Customer Reviews for

The Chair: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An artifact from the days of Christ will bring more than miracle healings!

On Tuesday afternoon at five thirty, an elderly lady strode into Corin's antique store as if she owned it and said, "The next two months of your life will be either heaven or hell."

The corners of her mouth turned up a fraction. It was almost a smile.

"Excuse me?"...
On Tuesday afternoon at five thirty, an elderly lady strode into Corin's antique store as if she owned it and said, "The next two months of your life will be either heaven or hell."

The corners of her mouth turned up a fraction. It was almost a smile.

"Excuse me?" Corin Roscoe stared at her over the mound of bills in front of him and stifled a laugh. White hair, deep smile lines etched into her high cheekbones - she had to be at least midseventies. Maybe eighty, but she moved like she was in her forties. She wore a dark tan coat that bounced off her calves as she strolled toward Corin, ice blue eyes full of laughter. She didn't look crazy.

"I've brought you the chair, you see." She stared at him as if that statement would explain everything.

Corin brushed his dark hair off his forehead and slid off the stool behind his sales counter. "What chair?"

The woman looked around the store like a schoolteacher evaluating a new classroom of students. Her eyes seemed to settle on the pile of precisely stacked books from the 1700's. "I love books, you know."

"Do I know you?" He took a step towards the woman.

"No." Her laugh had a tinge of music in it. "I hardly think so."

"You're sure?"

"Yes."

"You're a fortune teller, right? And think a little heaven and a little hell is coming my way. Can't I just subscribe to your newsletter?"

"Probably an interweaving of the two realms. And I believe you'll discover the hope of restoration. The final outcome will, of course, be your choice."

In the latest novel by James. L. Rubart, The Chair, takes readers on an exceptional journey into one of the greatest possible antiques ever discovered. A plain, wooden chair crafted perfectly in every dimension and whenever people sit in it, they are miraculously healed. Soon it appears that is possible that the chair was crafted by Jesus Christ and within the chair holds all the power He possessed after He was resurrected.

This being my third book by James L. Rubart, I couldn't wait to read this one when I read about it through his Facebook page. Literally on pins and needles waiting to the first opportunity to read this one. I was not disappointed for my long wait. Worth every single word on the page. He once more captivated my attention from the first few words I shared with you above, until the final paragraph that closes the book. It was exceptional once more and I could completely feel the burden that Corin carries with him throughout the book. The Chair will do more than keep you glued to every word, but pull at your own heart and provide you a clear picture at what Christ did for all of us on the cross.

I received this Kindle format compliments of B & H Publishing Group through Netgalley for my honest review and again, 5 out of 5 stars is not high enough for this book. It literally goes off the chart in my book and thank you James for becoming one of my personal favorite authors in my own personal collection of your literary works.

posted by Heart2Heart on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Premise, Poor Ending

This is a good read, not a great one. I understand why after reading this was written in 5 months. It's really interesting until the bad guys are revealed, and it "jumps the shark". More time writing could have made this book amazing.

posted by 16835584 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    legend of the chair is that it is handed down mother to daughter - should have kept that tradition

    women think - men act / all kidding aside, this book is perfectly made for discussions long after you have finished reading and revelations in your own mind that you didn't think of while in the reading process - this book is definitely worth a reading and a wondering - enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Amazing

    I received an advance copy of THE CHAIR by James L. Rubart, from B&H Books. The cover depicts the corner of a chair, highlighted, against a wooden floor. Although plain, it is intriguing, and foretells a fascinating book. I sat down with only half-an-hour to read, and four hours later I was done with the story, although my household chores still needed completion. Overall, this is a fast, thought-provoking story with friendly characters.

    Without giving too much away, the novel involves Corin Roscoe, the owner of an antique story. A mysterious woman gives him a chair, and her cryptic messages lead Corin to believe the chair was made by Jesus Christ. When he first touches the chair, he feels an electric shock, but then nothing. Shortly after, a little boy has an asthma attack in his store and sits on the chair. The boy and his family believe that the chair healed his asthma and the news story is placed on the Internet. With the help of the chair, Corin faces his belief in religion and his fears within himself.

