Customer Reviews for

The Chamber

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Chamber is John Grisham's best-selling book - ever.

    I was a John Grisham fan. My personal favorite is his first book, A Time to Kill, later adapted into a successful film.<BR/><BR/>The Chamber is John Grisham's best-selling book - ever. From beginning to end, it is an engrossing read. The reader flies through the 600+ pages, as Grisham paints a picture of a family wrecked by the sinful racism of the father.<BR/><BR/>The Chamber tells about a fictional character named Sam Cayhall, condemned to the gas chamber because of a crime he committed in the late 1960's against a Jewish lawyer. Cayhall was an accomplice in setting a bomb that destroyed the lawyer's office and unintentionally killed the lawyer's two twin boys. With just a month before his execution date, Cayhall's grandson, a fresh, young lawyer named Adam Hall, arrives on the scene to save the day.<BR/><BR/>The Chamber forces the reader to wrestle with the idea of the death penalty. The crimes are described in horrific detail, and we later discover that Cayhall was guilty of even more egregious sins than the one for which the government wants to execute him.<BR/><BR/>If you skip the book and decide to rent the movie, be aware. The movie isn't half as good as the book. (I know everyone always says this, but trust me on this one.)<BR/><BR/>This is, in my opinion Grisham's last work worth reading.<BR/>I gradually tired of Grisham's writing. His approach has become overly familiar and formulaic. Many of his books read as if the author was planning for an immediate movie adaptation of the current novel (the Stephen King Movie of the Week syndrome) while he was writing. As a consequence, I simply stopped reading his subsequent books. Grisham can produce page turning prose with the best of them, but after awhile the repetition became monotonous for me. After reading six of his books, I stopped cold.<BR/><BR/>It was not so much a case that Grisham was not entertaining, he was, but as a reader I had the sense of having been there and done that. Some gifted authors have a talent for writing books that always seem to be fresh and new, even when employing the same set of characters, while others seem to fall into a predictable, if profitable rut. Someday, I may check out another Grisham book to see if I was incorrect in my original assessment.""

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Yes, I cryed at the ending of this book. Grisham gets the reader so involved in the feelings and emotions of the characters that I did not know whether I agreed with the death penalty or believing an individual could truly repent and be sorry for the acts he has done. I understood both sides, why someone who has committed such acts should be given the dealth penalty, but then the realization that some people should be given a second chance if they truly understand that the act they committed was morally and ethically wrong and repent their sins and seek forgiveness. I thought it was an excellent read, though some individuals have stated that the story was lengthy. I do not think that the story could of had the same affect if it was shorter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Not your regular Grisham

    The Chamber is by a long shot one of the greatest books in the series of novels written by John Grisham. It's only match so far is the Street Lawyer, as they both look beyond the court system in an extraordinary plot to problems which occur in our everyday lives. This is a masterpiece and an enjoyment to read. Anyone who finds this boring has a low mentality, so don't be swayed by any of the less intelligent 1 or 2 star reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    The Chamber is Grisham's finest hour

    If 'The Chamber' is the first Grisham novel you ever read, you might become suddenly obssessed with law relating fiction. I know I did. 'The Chamber' is so exciting, you should hook yourself up to a heart moniter and a breathing machine just to be sure you don't die of excitement, and I almost wrote the Surgeon General to carry a warning on the cover. The six hundred seem like three hundred, and should take you about that long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Great book from a great author.

    This is the fourth Grisham book I've read, I've read his first three which are also great. The Chamber has a great plot that keeps you wondering what will happen next. He keeps you intrigued to the very end and makes you think about what you think and believe about capital punishment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Grisham delivers another Legal Thriller.

