Customer Reviews for

Chainfire (Sword of Truth Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

terrific entry in the Sword of Truth series

Hit by an Imperial Order soldier¿s arrow, Richard Lord Rahl nears death until Sorceress Nikki uses a ¿Subtractive Magic¿ spell to save his life. When Richard recovers he learns that his wife Kahlan is missing, but in spite of his insistence and need to find her, his co...
Hit by an Imperial Order soldier¿s arrow, Richard Lord Rahl nears death until Sorceress Nikki uses a ¿Subtractive Magic¿ spell to save his life. When Richard recovers he learns that his wife Kahlan is missing, but in spite of his insistence and need to find her, his companions insists that he has no spouse. The Subtractive Magic eliminated Kahlan from the minds of everyone except Richard. --- While Richard struggles with his personal dilemma, his enemy Emperor Jagjang has sent his armies to destroy cities previously liberated by Richard's forces. At the same time that the prophecy books that predict a Last Battle where only Richard might save the world, it now contains blank pages as if the future reality shifted because of the erasure of a pivotal item. Finally the Emperor has conjured up an invincible blood beast to destroy Richard. Using magic to try to locate Kahlan enables the beast to find him. Desperate for information, Richard visits a Witch Woman who gives him little information and after seeing his grandfather, he worries whether he has lost mind and consequently his way. --- CHAINFIRE is a terrific entry in the Sword of Truth series as Richard struggles with personal doubts and difficult selections involving Kahlan vs. saving lives that probably will die once he leaves them anyway. The story line is action-packed and filled with strong female warriors and a fabulous killing monster, but Richard and to a lesser degree the Emperor remains the center of the tale as their decisions impact often fatal others. Though some fans will balk at loose threads, epic fantasy readers especially of the long running saga will appreciate this fine entry that showcases how multifarious ethical principles truly are.--- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Chainfire killed it for me

Started reading the sword of truth series shortly after it came out and really enjoyed the series as a whole until faith of the fallen. Naked empire and now the trilogy following it seem to lack the coherience of his ealier works. Not to mention I find myself waiting ...
Started reading the sword of truth series shortly after it came out and really enjoyed the series as a whole until faith of the fallen. Naked empire and now the trilogy following it seem to lack the coherience of his ealier works. Not to mention I find myself waiting for the predictable plot turns and seemingly regergitated devices. If you are a big fan and must know how it goes I recomend just catching up on a wiki until this author renews his passion in the field.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Consistent

    Having read the series from first book through the ninth book within the past 2 months, I found Goodkind's presentation in Chainfire extremely consistent within the context of the series and, as importantly, within the scope of the Wizard's Rules. Since each book reveals the next Rule, Goodkind has, in a wizard-like way, actually written the content of each book with the Rule in mind in regards to content and structure (e.g., Chainfire involves seeming contradictions when there can be no contradiction according to Rule 9). The brilliance of Goodkind will by-pass readers caught simply reading a good work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific entry in the Sword of Truth series

    Hit by an Imperial Order soldier¿s arrow, Richard Lord Rahl nears death until Sorceress Nikki uses a ¿Subtractive Magic¿ spell to save his life. When Richard recovers he learns that his wife Kahlan is missing, but in spite of his insistence and need to find her, his companions insists that he has no spouse. The Subtractive Magic eliminated Kahlan from the minds of everyone except Richard. --- While Richard struggles with his personal dilemma, his enemy Emperor Jagjang has sent his armies to destroy cities previously liberated by Richard's forces. At the same time that the prophecy books that predict a Last Battle where only Richard might save the world, it now contains blank pages as if the future reality shifted because of the erasure of a pivotal item. Finally the Emperor has conjured up an invincible blood beast to destroy Richard. Using magic to try to locate Kahlan enables the beast to find him. Desperate for information, Richard visits a Witch Woman who gives him little information and after seeing his grandfather, he worries whether he has lost mind and consequently his way. --- CHAINFIRE is a terrific entry in the Sword of Truth series as Richard struggles with personal doubts and difficult selections involving Kahlan vs. saving lives that probably will die once he leaves them anyway. The story line is action-packed and filled with strong female warriors and a fabulous killing monster, but Richard and to a lesser degree the Emperor remains the center of the tale as their decisions impact often fatal others. Though some fans will balk at loose threads, epic fantasy readers especially of the long running saga will appreciate this fine entry that showcases how multifarious ethical principles truly are.--- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    If Fuer Grissa Oust Drake Doesn't Lead This Final Battle, Then The World Already Standing at the Brink of Darkness Will Fall Under that Terrible Shadow. Goodkind's "Chainfire," Once Again, Defines the Strength of the Sword of Truth. These

