BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

It Works....

I actually bought this book a year ago. I started to read and put it down. I just wasn't ready. In April, I started Tai Chi and then began the book, as the ancient practice and this book are true companions. I read a chapter a night, almost done. I have started to ...
I actually bought this book a year ago. I started to read and put it down. I just wasn't ready. In April, I started Tai Chi and then began the book, as the ancient practice and this book are true companions. I read a chapter a night, almost done. I have started to apply the wisdom to my daily life and am finding peace in this chaotic world. It does work. I have highlighted points that strike me, and once done, will begin again and reflect on those thoughts. For anyone ready to remove the drama from their lives and find some peace, this is a great book to start the journey.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth It

I bought the book thinking it was interesting. That same day I saw him on TV and watched for about an hour. Did not have any inspiration whatsoever. Made me want to return the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    It Works....

    I actually bought this book a year ago. I started to read and put it down. I just wasn't ready. In April, I started Tai Chi and then began the book, as the ancient practice and this book are true companions. I read a chapter a night, almost done. I have started to apply the wisdom to my daily life and am finding peace in this chaotic world. It does work. I have highlighted points that strike me, and once done, will begin again and reflect on those thoughts. For anyone ready to remove the drama from their lives and find some peace, this is a great book to start the journey.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Change your thoughts, and you'll change your whole life, it totally works!

    It does not matter in what religion you are, this is for everyone.There is only one verse to read and you will notice that is a very special book that will help you find answers in life. This book is so inspiring and motiving. This book is better than any medicine out there, it is a very powerful book. This has been one of my favorites books of all-times. Highly recommended.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Words to live by."

    Tao Te Ching, the "Great Way," contains the 81 verses of Lao-tzu, a Chinese philosopher (604 BCE - 531 BCE). Wayne Dyer spent the better part of a year researching translations of Lao-tzu's verses and has compiled them in a magnificent book where he speaks of the modern-day application of each of Lao-tzu's teachings. One of Lao-tzu's most famous teachings is, "The journey of 1000 miles begins with the first step," or "...begins beneath one's feet," depending on which translation you read. The book is profound, moving, and is meant to be read and savored over time. Dyer has been writing about all things transformational for many years and not only does this book not disappoint, it may very well be the hallmark of his work. Chapters are titled "Living by Letting Go," "Living Untroubled by Good or Bad Fortune," "Living in Wholeness." In the world we inhabit today, these are words to live by.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life

    Wayne Dyer's Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life is a great interpretation of the ancient Tao Te Ching. Wayne begins each chapter with an excerpt from one of the various Tao Te Ching then goes on to decipher the mystery of the message. Utilizing his clear & peaceful state of mind he brings his enlightened state to mix with this ancient wisdom.
    Together it creates a wonderful balance of contemplations that will not only inspire you but get you into a peaceful state for the day. Wayne Dyer's words carry light and that is what you will feel reading this book of ancient wisdom brought into a modern perspective. Enjoy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    It doesn't matter who you are, what you do, what you earn, where you live, etc THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU! This is my first, and so far, only review I've ever entered. I just finished the last of 8 CD's in this book set and can't wait to start it over again! Especially for commuters, this is the perfect way to not only pass the time, but enjoy it! Dr Dyer is superb in his translation of the Tao Te Ching and can be applied anytime, anywhere!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A good book in understanding a perspective of the Tao

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was motivating and inspiring, and if you are able to apply it to your life, you will be better for it. The Tao lets you "let go" of emotions and situations that are painful. I would like to say that this is Mr. Dyers perspective of the Tao. Everybody should read the Tao on their own to see how they read it. You can type in Tao on any search engine on the web, and you will see places to go to understand it and read the verses. However, I do believe that this is a really well explained book, and Mr. Dyer really helps you understand the Tao wisdom. This is not a book that will change your life overnight, as the Tao wisdom can take a lifetime to master, if someone ever does, but it will really change your life, and you will be better for it. Any religion can practice this wisdom.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    I'm On The Third Time!

