Customer Reviews for

Change of Heart

Average Rating 4
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Change of Heart

Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. I...
Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. It tested the limits of even my beliefs but I realized that is what she wanted to do. She wants to make you think about where you are and have you come to your own conclusion. She never says what is right or wrong and that's why I come back to this author time and again.
Maggie had to deal with the faith she had and a client who really didn't want help. He had things figured out just wanted to go through with them. Father Michael say things that even he wasn't sure were happening. Lucius, the cell mate next to Shay, was shocked by all that he saw. June doing her best to deal with the deaths of her loved ones wasn't sure she could accept the one thing that could keep her life going.
This is one book that will keep you turning pages from every point of view. It does test boundaries but like every other book I have read by her truly makes you think. This is definitely going on my list of favorites for just how open she is with all sides of the issue. I can say I am not for the death penalty but I can see in which instances it might be the only way. Ms. Picoult really does her work and it shows on each and every page.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs down...

Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

posted by 2770761 on March 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    Thumbs down...

    Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Disappointed

    I've read all of Jodi Picoult's book. She is one of my favorite authors. I have to say I was disappointed with this one. Not much of a story of what actually happened in her househould and to close to the move Walking the Green Mile. I read it though because I kept thinking, it will get real any minute but it never did. Oh well, I'm sure they can't all be great.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Tedious and hard going!

    This is my first book by this author, and I must admit I was put off by the similarity to "The green mile". I was disappointed, and abandoned the book half way through.
    I also found myself getting a bit bored with the meticulous attention to every tiny detail. When I read a fiction novel I look to be entertained, not educated! If I needed to know the finer details of how the heart works, and life on 'death row' I would buy text books on those subjects.
    I feel that way too much attention to details a little tedious to say the least.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Not very good

    I was terribly disappointed in this book. I love the authors other books, but this one was awful. It was so predictable from just a few pages into the book. The story jumped around too much with too many different plots trying to tie into one storyline. I finished it only because I paid good money for it. I hope her next efforts are better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    High hopes were dashed

    I love Jody Picoult and rush to get her latest novel, but this one left me very disappointed. I actually began reading something else while I was reading this, something I rarely do, because it just didn't hold my attention. While I like her style of writing from many perspectives, several of the characters were not very well developed and a few were not even realistic. I also figured out, very early on, the reason for the murder--no big twists here. Sorry to say, not one of best by a long shot and I would not recommend starting out with this one or you might not read any of her others which are great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    A great disppointment from one of my favorite authors

    I was looking forward to this novel as I do with every one of Jodi Picoult's new books, but found it to be quite annoying and a ridiculous departure from her other works. I felt like I was reading a Stephen King book and I feel some of her more recent books have not been as good as her earlier ones. I had no desire whatsoever to read so much about religion and the Messiah but after all, it was one of Jodi's books so I kept on going. Although Jodi's intelligence and wit still come through on many pages, especially with Maggie Bloom, the core of the book was just not something I liked at all. I have been reading her books from her very first one - before anyone even knew who she was - until this last one and this was definitely the worst of all her books. Such a disappointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Between 'Poor' and 'Disappointing'

    I am an avid reader of Jodi Picoult's books. Jodi Picoult puts a lot of research into her books and it shows. I enjoy reading her controversial topics because they make you think. This book, however, was very disappointing.Too much jumping around. Covering too many issues/topics and not delving into any of the topics deep enough except the religious angle...which was way over the top for me. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    A Let Down

    Jodi Picoult is my favorite author.Although this book was not among her best.I didn't like all the focus on religion. It was too eerily similar to The Green Mile.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    don't bother

    I read about 100 pages of this book and skipped to the last couple of chapters to see if it ended like I thought it would-it did. I just couldn't stomach this murderer-turned-Messiah stuff, and while I usually enjoy Picoult's ability to create dilemmas that ordinary people can identify with, this one seems way, way out in left field, and I just don't agree with her anti-death penalty stance. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved My Sister's Keeper, and had high hopes when I started Change of Heart that it might be as good, but the twist is too easy to figure out and there's way too much on religion. Sadly, I skimmed a lot of this book to get to the end, which was predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I could have sworn I read The Green Mile back in 1999. This is not a very original effort from her. I have noticed the more popular she becomes, the less intriguing the subject matter is. Her books until Vanishing Acts were amazing. Now I think she's trying to hard. And this is a perfect example. Sorry, Jodi. Stephen King had this idea already!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read just about everything Jodi Picoult has written and this is not typical. I am, like another reviewer, half way through the book and just have no desire to finish. I can't believe this is the same author! I couldn't wait for it to arrive and now I wish I could send it back. Very sad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    blah

    I normally enjoy the books by this author but this one was just blah. the whole christianity thing is just too much and shay just comes off as being creepy. i wish the endings in her books were more detailed because they leave me feeling like I wasted my time since I don't know what really happened. I definitely prefer Handle With Care and My Sisters Keeper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Disappointed

    I enjoy Jodi's books but was disappointed with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    A Different Version of the Green Mile

    I am a big Picoult fan. I love how she gets you to feel as though you really know her characters and how she can make you understand both sides of her story...but "A Change of Heart" is not one of her best novels. It is so much like the "Green Mile" that it does not feel like an original book. The only reason I finished it was to see how she was going to make it different from the "Green Mile". I was very disappointed. If this is your first Picoult novel that you are reading, do not base your opinion here, she has others that you will won't want to put down. If you didn't see the movie the "Green Mile" then you won't appreciate the extreme, almost copied, correlations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite...

