why my techniques work so well. After reading thing book he helped understand why. I just let my dog be a dog. This book really opens your mind to a whole new aspect on training them. It also gives you a whole new outlook in other aspects of your life too. This book is really amazing on the outlook of training dogs and letting you live in a wild, wild world of dogs in their sense of the world. In america we never really understand life in this manner of relationships with our dog. Just read it you will love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Great trainer! Inspirational success story.

    I recently adopted a puppy mill rescue. Though sweet, she had never been a pet before. This book made the transition from caged breeder to pet easier on both our rescue and on the family. I heartily recommend this book. Having watched Cesar on TV, reading the incorporated biography, made the overall experience doubly enjoyable. What a success story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A must for dog owners!

    Cesar describes his method of "not-dog-training" and how to use it to help better understand your own dog. Those familiar with his TV show know that it is described as "Exercise - Discipline - Affection". Cesar goes into detail of explaining why, methodology, and actions to take. From the book, you can easily begin changing the behavior of your dog by simply going out the door first -- pack leaders lead!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    An excelent introduction on how to change your way of looking at your dog

    Although I watch the TV show, this book has much more and deep information about dog psycology, and it helped me to interact with my dogs in a very different way to what I (and 99% of dog owners I would say!) was used to. Walking my dog has a new and exciting meaning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love him !

    I love this man. No, really. This book helps with understanding where he came from, but also where dogs come from.

    So I read this and all of his other books before getting my GSD, and WOW all that preparation beforehand has really helped to make sure my dog never becomes fear aggressive. Really, best idea ever. And Cesar.. he's just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    loved the book - very informative and easy to read

    great book if you already have a dog or are thinking of getting one - lots of helpful and insightful ideas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    If you are considering a dog. . .

    I bought Cesar's books when I was thinking about adding a dog to my household. I have decided against it for the time being, but kept reading the books, because they are so good. This is a must read for anyone choosing a pet because it tells you how to choose, how to introduce the dog to your household, and how to provide good structure from the start so the dog will be happy (and so will you.) The funny thing is, a lot of Cesar's insights (how to be calm and assertive, etc.) apply to working with people as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Cesar is the BEST!

    Every dog owner should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    A must read for four legged companion.

    I have 2 7 year old female pugs. We just added a male pug puppy to our brood. The differencs are night and day thanks to Ceasar Milan's book. I especially enjoyed his journey to get to the place where he is today. I followed all of his advice regarding our new puppy, Buddy. Excercise, discipline, affection. It really works. People approached me at the vet and asked how I managed to get a 4 month old puppy so well behaved. I said,"Ceasar Milan." I highy recommend this book for a new pet member. It is not your traditionl training manual, it is better than that. I am now reading his next book. enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Works!

    We sent this book to a cousin who was having a terrible time with his very energetic, out of control Sheltie. He reports that he has purchased Caesar's type of lead and that their walks are going much better. He has learned a lot from this book and is getting results. Caesar is our hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good for anyone who owns a dog

    great book for anyone who owns a dog with behavior issues or who is thinking of getting a dog and wants to avoid behavior problems...highly recommend all of Cesars books and videos...he knows what he's talking about!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Cesar's Way Helped Us With Our Rescued Dog

    We rescued an American Bulldog/Pit Bull mix from an animal shelter last May. While he can be very sweet and affectionate, he has many issues with anxiety/aggression. We are experienced dog owners and yet we found ouselves faced with some uncharted territory with this adoption. Reading this book helped us better understand some of the why's of our dogs behavior. We learned to be better owners (pack leaders). Combine this book with his show and you've got great tools for creating a better life with your dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Cesar's Way By Cesar Milan

    This is without a doubt the best book I have ever read. It is so imformative for any pet owner. You would definately benefit from this book, even if you have had pets your entire life. This book taught me so much I can't believe I didn't buy it sooner. I got hooked on Cesar by watching his show the Dog Whisperer. I own a 5year old BBoston Terrier and I have had pets my entire life. This book has taught me so much, even things that I thought I knew...you find out your doing wrong. Best purchase I have ever made. I now intend to buy the rest of cesar's books. you would benefit also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4