Customer Reviews for

A Chance at Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Gambling on Love

    I thoroughly enjoyed another of Ms. Jenkins historical romantic tales. The information regarding the influence of the labor unions like the Knights of Labor was quite an informative history lesson. I fell in love with Jake when he first came on the scene. Any man who sets aside his own needs and wants and willingly loves someone else kids without looking back and who will protect his family no matter what has my utmost respect. Loreli's character had to overcome alot to become the tough as nails, yet caring woman she portrayed throughout this novel. She didn't take any STUFF from anyone, male or female. She was always fair, knew how to handle her business and had a heart of gold. I am glad that Ms. Jenkins decided to do a story about Loreli a woman of experience and worldliness, and even though she wasn't perfect she had more heart and soul than many of the so-called Christian women in the town of Hanks. I love the way the inexperienced Jake was willing to learn from Loreli, he was such an excellent student and he became quite the expert under Loreli's expert tutelage. Ms. Jenkins always impresses me with her knowledge of the history facts as well as with a very interesting storyline and well developed characters. If you've never read a Beverly Jenkins book now is a good time. I would recommend any/all of her books. Happy Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Passion and fiery can be a good thing.

    If you like books with strong women characters, then this is the book for you. I thoughtfully enjoyed this book and the characters are so well developed that a person can't help but want to turn the page to read more. In here we have Loreli Winters who was part of the mail order brides, but she was far different from the other contingent brides. See, Loreli was a self professed gambler. Girlfriend had been taking care of herself since she was a teenager. She had seen alot in her life and knew how to deal with people. When the brides stopped in the small town of Loreli found her self the target of twin girls BeBe and DeDe. They were looking for a new mama. The girls took an instant liking to Loreli and told her about their desires for her to become their new mama. Loreli felt she wasn't mama material, but was honored by the twins wish. Loreli escorts BeBe and DeDe home and they told their uncle who was their legal guardian now that they wanted Loreli to become their mama. Of course Jake, the hog farmer didn't want any part of this brazen, independent female. Loreli definitely didn't want to become anyones wife much less stay on a hog farm. Jake however,wanted the girls to be happy. Jake proposed to Loreli that she be the twins mama for one year, and he would continue to look for a more suitable wife during that time and Loreli agreed. From that point on noone's life would ever be the same. I feel in love with Jake when he first came on to the scene. I man who is able to love someone else kids without looking back has my heart and also protect his family no matter what. Loreli has over come alot to become a class¿s woman that what take any miss off of anybody (male or female). A woman that will speak her mind. I am glad that Ms. Jenkins decided to do a story about Loreli a woman that is not perfect in the eyes of society but she still has a heart of gold. I love the way Jake was willing to learn from Loreli, his was such a goooood student Beverly Jenkins has written another wonderful book. I am always impressed by the history facts as well as with the plot and characters. If you've never read a Beverly Jenkins book now is a good time. I would recommend any of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    LOVED IT!

    What a great story! I loved it, but didn't know there were other books before this one. Looking forward. to back tracking and picking up the previously written books. Loved the plot, historic emphasis, and the authors talent for story telling. Looking forward to more blessings! LA-TXN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Page turner

    I loved this book! I couldnt put it down. I will surely read this again. I was tired of reading the same books and this was what i needed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A Must Read

    Well written!!! Could not put it down once I start reading it. Story just seems to flow and keep your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Simply The Best! Review by Big Ed's Girl

    Loved it so much, I read it twice in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great

    wow what can you say action, adventure, love and drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved this tale

    Beverly Jenkins does it again. I really loved this sweet story!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!!!!

    Awesome book!!!! Give it a chance!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Like It !!!

    This is a very good book , it's not one of my favorites by her but is really a good fun read.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Must Read!!!

    This is another great novel by Beverly Jenkins. It is the story of two very different people who find love with the help of two little girls. I recommend you read all of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    Another Wonderful Book!

    Beverly Jenkins is an amazing author and she just keeps writing fascinating novels. In this book, the characters and storyline are so well developed that a person can't help but want to turn the page to read more. Loreli Winters is beautiful as she is fiery and spirited. Jake Reed is exactly opposite and doesn't think she will make an appropriate wife but since his nieces want her for their mama he is willing for their sake to marry her. The book continues from this point as the characters interact more with each other and others leading to a very well-written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Beverly does it again.

