Customer Reviews for

Change Anything: The New Science of Personal Success

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple, yet profound model to enable lasting change

    Change Anything is an outstanding work that, like the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, has the potential to change millions of lives. The authors' simple, yet profound model helps readers understand the forces that create and enforce our bad habits as well as the forces we can marshal to help us truly change for good. As I have studied and applied each concept, I have been able to overcome long-standing barriers to change in both my personal and professional life. I also found the individual case studies inspiring and instructive. I strongly recommend this book to anyone seeking a model to help them overcome long-standing challenges in their own life or in the lives of their loved ones and associates. Enjoy changing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    This book has measurably impacted my Army career

    I knew from my personal success applying the research and skills found in Crucial Conversations and Crucial Confrontations that I could expect from Change Anything comparable impact in the areas of my life that matter most. I decided to request an advanced copy of the book and to put my high expectations to the test by attempting to change the primary impediment to my career advancement as a US Army Reserve Officer, my weight. I had struggled with my weight since my teenage years and found it virtually impossible to balance my physical fitness needs with my civilian career and my personal obligations as a husband and father of four. Now 10 weeks in to my change plan, I have lost 26 lbs. and increased my score on the physical fitness test by 46%! Most importantly, I am convinced that the science of personal success that I have learned in Change Anything has truly rooted itself into a state of irreversible momentum in my personal behavior and choices when it comes to fitness and nutritional health. My career trajectory has dramatically changed from the brink of separation from the service to one of near term promotion and future positions of increased responsibility. I have not yet reached my goal, but I have a plan that is working and a firm understanding of how to sustain my progress. The authors at VitalSmarts have done it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Highly recommended, Changing never been easier

    At first I thought it was going to be difficult to change certain less desirable habits that I had. I have not approached all bad habits but those that I have are changing quickly. The steps that are laid out in this book make them much more simple than I ever imagined. It improves understanding of what keeps us from changing when we attempt change and the vital behaviors that enable us to change permanently. It is a book that contains strategies for which anyone could find a use. It doesn't take the effort out of it, but it builds a system to keep your footing while you climb the behavior change mountain. I would recommend it for anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Practical, Proven, Powerful

    I studied the readers proof about 2 months ago and have been applying these tools. Short answer: They work!

    The book flows with powerful insight, practical helps and great examples. Arguably the essence of life is being able to direct and improve that life. Yet most of us struggle to find enough willpower to achieve those illusive goals. This book shows you how to literally change your world so that you become what you want to be.

    Worth reading, rereading, applying and sharing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Best Book on Personal Change!!!

    I read a ton of books on change/influence and there are so many books out there on changing your behavior (losing weight, quitting smoking, getting out of debt, improving your career, etc.)...this one has real science to it. It doesn't just tell you, "hey, this change strategy worked for me and I guarantee it will work for you!" or "Eat this one thing and you'll lose 100 pounds!" It gives you an overall model for change and then shows you how to create the perfect change plan that fits YOU...sensitive to YOUR weaknesses...and considers YOUR special challenges. And the people that used the model have been able to sustain their change for years!!! This isn't some silver bullet that loses its potency after 3 months.

    I'm using the model and am creating awesome changes (in a way that I actually sustain).

    Interesting, insightful, and proven!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    A fresh approach to Change

    Finally a guide to change that isn't about simply trying harder, relying on willpower, or using a blanket approach to kicking your unique bad habits.

    The authors of the book assert that willpower has very little to do with our ability to change. In fact, our behavior has very little to do with our willpower and everything to do with six influences. These six influences are social, structural, and personal components that determine/govern our behavior. When we make changes in each of these areas, we increase our chances of successfully kicking our bad habits exponentially.

    Change Anything provides actionable advice that empowers individuals to change life-long bad habits. I particularly love the concept of being both the scientist and the subject - that means, creating a change plan that is custom to your goals and your needs. Doing so will require some trial and error. However, eventually, you will figure out the unique change plan that is as unique as you.

    I highly recommend Change Anything for any person looking to kick a bad habit, overcome detrimental behaviors, or simply change their life for the better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Change Anything

    People who want to gain financial security, break a bad habit or change their lives in a major way are far more likely to succeed if they tailor ¿six sources of influence¿ to reshape their lives. In their book about the ¿science of personal success,¿ corporate trainers Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler explain exactly how to bring this power to bear in your life and why it works. getAbstract recommends this illuminating, helpful book to people who want to save money, conquer fear and become more healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3