Customer Reviews for

Chainfire (Sword of Truth Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Consistent

Having read the series from first book through the ninth book within the past 2 months, I found Goodkind's presentation in Chainfire extremely consistent within the context of the series and, as importantly, within the scope of the Wizard's Rules. Since each book revea...
Having read the series from first book through the ninth book within the past 2 months, I found Goodkind's presentation in Chainfire extremely consistent within the context of the series and, as importantly, within the scope of the Wizard's Rules. Since each book reveals the next Rule, Goodkind has, in a wizard-like way, actually written the content of each book with the Rule in mind in regards to content and structure (e.g., Chainfire involves seeming contradictions when there can be no contradiction according to Rule 9). The brilliance of Goodkind will by-pass readers caught simply reading a good work.

posted by gr8skeptic1 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Chainfire killed it for me

Started reading the sword of truth series shortly after it came out and really enjoyed the series as a whole until faith of the fallen. Naked empire and now the trilogy following it seem to lack the coherience of his ealier works. Not to mention I find myself waiting ...
Started reading the sword of truth series shortly after it came out and really enjoyed the series as a whole until faith of the fallen. Naked empire and now the trilogy following it seem to lack the coherience of his ealier works. Not to mention I find myself waiting for the predictable plot turns and seemingly regergitated devices. If you are a big fan and must know how it goes I recomend just catching up on a wiki until this author renews his passion in the field.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    Yes, I know it does finally end with 'Confessor', but I have to say, if Chainfire were the last book in the series, I wouldn't care. I have read the entire series from the beginning twice through about book 7 where things started going downhill. As to 'Chainfire', probably the most boring book in the series. I honestly found myself not caring one bit about what happens to Richard and Kahlan. Like a previous reviewer, I found myself scanning pages for bits and pieces that might be important, rather than truly reading and absorbing, and enjoying. This was not a book for enjoyment, but one has to read it to get to the end. Personally, once at the end, I plan to rid myself of the entire series as I will never have the patience to read through the entire series again. The first 5 were great, but Mr. Goodkind must have gotten very philosophical and less artistic for the last books. I don't read books for a lecture, which is what the series became.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    i have been through this whole thing from the beginning. i loved so many of the books even 'Pillars' which it seemed everyone hated. Chainfire was so freakin boring i seriously was scanning through every page looking for something that wasn't extreme detailed dialogue or extreme detailed of everything in the scene from a pebble out of place to a mosquito farting behind a waterfall (of course i'm exaggeratiing-i don't care if i can't spell). needless to say i went through this book so fast that i didn't miss a thing. this book was like having four-play late at night that's been going for an hour when all u wanted was about 10 minutes of four-play so u can get to the good stuff and call it a night. i found this book boring. i'm just now about 200 pages in Phantom and it's better than the whole book of Chainfire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read every Terry Goodkind book up to this point, and I can honestly say that this is the MOST disappointing. It drags on and on and on. He offers an analogy for every scenario, as if the reader is a fool who 'just doesn't get it.' I had considered putting the book down several times, but I was just too obsessive and hopeful that I couldn't. It is not recommended. I know that Goodkind likes to write books that are 800-pages long, but this one could have been about half the thickness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    You mean there are more...

    I slogged through Pillars of Creation and Naked Empire hoping that the overall story had just hit a slow spot, and would pick up as the series neared its end... Seems I was mistaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    more pain from Goodkind

    Well, what is left to say about Goodkind? He still claims that he doesn't write fantasy and that his books are about human interaction/etc. Sadly this latest in the SoT series doesn't measure up to his earlier works such as Wizards 1st which were at least decent reads. As is normal with Goodkind he rehashes a fairly stale plot with his same cardboard cutout and inane characters. This book is better than his last offering by far, but that isn't enough to get Goodkind out of the hole he has dug for himself. Goodkind continues however to offer bocks for the lite fantasy reader which seems to be his forte, those that like his style (or lack thereof) should continue to enjoy his series Those of us that just read Goodkind because we like to abuse ourselves after getting sucked in by a couple decent books at the beginning of the series will continue to suffer at the hands of a guy that is bringing new meaning to the term 'hack'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Provides the next step -- over and over...

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all the Sword of Truth books and have waited anxiously for each one of them. This one, however, is a very serious disappointment. Everybody just drones on and on. It's almost like the author wrote two paragraphs thinking he would select one of them later. Then he still couldn't decide so he left them all in. In wait for the next story, read the first 50 pages, the last 20 pages, and the preview of the next book. That much will tell you all you need to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    A waste of money and time

    Yes, the story line was pretty good and I enjoyed reading the book for all of one day. Unfortunately, other than rehashing what I've ALREADY read in his other books, not much happened. I especially felt cheated in the end, which I won't ruin, but it felt like half a book. During the book, the minor conflicts along the journey felt insignificant, because no matter what happened the last resort was always 'we can use magic and fix it'. Richard is explained as having no knowledge of magic, so he knows no limits. Instead of being awe inspiring, its disappointing. There is a huge build up, with sword fights, and mental battles of will, but when it comes down to the end, most conflicts just end with him 'trying really hard, needing to win really bad, and succeeding.' His magic works again, for apparentely no reason, and the villain is banished, never killed. Horray, but if that was all it took, why waste hundreds of pages with pointless encounters. Another point that bothered me is the timeline format Goodkind has chosen to use. There is no sense that time is passing at all, he does nothing to convey what is happening globaly. Instead, we are given snippets of what a few characters are thinking at any given moment. The beginning of the book starts at a random point, just 'waking up.' I would accept it once, but the previous 2 novels, Richard just 'showes up' for no reason, no explanation of what has happened. If Goodkind wants to move on to other characters, fine, but he should finish what he started first! I feel the war aspect was built up to, and now is on the back burner, neglected, so that Richard can have a few more adventures and milk it a little more, before the story is over. It seems like the book has become so full of dead weight that there was nothing of substance to it. There were so many characters that have evolved over the series, that none really got any time to shine. They show up when called for, apparently behind the scenes, then sit like dogs when told to stay behind. The only explanation given is 'This is what is best.' There is nothing continued from previous stories, no secret passages learned, no villages he visited along the way, no knowing lore master who can help him in a time of need. The same format is used repeatedly to solve EVERYTHING, see person X get A, see person B give A get B, ETC ETC. Everything is handed to him on a silver platter, approx. 50 pages before its needed. Also, its getting pretty repetitive for the enemies to 'repent' and suddenly be the most trusted advisors. All in all, I wish I'd waited until the next few books in the series were out on paperback, before I'd bought this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    OH...MY...GOD!

    Goodkind and Jordan..WAKE UP!!! I'm sorry, but the lords of the land have died. We need some new ones. This stuff repeats like nobody's business. Help! Stop repeating the same story at me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    a HUGE dissapointment

    I was waiting for an excruciating 6 months for this book since the release date of Naked Empire. I got the book right away and read it in 2 days. While i was reading it i kept tinking 'why am i even reading this? this book is so repeditive!' thruoghout the book this is all that happens: 1)character gets depressed and blaims everything on him/her 2)other characters confort him/her saying it is their fault 3)they all end up warm and fuzzy inside because they just wasted 3 pages of sermon where there could have been story development. overall, this book was ok. compared to his others(i.e. Faith of the Fallen and Stone of Tears), this book royally stunk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Where's the cream filling?

    I can't give this book five stars, although I love the sword of truth series more than I love my next breath. It was all in all a very frustrating story to plow through, with more babble than substance. With only two books left it is high time to get to the point and skirt all the dead weight of a circumventive storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1