    In "Naked Empire", The sisters of the dark used their ability to begin creating weapons out of people, as it had been done in the time of the great war. Unfortunately for Lord Rahl, that was only the beginning. Only Terry Goodkind knows how to start a book, The ninth installment of The Sword of Truth is no exception. In "Chainfire" Goodkind defies all odds against survival, Richard Rahl faces to lose the one thing he values the most. Life itself. With superb writing, Terry Goodkind presents a book where Lord Rahl, the true seeker must find the answers he seeks for, the books starts with Richard struggling to survive after he had been almost killed in battle, and progresses to the shocking plot of this trilogy and full circle of the series. A plot only Terry Goodkind could have written. "Prophecy has been awakened, all forks regarding "The Pebble in the Pond" are tangled in this mantic root. Goodkind takes and gives what readers have been wanting to read for a long time. If you are a true fan, read this installment at your own peril. Goodkind's portrait of magic and prophecy is disturbing, eloquent, and magnificent. " 'In the year of the cicadas, when the champion of Sacrifice and suffering, under the banner of both mankind and the Light, finally splits his swarm, thus shall be the sign that prophecy has been awakened and the final and deciding battle is upon us.'" Goodkind's Chainfire marks the return of Richard Rahl as the true seeker, the author takes the foundation from the first three installments to come full circle. A rich cast of characters along with Richard Rahl in an enchanting journey through the cities of Aydindril, The Old World, The People's Palace and a place in D'hara long forgotten known as the Deep Nothing. Terry Goodkind comes back full circle with "Chainfire", the beginning of the final battle, Prophecy, and destiny. Books of prophecy are discovered in catacombs known as central sites with knowledge of no existence to anybody. However; underneath those catacombs lies a hidden secret, something evil with the ability of the total destruction of life. In the " Pillars of Creation" Goodkind gave us a book without Richard and Kahlan, there was a reason for that. Chainfire starts the trilogy that would lead Richard Rahl to the final battle . Extremely disturbing in the sense that Goodkind doesn't hold anything back. I like the way he manages to bring old characters back from previous books. Shota's comeback is everything we should ask for. All those character readers wondered about, are coming back as the final trilogy starts. I like the fact that the author is very eloquent in writing Richard's journey, in creating the world of the sword of truth. With nine reviews written for this series, I will say that I have witnessed the enchanting world of the fantasy genre. The Sword of thruth has not had a slowdown since First Wizard's Rule. Goodkind creates great characters such as the Sisters of the Dark, Shota, Nicci, but most of all, he has given readers, Richard and Kahlan. Their lives have become part of all those of us, who enjoy reading, the ones that remember every rule and every book written before this one. Chainfire is simply irresistible, superb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Made me sad but I Loved it, Love Richard and Kahlan

    Made me sad but I Loved it, Love Richard and Kahlan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    its TG's book:)

    Hi
    like i said, its TG's book so it has all the intrigue you've come to expect and love. it ends in a cliff hanger and you must read the next two to finish off this series, but i promise its worth it.
    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Great twist

    Little confusing to start but quick to inform and hits right into action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent read

    While a tad slow in the beginning, the story soon quickens to deliver Goodkind's expected action packed, gripping style. The three books that make up this trilogy(Chainfire, Phantom, and Confessor) are by far my favorite of Goodkind's work. I would profusely recommend this book and the test of the series to anyone looking for an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    IT'S GOOD

    I PICK UP THE FRIST BOOK AND JUST KEEP GOING IT GETS BETTER WITH EVERY BOOK I BUY THE HARD COVER BUT ALSO GET THE AUDIO TO LISTEN IN THE TRUCK AND ALWAYS BUY THE UNABRIDGED AUDIO SO I LISTEN TO THE WHOLE BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodkind continues t thrill.

