Customer Reviews for

Chanda's Secrets

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    the new the improved review of chandas secrets

    I love this book. It shows courage and bravery. Also the willing to keep a family togather. As a sixteen year-old girl learns secerts and the strength she neverb knew she had, Chanda's Secerts is a wonderful breath taking book written by Allen Stratton. This author is very talented and able to keep you on the edge of you seat during then time you read this book. As you get closer to the end of this book you'll discover secerts about a young girl name Chanda

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book!

    The book Chanda's Secrets, by Allan Stratton, is a wonderful book that everyone should read. It is about a young girl in Africa who is greatly affected by AIDS. In the book, everyone is afraid of AIDS and they treat it like something to hide because it is said to bring shame to your family. Chanda must discover the secrets of her past and how AIDS is intertwined into it. Throughout the book Chanda is very brave and she is not afraid in the journey to save those she loves. In the book, Chanda must learn that the truth may be scary, but it is something you must live with.
    This book was very interesting and heartfelt because it shows AIDS from the point of view of a teenage girl. In the beginning of the book Chanda is forced to deal with the loss of her baby sister, Sara. In the middle of the book when Chanda is describing her childhood, Chanda is faced with the death of her father. In the end of the book, Chanda must go against what everyone says about AIDS and do what she knows is right in order to keep her family together. The plot of this book stays very true to the many lives of actual teenagers affected by AIDS in Africa.
    Allan Stratton did an excellent job writing this book so the reader could get a clearer idea of what is truly going on with AIDS in Africa. Chanda is a very brave teenage girl and throughout the story she stays faithful to her heart and does what she knows is right. The story tells the reader to follow what their heart is telling them and to do what is right despite what other people think. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to learn more about AIDS in Africa. I would give this book five stars because it is very well written and suspenseful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    one of my favorite books

    this book is so sad but i love it ...it will make you cry it starts out sad and ends sad........the book helps people realize more about aids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    bestest

    this was the best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Secrets revealed

    Chanda is a 16-year-old girl in Southern Africa who dreams of attending college. But she is held from her studies by loyalty to her mother and younger siblings, who suffer from the problems that come with Chanda¿s drunken stepfather, a crippling economic crisis, and the ever-pending threat of HIV/AIDS. Chanda has to help Mama with the children, distract the nosy neighbors, care for her promiscuous best friend, and brave the innumerable internal struggles that come with growing up. This is a beautifully told tale that will open young adults¿ eyes to the hardships of a very real part of our world. It will break their hearts with the despair that surrounds Stratton¿s young heroine, and fill them with hope as they see her overcome it. Chanda¿s Secrets is a must-read piece of contemporary realistic fiction, appropriate for tenth grade and higher.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Chanda's Secrets by Allan Stratton (Annick Press) Video Preview

    Since the book is written for teens, it makes sense to introduce the books to them with a video. Even though we're hugely biased because we in fact produced it, I am very happy to have had the opportunity to read Mr. Stratton's work. Not only it is authentic, but really does bring a human face to the suffering experienced by those afflicted. I highly recommend a full read. <BR/><BR/>http://bookshorts.blip.tv/file/1380324

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Book reiview on Chanda's Secrets

    Chanda¿s Secrets is an amazing book amd it was written by Allan Stratton. It is about a girl who lives in Africa, named Chanda who has to overcome a lot of problems in her life that are all related to AIDS. One of the problems that she has to face involves her mother who ends up getting AIDS. While Chanda is taking care of her mother, she also has to try and keep her best friend, Esther, out of trouble. She also has to deal with her stepfather and take care of her little brother and sister. Chanda¿s Secrets is an inspirational book that teaches people that they can overcome anything as long as they believe in themselves, and pray. I love this book because it has so much prayer and faith in it. I also like when Chanda says that she thinks her ¿guardian stork¿ is her guardian angel. I love how it teaches you to believe in yourself and that you can overcome anything. However, it is very sad because it points out how AIDS is a serious disease in Africa. It also points out that the AIDS problem needs to be getting more attention so that it can be resolved. Mr. Stratton did a great job on making sure that the AIDS point gets across. After reading this book, it made me feel thankful for all that I have. It is defiantly a ¿Must-read¿ book. Everyone from eighth grade and up should read it. I have nothing bad to say about this book and I would also recommend this book to anyone who likes adventurous and emotional books. So, you should put this book on top of your book list and read it as soon as you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Chanda's Secrets

    This book makes you wake up and relize that life isn't perfect for anyone, and how different peoples lives are compared to ours in the US. It's an amazing book about a girl that lives in South Africa with people that have AIDS. Where everything is hush hush and you don't know who does and who doesn't. Very Moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Chanda's Secrets

    When I chose to read Chanda's Secrets it was outside of my comfort zone for reading. I usually choose books on a lighter note, but after reading Chanda's Secrets my life has changed. It made me open my eyes and realize that whats happening here in America, in my eyes, is not whats happening in the real world around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    see here

    Chanda's Secrets was an amazing book. I really liked reading it, I would recommend it to anybody. i couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    If everyone in the world read this book, the world would be a different place

    This book opens the eyes of the reader to the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Africa and the struggle they are going through. Yes, the characters in this book are fictional but I'm sure someone in Africa has gone through the events in this book in their real life. As a reader, you are pulled into the emotions of Chanda, a teanager in Africa, and cry and laugh with her. You learn not to care what other people think and go about your own business. You learn many things about how to live your own life. When you are reading the book, you forget that this is going on in the world right now and there is something that can be done to make the situation better for those people. At the end of the school year last year, everyone in our class brought in blankets, clothes, books, supplies, etc. for kids in Zimbabwe and we really learned a lot from it. We all got inspired to help those kids just from packing up boxes and bringing in things. Just from reading this book, you also get inspired to help these people. You suddenly realize how lucky you are. That is extremely important for most teenagers in this country right now. So read this book, it will not only benefit the people in Africa, but it will also benefit you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    I Couldnt put it down

    I reallly enjoyed the book because it tells us that even people who are sick need someone to lean on and people to support them. I am not a person who reads every day. I read abot 2 books a year because the school makes me. No one had to make me read this book i just couldnt put it down. I think this book rocks!! (not in a thrilling way but in the manner of it being true)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Chanda's Secrets In Review

    Chanda's Secrets is the most touching and beautiful story I have Ever come across. The courage and bravery of a young person fighting the AIDS/HIV pandemic can not be easily earned. I found myself crying and greiving with Chanda. By far the best book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Chanda's Secret: Was an fantastic book!

    I loved that book it really shined the light on how people really act when it comes to the aids epedemic. It was so hard to put down I finished it in one day. It's also good for teens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    A Compelling Story..

    This is a very compelling story. I couldn't put it down. It is very heart-wrenching. You could feel the passion that the author had in writing this story. It tells us what not everyone may want to hear about AIDS. AIDS is real and we should learn all we can about it. I highly suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    The Best Book of the Year

    Allan Stratton really hit it home as to how people really act when AIDS is the issue at hand. He really showed how AIDS doesnt change who you are its just a little peice that is different. GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Chanda's Secret

    I thought the book was great. My best friend knows the author. It is definatly a book I will read over and over again. It is a sad heart wrenching book but at the same time you are not able to take your eyes off of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Chanda's Secrets

    I'm 13 and my teacher gave me this book signed by the author, Allan Stratton. I haven't quite finished it but it is very good and I think everyone should read it. I can't wait to get to the end. It is one of the few books I may read twice or more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2