Customer Reviews for

The Chamber

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Glad When the Book Ended

    I never read a book that I was relieved when it was over. I've quit on some, but I read all 674 pages of this one, and wished I would have quit much sooner. This was a short story made long. Way too long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    SWG 1994 Gold Medal Award Winner

    The Chamber by John Grisham won the 1994 GOLD MEDAL AWARD for BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER from the Southern Writers Guild.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    One of my faves

    This book was certainly one of the best John Grisham books I have read...EVER! I could not put it down. Although I'm only a freshman in highschool, I was locked in to reading this book. I have never read such a long book in such a short period of time. It lets you see how life was in the past, the judicial system, and real life situations. It even pulled at some heartstrings in the end. This is an excellent book. I totally recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    You won't be able to put it down!

    An exceptional book with a great story line. John Grisham really makes you think about the death penalty in this book as he tells the story of 70 year old Sam Cayhall and his mistakes as a Klansman. Sam was put it jail at Parchman for the involuntary murder of Mr. Kramer's two sons. Sam Cayhall has followed the family footsteps and has a long history of bombing. Young attorney, Adam Hall has studied Cayhall's death penalty case for years while Sam has been on death row. Sam Cayhall and Adam Hall are the two main characters in this book. Their objective is to save Sam's life. Adam is an attorney at Kravitz & Bane. He is so determined in saving Sam's life because he shares a special connection with Sam and feels like it's his job to save him. Sam is also connected to a woman named Lee. She is afraid to visit Sam because of his actions and attitude towards people in the past. Sam's life lies in the hands of destiny. Although Sam is very well known, not everyone wants him alive. No matter how many people want Sam dead, the decision, the life, and the hope is all in the judge's hands.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    just ...amazing

    i am not fast reading.... i finished the 652 pages in 28 hours reading.... just a good, a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    WILL KEEP YOU THINKING ABOUT THE DEATH PENATY WAY AFTER YOU FINISH READING!

    Will known klan member Sam cayhall is convicted after placing a bomb is a jewish lawyers office killing both the jewish lawyer and his twin 5 year old sons. But sam did not act alone, somebody else is gulty too. However the situration is that Sam had taken an oath as a klansman never to sqreal on another klansman. when two trils end with a hung jury sam is freed. 12 years later a new govarnmeant mr david micalester asks to reopen the cayhall case. Only this time it is not so easy. Maclester plainly explains to the jury that sam is just as gulty as the person who actionally planted the bomb. About ten years later Adem Hall, a yorng lawyer at kravits and bane, the firm that has represended Sam all these years asks to work on the cayhall case. Adem has a deep dark famally secreat. Sam is adems grandfather! Sam had a son Eddie Cayhall who had moved his famally to Chigago after his father was convicted. He changed his famally's name to hall because he did not want anyone to know that he was related to such an awful man. Eddie Cayhall comitted suacide shortly after sam was sentinced to die. After his father's funaral, Adems aunt lee who was Eddies sister told him the truth. With Sams Exsecushin date just 28 days away Adem has to try to save his grandfather from the gas chamber. Will he suceed or will he be haunted by long life Cayhall secreats?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    a clock tikking bestseller!

    SAM CAYHALL A FORMAR KLANMSAN IS CONVICTED IN 1917 FOR THE BOMING OF A JEWISH LAWYERS OFFICE KILLING THE LAWYER AND HIS TWIN TWO YEAR OLD SONS. AFTER ABOUT THREE HUNG JURES SAM FINALLY GETS TO GO HOME. ELEVEN YEARS LATER A NEW AMBITOUS DISTRACT ATORENEY DAVID MICALESTER WANTS TO REOPEN THE CAYHALL CASE. ONLY THIS TIME SAM IS NOT SO LUKEY. MICALESTER CONVINSES THE JURY THAT SAM CAYHALL IS JUST AS GULTY AS THE PORSON WHO ACTIONLY PLANTED THE BOMB. SAM HAD TAKEN AN OATH AS A KLANSMAN NEVER TO SQREAL ON ANOTHER KLANSMAN. NOW SAM IS FACING THE GAS CHAMBER. ABOUT 13 YEARS LATER A NEW YOURNG LAWYER NAMED ADEM HALL AT A FIRM NAMED KRAVITS AND BANE ASKS TO WORK ON THE CAYHALL CASE. SAM CAYHALL HAPPENS TO BE ADEMS GRANDFATHER. SAM HAD A SON EDDIE CAYHALL AND EDDIE CAYHALL FLED TO CHIGAGO AFTER HIS FATHER WAS CONVICTED AND COMMITED SUASIDE SHORTLY AFTER SAM'S LAST TRAIL. ADEM FINDS OUT ALL ABOUT HIS FAMALLY'S DEEP DARK CAYHALL SECREATS AND ADEM IS AT HIS GRANDFATHERS SIDE TILL THE VERY END.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    masterful story teller at his finest