    I think I'm done with Adult Fiction for quite a while. I gave it a shot mostly because I was embarrased to still be reading YA. I'm 19 now and I thought it was time for me to at least try to read something that's meant for my age group. I don't care anymore though. I love YA and I won't let something as little as age keep me from it.



    I liked Change of Heart at first... it was pretty good and very interesting. The book had alternating points of view from four different characters, which was the biggest thrill of all, unfortunately.



    I've been reading this book for about 2 weeks and I've only gotten to page 158. I can't possibly read any more of this book right now. Maybe I'll return to it someday, but as of right now, it's absolutely tedious.



    The plot won't move so that means the pages won't either... because I keep falling asleep when I try to read it... Come on Jodi Picoult: I loved your book Perfect Match! It was one of my first reviews (I bet that's easy to tell... not my best writing.) hehe. I have two other books by her that I haven't read yet: The Pact and My Sister's Keeper. I've heard wonderful things about both and hopefully I will like them a lot more than Change of Heart!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wanted something more

    I really wanted to like this book. A friend recommended Jodi Picoult and said this book was her favorite. The description sounded good and I thought it would be an easy read. I was very disappointed. Before to long I felt like I was reading a very bad version of Stephen King's "The Green Mile" mixed with any one of John Grisham's books. I actually almost stopped reading. It got better about half way through and I was able to finish the book. Strangely when I felt the book got better is when the subject of religion actually came into play. I've always been intrigued by the history of religion and the subject of the Gnostic books of the Bible. I learned some things I didn't already know and was pleased to read about a few things most people probably don't realize. I found most of the book predictable, but was slightly surprised in the end to discover Shay might have planned it all. Made me wonder if there was any truth to his story about what really happened the night of the murders. I didn't like ending the book with doubts of one of the main characters true motives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    As a big Jodi Picoult fan, I was really looking forward to Change of Heart. However, I was really let down by this book. It was very slow, at times hard to follow, and for me I was just really disappointed at the ending. I work at a bookstore & others who read this book enjoyed it, but it was one of my least favorites by Jodi Picoult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Definately Not As Good...

    I was expecting another excellent book like Nineteen Minutes, but this one disappointed me. It was predictable and almost boring. Usually I read her books in a few days. I bought this the day it came out and I am not completely done yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    I first became a fan of Picoult¿s after reading My Sister¿s Keeper on a friend¿s recommendation 3 years ago. Like most, I cried my eyes out reading the last 30 or so pages of the book and was hooked after that point. I¿ve since read most of Picoult¿s 15-book library, most recently this book, Change of Heart. While I was excited for a new book of hers, I still haven¿t found another one that moved me like My Sister¿s Keeper yet. From reading the book jacket, I was hoping this one would come close. Unfortunately, it didn¿t even compare. While the story was told in the same manner as My Sister¿s Keeper (each ¿chapter¿ was a different character¿s voice) and made it a quick read (460 pages that I finished over the course of a weekend), it was much too predictable. I guessed what the ¿twist¿ in the plot was about 25 pages into the book (and my guess was confirmed around page 400) and found it so closely mirroring the storyline of Stephen King¿s ¿The Green Mile¿ that I was almost embarrassed for Picoult¿s lack of originality). While this book¿s main character is supposedly a Messiah and King¿s death row inmate was just supposed to be supernatural, without any sort of religious affiliation, the similarities will be clearly apparent to anyone that¿s seen the movie or read the book (one of the glaring similarities includes bringing a fellow inmate¿s dead pet back to life a bird in this book, a mouse in King¿s). Despite these things, I still couldn¿t put the book down since it was such a quick and easy read, it was entertaining enough, and Picoult is an extremely gifted writer, even if her originality is lacking. I must agree with some of the other reviews in that Picoult does not develop a few of the key characters enough, particularly the mother/wife of the victims, June Nealon, and I found that the story line suffered because of it. One of the things that draws me to her books is her intricate character development that takes the reader into the mind and body of that character and makes them a part of the story. I felt that Lucius¿ character didn¿t add much in the way of plot development and didn¿t need to be focused on as much as he was. One thing that I always appreciate about Picoult¿s books is the extensive research she does as she¿s writing them. Because of this I can appreciate the laws, doctrines, gospels, etc. that she speaks of in her novels and know that she¿s done her fact-finding and not making up laws to suit her story. Her legal and religious research is apparent throughout the book and I found it to be a good learning experience. A warning ¿ this book heavily involves religious doctrine, the Bible (both Old and New Testaments), unpublished Gospels of the New Testament. While I am not at all religious and can¿t count on one hand the number of times I¿ve been in church in my life so I found no issues reading this book and was not offended in any way as I¿m quite open to other belief systems, others may be quite sensitive to the ideas presented. Picoult treads a very thin line with several characters including the Priest who is in the midst of a moral and religious crisis, a reformed atheist, an outlandish televangelist, and the ACLU lawyer who was raised Jewish, but considers herself Agnostic and is fighting on behalf of the death row inmate, Shay who many believe is the second coming of Christ. Overall, it¿s an entertaining book, but don¿t bother spending the money on it. Borrow it from a library, wait until it¿s available on paperback, or borrow it from another Picoult fan that bought it with high hopes on the first day it was released (me!).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2