    This JB story is centered on Loreli Winters. Her character was introduced in both Topaz and Always and Forever. Coming in on the wagon trail full of mail-order-brides, Loreli hadn¿t planned on staying in Kansas long at all. She in fact was headed to San Francisco {but never made it}. The story starts off with Two 8-year-old twin girls asking her if she would be their new mama, since quite a few of their friends has new mama¿s, they wanted one as well {This part in the book is just too cute for words}. The girls are called Dede and Bebe; their mother having passed away the year before, the girls now reside with their uncle Jake Reed. Jake having refused to look for a wife among the mail-orders brides; the twins took it upon themselves, to see if they could fine themselves a mama. Jake finds out that Loreli¿s occupation is a professional gambler. Knowing for sure that she is not the God fearing, law abiding women that he wants and the girls need. He rejects the idea of her being their mother and his wife instantly. The twins, however, have other ideas. The girls become attached to Loreli and no other woman is good enough to become their new mama, so Jake reluctantly propositions Loreli; he wants her to become the twins¿ mother and his wife for one year, until he can find a more suitable bride. Things progress from there and the two develop feelings for one another that can¿t be denied but there are forces at work bent on keeping them apart. One of those forces shows up in the form of an ex-lover of Loreli¿s. He proves to be the deciding factor for the break-up of the Jake and Loreli {but not for reasons you might guess¿I¿ll let you read it for yourselves to find out what happens}. Not wanting to give too much away; love prevails and the two come back together become a family. I though the story was a good read. The like it when an author allows the man to play hard to get in a love story sometimes. We always hear about how the man has to win the woman over but it was the other way around in this story. The ending I though was a bit rushed or it could have been that I just didn¿t want the story to end; either way you will enjoy this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Caught in the pages!!!!!!!

    As always Beverly you did it again. Another book that has caught my attention in more ways then one. Your writing style, leaves me waiting to read another one of your books. Beginning to End your books are always worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    FANTASTIC!!!

    If you like books with strong women characters, then this is the book for you... The dialogue in this book is just great. Any exchange between the main character Loreli and anyone else is just great...I ordered the book online so that I wouldn't have to worry about looking for it when it came out. I have had it about a week and have read it twice already. The ending does seem a bit rushed and I wish that there would have been an Epilogue. It was a happy ending, but it could have answered a lot of the unanswered questions that I now have. I could have read 372 more pages of this book. It is a winner!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    you won't want to put it down

    As always, Beverly Jenkins has written another wonderful book. This is very good reading. I am always impressed by the history facts as well as with the plot and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb historical romance

    In 1884, Loreli Winters travels as part of a contingent of Black mail order brides. However, unlike the rest of the females, Loreli has no intention of marrying anyone nor live in the small Black community of Hanks, Kansas. She signed on for the adventure of going west and plans to continue on to California. <P>Two little girls, Bebe and Dede learn that Loreli is not intending to be anyone¿s mother, and decide she will be their new mama. Loreli worries about the twins being by themselves so she insists on escorting them home. She meets their Uncle Jake Reed and both mutually agree that matrimony is not in either of their plans. However, neither one realize yet how far two desperate matchmaking preadolescents will go to make Loreli their new mama. As they protest a little bit louder then necessary, inside their hearts Jake and Loreli are falling in love. <P>When one reads a Beverly Jenkins historical romance, the flavor of the era from a different perspective freely flows through a wonderful tale. A CHANCE AT LOVE is a chance for the audience to learn about American Blacks in the 1880s yet while doing so inside a strong engaging novel. The story line is vividly descriptive, but also provides fully developed characters. Fans the author¿s previous books will relish Loreli finally as the lead and know she met her soul mate. The twins with their actions somewhat steal the show, but the real strength of this story remains the period piece that displays the immense talent of Ms. Jenkins. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Another great book from a great author!

    I haven't read it yet, but anything Beverly writes is always wonderful. I always tell myself that I'm going to pace my reading so I can enjoy the book longer since it will be another year before we get another one. But . . . I finish it in one evening. Because I can't put it down! Her books transport you back to those times. I simply love everything she writes. I anxiously wait the arrival of A Chance at Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3