    At the beginning of a long road trip, I slipped the CD version of Wayne Dyer's thoughts on the Tao Te Ching into my player and began to listen. I've been familiar with Lao-tzu's writings for many years, but Dyer's research and presentation skills made the ancient wisdom ever so accessible. I am on my third time listening to the 81 verses and find I am observing both my life and the world from a new perspective--more hope filled and with a fresh, gentler view of what true strength means. It all makes so much sense! I am also aware of a deep desire to change some of my values and thoughts to be more in harmony with the Tao. I practice these new insights daily. Thank you, Dr Dyer, for not only your research and writing, but that you practiced LIVING the Tao personally.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Inspirational

    This is one of the best books to read for anyone who would like to change the life its been living till now. I do recomend it very much. It is very inspiring and simple to understand so it is good for anyone intrested in hope and inspiration.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    A wonderful book!

    I read a passage or more from this book each day. Since getting this book I have begun living and studying the Tao Te Ching. It has already had a positive effect on my life. I suggest anyone just crack it open and read a passage. You will truly enjoy it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    My favorite book!

    This should be required reading for all adults. Do the recommended program of reading one verse per day, then digest it, followed by practice. It will change the way you think about things, and your life!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Great read...

    This book really helps explain a text that was written over 2,000 years ago. It also helps bring meaning the the current era and found it to be quite useful.

    Thank you Dr. Wayne Dyer!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    This book is the best book I have ever read, it has changed my life.

    I have read Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life by Dr.Wayne Dyer several times and my life has been changed. It is a book I keep readily available to pick up and re-read so it can become a way of life for me. Dr. Dyer's explanation of the "Tao" is easily read and understood leaving the reader with an unexpected sense of peace and understanding of life. It does not take sides it simply explains what we humans tend to loose site of. It all makes such amazing sense if the reader simply takes the time to enlighten themselves. Dr. Dyer's gift of explaining the thoughts of the Tao should be read by all those in leadership rolls as well as by the average person like myself, as it could and would make this world and our homes a peaceful place in which to live. I have passed this book onto all of my family members and will continue giving it as gifts as long as I am able. Thank you Dr. Dyer, you have changed my life through your efforts and I am certain your explanation of the Tao has changed the lives of others as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Living The Tao!

    Reading a chapter a day, I find this book thought-provoking, inspiring, balancing. An enjoyable read in layman's terms. I have recommended it to friends, and bought it as gifts. Thank you, Wayne Dyer, for another great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Good positive thinking book

    Based on Tao principles, this book is valuable but doesn't offer any new or ground breaking perspectives. I prefer the best-selling book by Dr. Rosalene Glickman to learn how to optimize your thoughts, feelings, relationships and any situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    He Makes a Classic Understandable and Practical

    I love Wayne Dyer's books and I loved this new one. I have tried to read the Tao before and thought it was very interesting but hard to understand. Also, each translation of it is different and I wasn't sure which one was more 'correct'. Wayne worked with several translations and interpreted the Tao in a way that I trust and found very enjoyable and beneficial. How lovely it is that he wrote this book on the ancient wisdom that has been elusive to me for so long. Highest recommendations!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    very highly recommended

    I have read several Wayne Dyer books and this one I finally understood enough to incorporate in my life. I've told several people reading this book is like doing yoga. I feel so calm when reading each verse and his interpretation. I think you must be in the right time in your life to 'get this'. I have always thought about myself as more than a 'body' and this book kind of makes it all make sense of how I've felt for years. I wish I had "gotten it" years ago but I guess at 49 it's not too late. If we all read and understood and incorporated this in our everyday living, the world would be a better more peaceful place to live in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Wayne Dyer, one of a kind!

    Over 25 years of writing self-help from a cognitive-behavioral perspective has made Dyer one of the most prolific self-help writers, as described in the book by Peter Teiman,'One man's crusade'.Read the latest Dyer book and benefit immediately by it's wisdom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    Not Worth It

    I bought the book thinking it was interesting. That same day I saw him on TV and watched for about an hour. Did not have any inspiration whatsoever. Made me want to return the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Its good

    Its good. Will quench your spiritual thirst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Good Read

    Lots of commonsense that we all need to be reminded about. Some different ways of looking at things. Very enjoyable and worth while to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5