    I first picked the book up before finals. Planned to speed read it to a good stopping point and then return. 'wrong' This was the author Grisham at his finest.He carefully blends the characters with an aura of the deep south in Mississippi. You can feel the heat of the summer rising with the tragedys and triumphs as they blend into the scenes of 'Parchman Prison' and the rural south. This was excellent reading material potraying both a delicate and controversial subject while potraying accurately the events in the 50's and 60's in Mississippi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    my favorite grisham novel

    this is absolutly my favorite book of his. it wasn't the first of his i read so i could compare with the others. this was the book i could never put down. i recomend it to everyone even people who bash grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Suspensful to the End

    This was only my second Grisham book, so I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I found that I couldn't put this book down. I finished all 676 pages in 5 days, ignoring friends and family around me. I'm mostly a Clancy reader, but after this book I my change my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    One word... INTENSE!

    I thought this book was amazing. It was the first John Grisham book I've ever read. Although I've seen the movie "The Pelican Brief" based on his other book, I had no idea of the effect his words have on you. It really makes you think about the death penalty and the society we live in. I highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    GRISHAM STRIKES AGAIN!

    SAM CAYHALL A WELL KNOWN KLAN MEMBER IS FACING THE GAS CHAMBER BECAUSE OF A BOMBING HE TOOK [LLACE IN 1967. NOW 12 YEARS LATER YOUNG CHIGAGO LAWYER ADAM HALL FRESH FROM LAW SCHOOL WANTS TO WORK ON THE CAYHALL CASE. CAYHALL HAS JUST RUN OUT OF CHANSES, EXCEPT FOR THE YOURNG CHIGAGO LAWYER WHO JUST HAPPENS TO BE HIS GRANDSON.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Another Great Grisham Book

    I read this book in a few days. I couldn't stop reading it. This book has a surpprise ending that I didn't expect. In the bieginning of the book, I thought that Sam deserved to die without a doubt in my mind. But the story touched me in a strange way. I felt most the for Adam because he was just trying to do what he thought was right. This book will have you hooked from the opening sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    Grisham At His Best!!

    I have read all of Grisham's legal thrillers and loved each and every one. The Chamber is no exception. However, this Grisham book really tore me up. I thought the Rainmaker was good, but I was a goner with The Chamber. I cried so hard at the end that one would think I believed this was real. Grisham made the characters come totally alive. The scene of Sam's last visit with his grandson tore my heart out. Being African American, I had no sympathy for Sam. My heart was with the grandson. I've read this book twice and have cried each time. I couldn't wait until the movie came out; however, the movie was the biggest disappointment of all time. It was/is awful. The only resemblance is with the characters' names. Grisham should have sued!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    Grisham at his best

    Personally this was my favourite read of all Grisham's collection. It was by far the most compelling read, with plenty of cliffhangers to keep you reading.The film was also the best adaptation of a book i have seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Amazing, very original

    I couldn't put the Chamber down. Outstanding! Read it non stop. One of the best books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Politically Correct to the Welcome End

    I am so disappointed in John Grisham. I started The Chamber thinking that I was going to be led on another of his gripping plots, but instead I was treated to a politically correct treatise on how bad the death penalty is. Give me a break. The death-row criminal in this book was portrayed as extremely unlikable so that there would be some tension -- 'Should we fry this old codger because he committed an act of terrorism, or do it because he's just so darned unpleasant?' He'd been on Death Row for so long that half the people who knew him and/or worked with his case couldn't even remember what he had done which was so awful. The awful thing was, of course, that he blew up a building with a human target inside; the unfortunate thing is that the target's two little boys were in the building as well. You know, some people in this world believe that there should be retribution for evil deeds and it doesn't matter how much time has passed or how old and decrepit the killer has become while waiting on Death Row for his sentence to be carried out. Going through several hundred pages of empty moralizing on the subject of capital punishment was just a big waste of time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Excellent

    Don't start this one unless you have time to read the entire thing in one sitting. I couldn't put it down. Awesome story told by a master.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    A Must Read

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I had to force myself to put it down. It left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    A very gripping novel. Edge of your seat reading.

    This is one of the greatest books written by John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8