    Mr. Grisham is one of my favorite authors and I thought this novel was an excellent and compelling story. Actually, I thought this book was a notch or two above "The Firm and The Pelican Brief", which I enjoyed tremendously. The book starts off a bit slow and then picks up the pace as you the reader become involved with the young lawyer as tries to save his grandfather from the gas chamber for the murder of a father and two children. Overall, I would gladly recommend this novel by an author that knows how to deliver a thrilling story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Eye Opener

    A look into the life of a prisoner who just happens to be a murderer on death roll. Is it possible to see any hint of good in a man who has done such evil? It's surprising how 'The Chamber' opens up the possibility that there could be good in those who have done so much wrong. Is any one all good or all bad? It causes you to be more open minded about the possible answers to this question.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    The chamber

    This book is a must read.it was long but a good read.would recommend it for all to read. Although the ending is not what I expected this book had 542 pages.worth the time and the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    It stinks

    I hated it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Another boring one.

    Nothing much happened. Just a lot of talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Great book

    Its a great book I was reading this on a plane and almost near the end of the book. When for once I wished there was a delay in landing so I could finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Great read

    This was the first Grisham novel that I've read. Grisham is a great story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Dead End

    The book started off great, the story was compelling, the descriptions of the jail were good, the family story was interesting, but in the end it kind of seemed like Grisham just go tired of writing. All the little twists that were set up were just kinda let go. Reading it was a waste of time. I've never been so dissapointed by a books ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Just Kill the Man

    I like most of Grisham's work, and this one started off okay with Adam trying to save his grandfather. But it quickly becomes apparent Sam will die and the story just gets longer and longer. After a couple hundred pages, I found myself saying 'Just kill the man, and end this story' I forced myself to finish it and am really glad I checked it out from the library instead of buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Okay, but not great

    I love John Grisham's writing but this story left a lot to be desired. This young lawyer's feeble attempt to save his racist, murdering grandfather from death row drew no compassion from a person like me who opposes the death penalty. I found myself being disgusted by the discription of the prison conditions and how unfair the prisoners are treated especially since this man along with others were hardened criminals. Futhermore I don't see how Adam's handling of this case would help his family or his career. I was happy when Sam was gased and done with all the self pity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Not one of his better books

    I read the Chamber as my second Grisham book and had found it wasn't up to par with his other books. I found it very predictable and not exceedingly interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Get Inside The Chamber

    The Chamber is an exciting book filled with new trials and tribulations on every page. This book gives people a chance to really think about their own views on the death penalty, and that¿s why John Grisham is such a successful author; he makes you think about things that wouldn¿t ordinarily cross your mind. The intended audience for this book would be young adult to adult readers because of the language and harsh issues such as murder and prejudice. The focus of this book is justice, and all of the characters are looking for it in different ways. The main character in The Chamber is a belligerent older man named Sam Cayhall who is sentenced to the death penalty for bombing a building with two little boys inside, therefore leading to their deaths. With only a few weeks until his execution a new lawyer steps in to fight for his survival and possible clemency. His new lawyer though, is not someone he expects to see. This book is filled with twists and turns, but sadly the ending falls a little flat. Although this is book has some loose ends, it is still a great read and very easy to follow. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone because the writing style is so original; it is humorous, yet at points very dramatic. Although it¿s hard to feel sympathetic for Sam, you understand his position and why he is the way he is. This book is very human in the way that its' ending is realistic and not easy to predict. The Chamber also confronts family issues, which to some people would hit hard to home and really make you think if your family is ¿normal¿. The Cayhall family is anything but normal, and Sam's daughter and grandson go through some tough times. This book draws the reader into the suspense of the courtroom and hard life on Death Row. This is a lengthy read, but don¿t abandon the reading and watch the movie, because the book gives you so much more drama and entertainment. The book gives such great details on what¿s it like to be on Death Row that you feel like you are there. Not having read any other works by John Grisham I can¿t give an opinion as to if this is his ¿best yet¿. But in reading this excellent book it has turned me on to reading other books by John Grisham.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    More like 2 1/2 stars

    The opening didn't grab me at first like other Grisham novels. Took me awhile to finish. Characters are well defined and interesting but the whole book is centered around the prisoner as is expected but gets tiring. Side plots are not as strong. Does have some legal thrills and mystery. After reading this story it has changed my view of the death penality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Glad When the Book Ended

    I never read a book that I was relieved when it was over. I've quit on some, but I read all 674 pages of this one, and wished I would have quit much sooner. This was a short story made long. Way too long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8