Customer Reviews for

Change of Heart

Average Rating 4
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Change of Heart

Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. I...
Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. It tested the limits of even my beliefs but I realized that is what she wanted to do. She wants to make you think about where you are and have you come to your own conclusion. She never says what is right or wrong and that's why I come back to this author time and again.
Maggie had to deal with the faith she had and a client who really didn't want help. He had things figured out just wanted to go through with them. Father Michael say things that even he wasn't sure were happening. Lucius, the cell mate next to Shay, was shocked by all that he saw. June doing her best to deal with the deaths of her loved ones wasn't sure she could accept the one thing that could keep her life going.
This is one book that will keep you turning pages from every point of view. It does test boundaries but like every other book I have read by her truly makes you think. This is definitely going on my list of favorites for just how open she is with all sides of the issue. I can say I am not for the death penalty but I can see in which instances it might be the only way. Ms. Picoult really does her work and it shows on each and every page.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs down...

Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

posted by 2770761 on March 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 496 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Change of Heart

    Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. It tested the limits of even my beliefs but I realized that is what she wanted to do. She wants to make you think about where you are and have you come to your own conclusion. She never says what is right or wrong and that's why I come back to this author time and again.
    Maggie had to deal with the faith she had and a client who really didn't want help. He had things figured out just wanted to go through with them. Father Michael say things that even he wasn't sure were happening. Lucius, the cell mate next to Shay, was shocked by all that he saw. June doing her best to deal with the deaths of her loved ones wasn't sure she could accept the one thing that could keep her life going.
    This is one book that will keep you turning pages from every point of view. It does test boundaries but like every other book I have read by her truly makes you think. This is definitely going on my list of favorites for just how open she is with all sides of the issue. I can say I am not for the death penalty but I can see in which instances it might be the only way. Ms. Picoult really does her work and it shows on each and every page.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    My favorite by Jodi

    I LOVED this book. It kept me reading and intrigued. I love the fact that the story is told from each persons perspective. It really makes you stop and think. I had trouble relating to the mom though. As a mom myself, I would have done it in a heart beat. No pun intended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    Thumbs down...

    Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Disappointed

    I've read all of Jodi Picoult's book. She is one of my favorite authors. I have to say I was disappointed with this one. Not much of a story of what actually happened in her househould and to close to the move Walking the Green Mile. I read it though because I kept thinking, it will get real any minute but it never did. Oh well, I'm sure they can't all be great.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Eye opener

    A must read for anyone and everyone. Definitely makes you think and see all sides to the situation. One of my favorite Jodi books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Tedious and hard going!

    This is my first book by this author, and I must admit I was put off by the similarity to "The green mile". I was disappointed, and abandoned the book half way through.
    I also found myself getting a bit bored with the meticulous attention to every tiny detail. When I read a fiction novel I look to be entertained, not educated! If I needed to know the finer details of how the heart works, and life on 'death row' I would buy text books on those subjects.
    I feel that way too much attention to details a little tedious to say the least.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clever Title

    Worth reading if you like her other stuff. Heavy on the religion but not preachy. Not a terribly surprising ending, but good. Worth the time.

    *SPOILERS*






    Jodi sure does have a thing for transplants.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Predictable

    I think Jodi Picoult is one of the best authors I've found lately, and enjoy the way she can turn both a phrase and a plot. This book however, is much too predictable. The title gives away the ending, plain and simple, and takes the punch out of all the events leading up to it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    loved it..!

    I enjoyed this book so much..my first by Jodi Picoult, I cannot wait to read more by her, I love a great storyteller and she is that!!!..I don't understand the bad reviews but i guess to each his own..I'm adding Jodi to my fave author list, cant wait to read more by her..! It was a great story kept me wanting to find out what next..! Great book, in my opinion..!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    First book i read by her

    And it was amazing. Now i read her books like she's the only author that exists

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great read

    She does an awesome job on creating such thought provoking idwas

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Another good book by Jodi Picoult

    No matter what the subject of her books, Jodi Picoult has a definite way making her characters come alive. Good Read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Loved it

    My favorite of her books! Really makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great

    Such a great read.....I love her writting!!!! Couldnt put it down...was hooked frim the first sentence

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Anything by Jodi Picoult is a must read but Change of Heart is b

    Anything by Jodi Picoult is a must read but Change of Heart is by far my favorite of hers. I highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love books

    Amazing,picoult continues to write real life fictionin ways most can not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazinggg!!!!

    At first i was hesitant to buy it because some people said it dragged, but when i read this book, i fell in love!!! Its a really good book and if you are thinking about buying it, dont wait any longer because you wont regret it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Heart capturing story

    Couldnt put it down......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was great..
    Couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book

    Great read it in a book club and couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 496 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25