Customer Reviews for

The Challenge

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

5 Star SFR  I am thrilled this is now in ebook form. This is a

5 Star SFR 

I am thrilled this is now in ebook form. This is a five star read for me because the world building is excellent, it launches an amazing
 series, and I love the heroine. It is also funny.  I always recommend this book to newbies to the romance and sfr genre...
5 Star SFR 

I am thrilled this is now in ebook form. This is a five star read for me because the world building is excellent, it launches an amazing
 series, and I love the heroine. It is also funny.  I always recommend this book to newbies to the romance and sfr genres because it
is compelling, fast paced, and a lot of fun. I have reread it many times and highly recommend this book. 

I was given the e book for my honest review but have a well worn  and well loved hard copy. 

posted by northamericanwordcat on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tessa is a special agent who is snatched at the moment before he

Tessa is a special agent who is snatched at the moment before her death, far into the future, where she must face a difficult challenge to save Earth. Kahn is her trainer and has a vested interest in her winning the challenge as it will also save his home planet, where ...
Tessa is a special agent who is snatched at the moment before her death, far into the future, where she must face a difficult challenge to save Earth. Kahn is her trainer and has a vested interest in her winning the challenge as it will also save his home planet, where his race is on the brink of extinction. Be warned that this is a hot, sexy, erotic read that will be a "challenge" to put down...

posted by ornerylibrarian on June 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    5 Star SFR  I am thrilled this is now in ebook form. This is a

    5 Star SFR 

    I am thrilled this is now in ebook form. This is a five star read for me because the world building is excellent, it launches an amazing
     series, and I love the heroine. It is also funny.  I always recommend this book to newbies to the romance and sfr genres because it
    is compelling, fast paced, and a lot of fun. I have reread it many times and highly recommend this book. 

    I was given the e book for my honest review but have a well worn  and well loved hard copy. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    What a surprise!!

    I mostly enjoy historical romances, but on a whim got this book, wow was I surprised! Couldn't put it down. I really liked the tension between the two main characters. And even though the 'Challenge' was the main focus her transportation, the book went so much further...would recommend this to anyone...A must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    Outstanding!

    Secret Service agent Tessa Camen has studied a variety of martial arts during her life. To protect the president she uses her own body as a shield and took the assassin's bullet. ............................................. Tessa woke up nude, in the arms of a handsome man named Kahn. He tells her that she has been brought forward through time over three hundred years. Earth is so polluted that it is brown instead of blue. Earth plans to join the Galactic Federation who will help the planet clean itself. However, to join the Federation, Earth must choose one person to complete 'the Challenge'. If the chosen one wins, Earth wins. If the chosen one loses, Earth may not join or receive help. Tessa IS the Chosen One. Of course, Tessa believes none of it. But Kahn can prove it all. ............................................. Kahn is from the planet Rystan. To seal Rystan as a full member of the Federation he must train Tessa to use the psi-abilities. He has only a few weeks in which to do it. At the same time, his nemesis, an Endekian named Jypeg, is out to kill them both. .................................................................... ...................... ***** I have not read a book this great in a long time! The author created a brave hero and heroine, both warriors with talent, skill, and honor, added in a sentient computer that any 'Star Trek' or 'Star Wars' fan will envy, and pit them against overwhelming odds. The outcome is an action packed space adventure that readers will not EVER forget! I can hardly wait for Susan Kearney's next release to come out. ('The Dare' is due for release June 2005.) In a single word, 'WOW!' *****

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb science fiction romance

    Special Agent in Charge Tessa Camen is guarding the President of the United States (POTUS) when assassins attack. Tessa saves Madam President from the first assault getting her out of Jefferson Central High School, but the coordination with her team fails and she is alone. She gets POTUS to the car, but instead of one of her men as driver, a killer draws a gun. Tessa leaps in front of POTUS taking the bullet that kills the dedicated American agent.--- Tessa wakes up believing she must be in heaven as she finds herself with a hunk. The man explains that he is Khan of planet Rystan, the year 2324, and the United States of North America and earth need her services. Khan explains she was selected to take the challenge of the Federation of Planets that earth desperately needs to join to obtain technology that will save the planet by finally cleaning the environment. At first disbelieving, then turning doubtful and cynical, Tessa eventually accepts the challenge, but has doubts about the psychic skills needed for success. As Khan prepares her, they fall in love, but another species wants earth to fail and interfere with the test.--- THE CHALLENGE is a superb science fiction literally star-crossed romance that fans of both genres will fill enjoy. The story line is fast-paced, filled with action, and believable multiple species so that the audience will know they are in the twenty-fourth century. Tessa is a terrific heroine and Khan is her perfect mentor, lover, and sidekick. Susan Kearney soars to stardom with this sterling tale.--- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed reading this book! I generally don't read futuristic alien type books like this. But, I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this book! I had read a previous book from this author that was not futuristic, I think it was called "Kiss me deadly" or something close to that and really enjoyed that book, so I thought I would try something else from this author that I generally never would have read, and I am glad that I did! This book had a great plot and great characters, I loved Kahn and Tessa. They were very different but ended up with more in common then they thought! There was lots of action, romance and suspenseful at times and I thouroughly enjoyed reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great!

    It took me awhile to get into the book, but I became hooked and really enjoyed it. I will read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Pretty cool! Love the characters! :-)

    This is a syfy romance story. It is unusual. I never read anything like it. The more I read the more I liked it. I got attached to the characters. I love the book. I'm reading book 2 right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    My favorite book of all time!!!  This book is unforgettable and

    My favorite book of all time!!!  This book is unforgettable and a must read for fans of futuristic romance, historical romance of just anyone who loves a great adventure story and a ht romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    The book

    The guy on the cover i hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    A fantastic, hot and tense start to a fabulous space-opera serie

    A fantastic, hot and tense start to a fabulous space-opera series.  Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1