    The message in the story is very powerful, and opens the reader's eyes to new beliefs in religious relics. The ending brought a huge smile to my face.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT Novel

    Corin Roscoe owns and antique store but is not selling anything, he need some customers when an elderly lady drives up with something in her truck covered up and wants to give it to Corin. He really didn't know how to take this as no one has ever just given him an antiques, so when he got it into his store and uncovered it, there was just a plain chair, what is going to do with another chair. But when he touches it something like an electric shock tingles his fingers, he had no idea what to think about this or was it his imagination. But the lady was determined that he was going to keep it, but she would not tell him who she was or why he should have the chair except that it was time to pass it down to him.

    After a little boy sat in the chair and a few days later it was in the newspaper that something had happened the little boy no longer had asthma. When Corin got to thinking about this he wondered then how old the chair was. Jesus was a carpenter and could this have been a chair that he had made? With that he made sure the chair was locked up in a vault to be sure no one could get to it until he could research if there were healing powers from something religious.

    A mega-church pastor read about the chair and he thinks this is one he has been trying to find for many years and how much he could his church to grow if he could get this chair. Strange things begin to happen and Colin had really bad dreams and his brother had been hurt and could really use the power of this chair if it really did heal.

    I have read Book of Days written by this author and I really enjoyed it, and this was is just as good. James has a way with bringing the unthinkable to something that make you wonder could this really happen?

    Thanks to B and H Publishing for sending me this Advanced Reader's copy of this book for me to review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Amazing

    Another wonderful story with a great message by James L. Rubart. This book spoke to me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Excellent read! Good mystery! Well written!

    This story will keep you reading late into the night. You will find yourself thinking of how it even affects your own life, and wonder what you would do in this situation. Well thought out plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Christian mystery that will keep you on your toes, with so

    Great Christian mystery that will keep you on your toes, with some surprising turn of events along the way. Would recommend for mystery fans who are tired of death and foul language being a required part of a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Winner for Rubart

    Corin runs an antique store. When an elderly lady he doesn’t know brings him a chair and says it was made by Jesus Christ, Corin really doesn’t believe her. She tells him he must always keep the chair and guard it by all means. When a boy sits in the chair and is cured of his asthma Corin wonders if the chair was truly made by Jesus. As the word spreads about the chair, Corin faces the temptation of wealth to sell it. Rubart is a great storyteller who weaves within this book mystery, romance, danger, betrayal, forgiveness, and family loyalty. If you haven’t read one of Rubart’s books, what are you waiting for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great book

    I really like this author and am excited to read whatever he writes next. I won't give a recap of the book as other do but say read it, it is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I started 'The Chair' - because this is the first book that I've read by James L. Rubart - but I'm pleased to say that I really enjoyed it! It had suspense, drama, and a good story. If you were given an ancient-looking chair and told Jesus Christ made it, would you believe it? Corin Roscoe, the owner of an antiques store, is given a chair and told it was made by the most talented craftsman the world has ever known. He is then taken on an intense journey of grief, joy, sorrow, and restoration. He lives with guilt over pain from the past, deals with claustrophobia, and is afraid of going in water because of something that happened when he was young. I found many parts of 'The Chair' weird (which I think was the intent) and I felt as though I was reading a mystery. There was so much going on, but until the end you didn't know the full intent (and even now I'm still slightly confused). I feel there should have been at least one more chapter (or at least an epilogue) - the ending didn't feel like the end (if that makes sense). I found the characters intriguing. People you thought were friends, were foes. And people you thought were against Corin, were actually for Corin. 'The Chair' puts a whole new light on James L. Rubart's books. I now plan to read other books by him in the future. I recommend this if you enjoy reading books that have a slightly weird plot, but are really interesting (kind of like Ted Dekker's books). *Many thanks to B&H publishing and JKSCommunications for my review copy.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1