Customer Reviews for

Change of Heart

Average Rating 4
( 493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Change of Heart

Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. I...
Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. It tested the limits of even my beliefs but I realized that is what she wanted to do. She wants to make you think about where you are and have you come to your own conclusion. She never says what is right or wrong and that's why I come back to this author time and again.
Maggie had to deal with the faith she had and a client who really didn't want help. He had things figured out just wanted to go through with them. Father Michael say things that even he wasn't sure were happening. Lucius, the cell mate next to Shay, was shocked by all that he saw. June doing her best to deal with the deaths of her loved ones wasn't sure she could accept the one thing that could keep her life going.
This is one book that will keep you turning pages from every point of view. It does test boundaries but like every other book I have read by her truly makes you think. This is definitely going on my list of favorites for just how open she is with all sides of the issue. I can say I am not for the death penalty but I can see in which instances it might be the only way. Ms. Picoult really does her work and it shows on each and every page.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs down...

Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

posted by 2770761 on March 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read, and for the most part, loved, all of this author's work. I bought this book on the day of its publication, eager to read it. I was sadly disappointed in this book. Very little character development and the story was a bad re-make of 'The Green Mile'. Don't waste your money or time on this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Reminded me of Green Mile

    Before she even referrenced the title in her book I thought it reminded me of the Green Mile. In addition one of her characters is named Dufresne, a character name from Shaw Shank redemption both books were from Stephen King. I would recommend not wasting your time on this novel but definitely read her prior works. Hopefully this was just a glich.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Change of Heart

    About Jodi Picoult? I gave this book a try, and I have to say, her writing style and quality is on par with the novels that give mass market fiction books a bad name. This is dime store, bad Lifetime movie of the week writing. Thumbs down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Oops!

    A rare miss by a very talented writer. The plot was thin and uninteresting and the characters were paper-thin with little or no substance or likeability. If you are a first time Picoult reader, don't let this failure deter you from trying her other novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Change of Heart

    I've heard a lot of build up for this writer, but everything I read by her feels the same. This is the first book by her I've actually been able to finish, so it's the only one I can review. It was still a terrible book. All of her characters are bland and unrealistic, and all of her ideas are very cliche and weak and ill-researched!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Not Good

    A book full of characters about whom I couldn't have cared less, with the 'Jesus will save you,' theme, rendered in insipid dialogue, pounding into the reader relentlessly. Like other reviewers, when I read the synopsis, I had hopes of something like My Sister's Keeper--one of the best books I've ever read. I was so very, very wrong. I was listening to the audio version, and at the end of disc 4, I packed the whole thing in its box and donated it to the library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Huge disappointment

    Although I have enjoyed all of Ms Picoult's earlier works, I found Change of Heart very disappointing. I felt no connection to any of the characters, the plot developed very slowly, and the more I read, the less interested I became. I finally gave up on page 200. It is a departure for this talented author. Her other books are wonderful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Not impressed

    Predictable and wordy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    How would I know............

    There is nothing wrong with the credit card I gave you, it is your inability to send me this particular book to my Nook Color. Your problem, now has become my problem!!!! Very unhappy And you wont allow me to post this rate of your services without a review!! Ha HA...so I will have to rate a book you have made impossible for me to read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    would not recommend

    I only got 11 pages of this book, so No i would not recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    BORING, PREDICTABLE

    I agree with the other posters that this book was too similar to "The Green Mile," so much though that Jodi P. pretty much just stole Stephen King's (who BTW is a much better writer) idea.
    As for the ending, when June realized the truth about Elizabeth's abuse, I wanted to yell, "It was staring you right in the face."
    I have read 6 Picoult novels so far, and except for The Pact, they are mediocre. Most times they have horrible endings especially (My Sister's Keeper,) (Nineteen Minutes), (Plain Truth), (Tenth Circle), and of course, this one.
    I fail to see why people think this writer is so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Offensive and Unoriginal *some spoilers*

    I find it funny that a lot of reviewers were complaining that this book was too religious or that there was a pro-Christian slant. I can tell you as a Christian that I was nothing but offended by this book. Besides being an obvious Green Mile ripoff, it wasn't even written well. A priest decides that a muderer is the Messiah because he performs a few tricks and knows some information from a book that was not included in the Bible? Really? I found all of the main players flat and ridiculously weak of character, and I felt that Christianity was misrepresented. I actually love some other books by this author (My Ssister's Keeper,House Rules, The Tenth Circle) but this on is a completely trashy mess that I would skip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Thumbs down on this one!!

    I have been a huge Jodi Picould fan, but this one is, to me a total bust! Thumbs down all the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite book.

    I have to say this is the first book that I read from this writter. I found it to be boring and predictable. It really jumps from character to charatcher. I felt I was unable to relate to any of the chracters. I just did not like the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    not interested in book

    I just could not get interested in the plot so did not finish the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Change of Heart

    Another predictable, cliched, and overly weepy journey through mediocrity from overly celebrated author Jodi Picoult. She's made a practice of touting her novels as being thoroughly researched, but this one serves as yet another example of how very basic that research is. Full of contrivances to move along her thin plot and overly emotional speeches that sound as unauthentic as the experiences the characters go through. No reason to care about the poorly fleshed out characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2