Customer Reviews for

Chains

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

1 OF MY FAVORITES!!!

This book is phenominal. I love historical fiction, especially about the Revolutionary War, slaves, and colonial times. This book is recommended for EVERYONE. Even if you hate to read, you'll love this book. And that is saying something. I don't care if you don't like i...
This book is phenominal. I love historical fiction, especially about the Revolutionary War, slaves, and colonial times. This book is recommended for EVERYONE. Even if you hate to read, you'll love this book. And that is saying something. I don't care if you don't like it; the majority of people do. Buy this book. It's worth EVERY penny. Read it 1 billion times. You'll never put it down. Share it with friends. They won't get enough. This is 1 of the BEST books I've ever read, no doubt.
<3~
Syd_heart<3 :D

posted by Syd_heart on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Help!!

Does anyone know any good books????? I really need somethibgbto read but idk what

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    1 OF MY FAVORITES!!!

    This book is phenominal. I love historical fiction, especially about the Revolutionary War, slaves, and colonial times. This book is recommended for EVERYONE. Even if you hate to read, you'll love this book. And that is saying something. I don't care if you don't like it; the majority of people do. Buy this book. It's worth EVERY penny. Read it 1 billion times. You'll never put it down. Share it with friends. They won't get enough. This is 1 of the BEST books I've ever read, no doubt.
    <3~
    Syd_heart<3 :D

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Chains

    This story starts when the revolutionary war begins. It is a story about two slave girls, Isabel and Ruth, and their fight for freedom. The main character of the story is the oldest of the two girls, Isabel, and the story is seen through her eyes. It depicts all the struggles and hardships they go through and yet they still remain optimistic and hopeful that one day they will be free. This is a book that I could hardly put down. I became engrossed in her story and I learned some History from it. There is a sequal to the book that the author is working on called "Forge" that I anticipate will be just as good and it will continue Isabel and Ruth's quests for freedom.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Very touching book

    As you read you will care deeply about isabel this is a really great book if u liked this you will like the next book forge!!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Chains Novel

    Super interesting! Didn't think I'd like it... but i can't put it down!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Anonomys

    This book was amazing! I am very picky about books, but this surpasses all of my expectations. This book is not as slow as many other historical fiction titles and is very entertaining. I had to read and annotate this novel for my Honors English class, but is OK for a fourth grader to read. This book is overflowing with rich literary devices and the history is quite accurate. This story follows a slave girl and shows how she grows due to tragic experiences such as war, losing parents, and being beaten by a wicked owner. All in all, this book deserves five stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    These people under me are racists they dnt want to read this book and they white so they wrong

    I give this book and over all 10/10 100/100 5/5 if i have to this is a good book and its really sad in the beginning so yea it should even be a movie for b.e.t. thats how good it is

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Hockey player

    We are reading this in my class AMAZING GET IT

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Love It!

    I read this book almost two years ago and still love it! It came to my mind quite recently when I was reading a similair book. I've read the sequel, Forge, which is also quite good and am excited for the third to come out!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Awesome book

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. I just couldn't stop reading it. I was sad when it ended but I can't wait to get Forge the next book in the series. I would recommend it to anyone 10 or up.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    O.M.G...... O.M.G.....

    BEST BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IM STILL SO EXCITED FOR THE THIRD BOOK TO COME OUT! XDDD

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great read!

    I read this book about a year ago and loved it! I couldnt wait till the next one came out but then i got really busy. Iam glad I found it on here, cant wait to read the next one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good book Chains.

    This is an empowering story is about a slave girl and her struggles. Isabel and her sister are sold to a very mean master nd mistress to work for them. This story tells about Isabel and her struggles with her friend Curzon and their escape to freedom. Make sure to read the sequel to Chains, Forge. I rate this book four out of five stars for the excellent story line and the empowering message of to always follow your dreams. Enjoy it!!! ;)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Anyonomus

    Amazing

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Ok

    My teacher made me rad this book and i would reconmend it but i would five it a 5of10

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Anomonyous

    Amazing awesome and intresting book!!!! Luv it!!! :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Chains

    I love this book! This book could sure make u cry.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Help!!

    Does anyone know any good books????? I really need somethibgbto read but idk what

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Cant wait to read!!! Started to read at the school library but then shcool ended.... cant wait to read again i hope everybody loves it too!!! @sophaloafz follow me on instagram!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!

    I thought the book was awsome. I loved it! Hope to read the second book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13