    Bought this book to round out my collection of the Seeker Series. Hard to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    I loved Cara's and Richard's relationship and how this book showed how much she really did care. It really showed true friendship and how there's really no limits. Even though Kahlan wasn't really in the book much, her presence was still somehow felt and her disappearance played a big part especially when Richard really needed somebody there to tell him to keep looking for her and not give up. I just liked the whole friendship thing and it made me love the book even if Kahlan wasn't around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    The Start of a Trilogy

    I can't believe that the last review of this book was in Feb of 2008. Anyway, this book was great and I do not understand why the critiques have been less than good. It is the start of a trilogy and of course there is going to be extensive history for those who are buying the book because it is the beginning of the trilogy. Those of us who have read 'The Sword of Truth' from the beginning are just going to have to accept this fact. The book is great and I advise all Sword of Truth readers to read 'Chainfire'. We are going to see this in 'Phantom' and 'Confessor' as well but it in no way diminishes any of the three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    An Emotional Roller Coaster

    I was on the edge of my seat from the start reading this book. It was a riveting read and I enjoyed it very much. If you are looking for a hero, Terry Goodkind serves a pair of great ones in his Sword of Truth series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    amazing

    the last 3 book in the series are set up as a TRILOGY. theyre not supposed to have definite conclusions like his other books. chainfire is awesome, so stop whining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    It's all coming together!

    Terry has been true to his word. This is the first of the final three novels that will end the series. It is amusing to see how people are either 5 STARS or 1 STAR in their ratings. It has become clear now that Terry has had this whole series planned from the first book. Yes, even Pillars of the Earth! This series is truly a classic in defining Human dignity, resolve, and the most admirable traits while also showing us the other side. Anybody recognize Jagang in today's world? Chainfire sets the stage perfectly for Phantom and then the final book (for which I'm eagerly waiting). I've re-read the series three times now. Great! Great! Great! You critics, save your gripes for Robert Jordan who has truly lost his way in the Wheel of Time series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Not To Be Judged

    This book is the beginning of the end for Goodkinds amazing SoT Series. I personally have stuck with and loved this series all the way through. The slow parts of every story are essential to the overall storyline, and not every good story is all action packed and hyperactive. I enjoyed 'the pillars of creation' and 'naked empire' as well. The help you get to know the characters in depth and bring life unto the whole series. It is not anyone's place to judge just one book of this series without first reading it all, looking at the vitality of each book to the storyline, and even then they showld not judge untill the know for fact that the particular book that they were criticizing is not needed in the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    AMAZING!!!

    After reading Terry Goodkind's books,no other author can even compare to Terry Goodkind. Automatically you fall in love with the characters and they become your best friends. All of his books are capturing, but Chainfire was especially intriguing, and draws the reader in by page one. All I can say is AMAZING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Confusion out of a book?

    I have seen a lot of stuff written about how this book is not that good. If you would examine what you are feeling when you read it you will see that your frustration and confusion are exactly what the character is feeling at that same time. Terry Goodkind has done a fantastic job at emitting emotions from words. I felt, as I was truly Richard as I read and felt his frustration and confusion throughout the book. I think Terry did an amazing job of writing this book and I can hardly wait for Phantom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    A TRIUMPH!!!!!!

    This is yet another great book turned out by the amazing Terry Goodkind. I've heard tell from numerous sources that this book is lame etc., but I don't know if they were even reading the right book! Chainfire really makes you wonder, what would happen if your wife or husband dissapeared and no one had any memory of him or her except for you? Would you be willing to do anything to get them back? This book follows Richard, the Mord-Sith Cara, and the Sorceress Nicci as they try to figure out what is happening. Is Richard truly out of his mind or is something terribly wrong? Only by reading this book will you find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    Another Great Novel

    Terry Goodkind delivers again with his second to last novel of the Sword of Truth series. All of his books are outstanding, not only because of the fantastic storylines, but also because of the strict moral code that he writes about and has his characters live their lives by. Whether those codes are the Wizard's Rules that the main character follows or just the decisions the characters make, shows what a genius Terry Goodkind really is. In many ways he truly is a philosopher, and has been compared to the great Ayn Rand many times. Be sure to read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9