Customer Reviews for

Champlain's Dream

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    Champlain's Dream by David Fischer and published by Simon and Shuster is one of the best books I have ever read. It is arguably one of the best books ever written and published

    Dr. Fischer has used past and recent historical evidence coupled with ethnographic, economic, political, and archaeological data to weave a wonderful account of Samuel Champlain and the early French efforts of colonizing North America. Previous to this effort, the most popular account of Champlain was Samuel E. Morison's book written almost a half century ago. While Morison's book was very good, Fischer's effort not only relates the geographic ventures but delves into the psyche of Champlain the man. <BR/><BR/>No stone is left unturned and although Fischer has his own opinions he goes out of his way to present alternative viewpoints. His book draws on numerous sources and is complemented by outstanding maps, plates, charts, etc. The bibliography is is very extensive, there are copious notes and in addition, the appendix covers various tribes, personalities, ships, and weapons pertinent to the epic.<BR/><BR/>Dr. Fischer delivers a first rate look at Champlain's beginning, the area and circumstances surrounding his actions and thoughts. In the book Champlain is presented as a determined, unselfish, loyal, modest, and wise individual totally dedicated to establishing a colony for France in the the New World. He succeeds only after 30 years of struggle and hardships all of which he endured for no personal gain but for the glory of France. He does all this treating the native populations with respect and dignity. They were his partners not his subjects thus the French settlements were entirely different from their English and Spanish counterparts.<BR/><BR/>From beginning to end, Fischer's Champlain is a book packed with adventure, discovery, intrigue, ethnography, failures, and finally success. Whether Chapmplain is plotting the coasts, establishing settlements, at war, or just plain exploring, the reader will feel like he/she is there. In short, although its a biography/history it reads like a novel. One will find it quite difficult to stop turning the pages. <BR/><BR/>I should also mention that the publishers did an outstanding job in the production of the book itself. There are excellent end paper maps, the binding is solid and will not tend to disengage after a couple of readings, and the dust jacket is bright and lively. Furthermore, Simon & Shuster are to be commended for allowing Dr. Fischer to include all his notes etc, since the trend in publishing is to eliminate most data that are not pertinent to the story and put out what I consider to be an incomplete product.<BR/><BR/>All in all, I cannot think of another book that has all these attributes and I highly recommend this book to both the general reader and to those of a more scholarly interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    great history

    great history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Enlightened Explorer

    I consider the author, David Fischer, to be America's best writer of non-fiction. He does not disappoint here though this work is not quite the equal of "Washington's Crossing", Fischer's Pulitzer Prize winner. Champlain's life and times are fascinating. We are treated to a long introduction about one of Europe's most able rulers, King Henry IV. Henry IV used religious tolerance to unify France. One of the pleasures of this work is getting to know Henry IV. To a certain extent Champlain was mentored by the king and clearly influenced by his ideas of tolerance. We see a young Champlain disgusted by Spain's cruelty to the natives in Mexico. In a unique opportunity to visit the Spanish colonies, he determines to treat the natives as equals. The stories of Champlain's relationship with native tribes in New France are fascinating. He is a skilled explorer, carefully mapping unchartered waters. He is an able, if reluctant, fighter against the enemies of friendly native tribes. These are exciting stories. Despite his leadership, New France barely holds on by a thread. When Henry IV is assassinated by a religious zealot, the surviving Queen shows little interest in New France. Perhaps Champlain's greatest accomplishment is keeping French interest in the new world alive after Henry IV's death. To do this he must be in France to deal with the court intrigue. Throughout it all he perseveres to keep the dream of New France alive. His life is full of exciting adventures and dreams ultimately followed in the end by sadness. Do not be put off by the over 800 pages in this work. Over 300 of them are appendixes and footnotes. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Great Read!!

    Anyone who likes history would love this book. There is history within history. I have learned a lot about King Henri IV of France. I expected reading about the indian tribes of North America and his journey. I was happy to learn more what was going on at Europe at the time. It is all interesting, never dry and easy to read. I enjoyed seeing Champlain's drawings and maps. He was an amazing artist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    Must read to understand Canada

    This book combines superior scholarship with an easy-read style. It flows very logically, is well-organized, and is objective. Typically, we Americans have very limited information about our neighbors to the north. There is no longer an excuse. If there was only one book to read about Canada, it should be this. The foot notes and appendices recognize all the scholarly thought surrounding this subject for the last four hundred years. The format helps those who want to further study Champlain and Canada's heritage. The work more than satisfied my curiosity especially in describing Canada and France in Champlain's lifetime. An excellent point is made that Champlain was a product of a remarkable up-bringing in a very unique part of France. Once again we have an example that we are the product of our roots and experience. The author was convincing in arguing that Champlain lived to make his dream come true of a New France. This book is for the ages or at least as long as man dreams for a better world and does something about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting contrast

    I found it very interesting to see the contrast between French and English in the colonization of North America. I also have "Empires of the Atlantic World" by J.H. Elliott and you see three separate approaches: The French tried to get along, The English tried to get rid of the natives, and the Spanish enslaved them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great work, but . . .

    This is a pleasant book to read. One can place oneself in Saintonge as the seventeenth century began. One can place oneself on Champlain's early voyages to the Caribbean and the Bay of Fundy. One can place oneself in the court of Henry IV and Louis XII. In this manner one can learn a lot about France and about the St. Lawrence River valley and its inhabitants at that time.

    There are two things that bother this reader. One is that once Champlain becomes an adult, there isn't a page in the text wherein we are not reminded that Champlain's feces didn't stink. The other is that if you look at the end notes, a large majority refer back to a collection of Champlain's own writings, no wonder his feces doesn't stink!

    That aside, this is a wonderful piece of literature. I am about to order another work by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Great Book

    I purchased this book due to my interest in the history of the Great Lakes area. I found it to be much more than a history of the northern US and Canada. Champlain's Dream is multifaceted. It is simultaneously a biography of Champlain, a book on leadership, a history of France and North America, as well as an adventure story. There are many stories told within the story of Champlain's Dream, such as Champlain's struggles with the King's court in France to keep his dreams alive for New France; the race to stay ahead of the British in the St. Lawrence River area; and Champlain's relationship with many Indian nations that he sought to live with in harmony...and would go to war with them to do so. This is a great book and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Champlain, the history of North America, or would just like to read a good adventure story set in the 1600s.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Champlain: the Father of New France and Quebec.

    Perhaps the NY Times best captured the essence of David Fischer's book about Samuel de Champlain by observing "They Didn't Name That Lake [after him] for Nothing." Fischer a trained historian and professor at Brandeis University, argues that Samuel de Champlain was at heart a man of the Enlightenment, before that era dawned in Europe. Champlain was a writer, artist, natualist, ethnographer, mariner, and professional soldier. Fischer maintains that Champlain was as success at Versailles in maintaining royal support for the nascent French colony in North America, as he was in establishing its settlements and probing its seemingly limitless boundaries. Importantly, Fischer credits Champlain's respect for and cooperation with American-Indians, as his greatest accomplishment. Unlike the English, Spanish, and Portugese colonizers to the south who brutalized and butchered the natives, Champlain and the French were much more magnaminious toward the native peoples. Even though Champlain's dream turned to nightmare with the defeat of Montcalm by Wolfe at Quebec in 1759, among his descendants it lived on to become vindicated in a modern tolerant Quebec.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2