Customer Reviews for

Change of Heart

Average Rating 4
( 493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Change of Heart

Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. I...
Ms. Picoult knows how to pick them. She takes a topic and truly makes you think. I wished at times to have Shay's perspective but then this book probably wouldn't have been so powerful. The different view points got a lot across and I was so enthralled with this book. It tested the limits of even my beliefs but I realized that is what she wanted to do. She wants to make you think about where you are and have you come to your own conclusion. She never says what is right or wrong and that's why I come back to this author time and again.
Maggie had to deal with the faith she had and a client who really didn't want help. He had things figured out just wanted to go through with them. Father Michael say things that even he wasn't sure were happening. Lucius, the cell mate next to Shay, was shocked by all that he saw. June doing her best to deal with the deaths of her loved ones wasn't sure she could accept the one thing that could keep her life going.
This is one book that will keep you turning pages from every point of view. It does test boundaries but like every other book I have read by her truly makes you think. This is definitely going on my list of favorites for just how open she is with all sides of the issue. I can say I am not for the death penalty but I can see in which instances it might be the only way. Ms. Picoult really does her work and it shows on each and every page.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs down...

Not her best book- I have read mostly all of her books and was put off by this one. Didnt keep my attention vs. her other novels where I was able to relate more throughout the entire book.

posted by 2770761 on March 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Predictable

    I think Jodi Picoult is one of the best authors I've found lately, and enjoy the way she can turn both a phrase and a plot. This book however, is much too predictable. The title gives away the ending, plain and simple, and takes the punch out of all the events leading up to it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable

    This was the first book I read by Picoult and I will tell you I was truly disappointed not only did the story drag a bit but the feeling that I was reading "The Green Mile" was very strong and it at first gave me an instant distaste for the writer herself. I wound up enjoying the book half way through the middle and when I say enjoying it wasn't one of these books where you become attached it was just ok reading. I think the only thing that actually kept me interested was the different type of religious views being that it is one of the things I enjoy studying. However other than that I felt no attachment to the characters the story was predictable and the ending left me unsatisfied. I will try and read another of her books soon and hopefully it will not leave me with the same opinion of the writer that I have now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    This was my first introduction. I don't have anything new to add

    This was my first introduction. I don't have anything new to add to the reviews except if this was one of her worst I can't wait to read her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Intriguing

    This novel got me hooked from the moment read the first chapter. Somewhere towards the middle of the book I found myself reading only to find out if shay was truly a murderor. All of the religions and ideas seemed to become a blur to me and i just wasnt into it for a while. Yet jodi picoults interesting plot and storyline kept me reading and im happy i finished the book.i think her purpose or theme had to be that everyone deserves second chances and that everyone is connected in ways that even religion cannot seperate. I was recommend this book, but keep an open mind and let her words create an intriguing story you shall remember forever. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Everyone Needs Saving

    As all of Picoult's novels this one will keep you reading just to see what the outcome is. Not as thrilling as some of her other novels, but it won't disapoint. Shay Bourne's story will definitely make you see how there is some light even in the darkest tunnels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Okay book

    I am a huge fan of jodi picolt. Everyone loooooves this book but i dont understand what is amazing about it. It was good but i didnt find myself truly wanting to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Gets to your heart not your soul

    An intriguing story about a convicted murderer, sentenced to death, who wants to donate his heart to a family member of his victims. the story has enough twists and turns to keep you interested,, but the religious overtones are a little much and the happily ever after ending was somewhat disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    ok

    I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan but this book, unlike some of her others, did not have an unforseen twist or keep you guessing. It was addly similar to The Green Mile. Althought she does effectivly tugs at all her readers emotions and truly makes you consider each charcters POV it was not my favorie worke. It was very informative when it came to religous history which i found very interesting but the ending was very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Moderately Interesting

    Not the best Picoult I've read, because I had it figured out after reading the intro on line. I found none of the dramatic surprises that I've come to anticipate with a Jodi Picoult book, so it was somewhat disappointing. It raised questions regarding the death penalty and treatment of those on death row. It was moderately interesting reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Change of Heart

    Although well written and certainly thought provoking, I found the book somewhat disturbing. Not a feel good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disapointing!!!!

    I am so shocked that Jodi Picoulty wrote this novel. This book started out pretty good typical plot but then it got to wrapped up in religion. I feel an author has to be real carefula and have a skill to be able to tell a story around religion. Picoulty dragged out this novel and made it confusing at times with all the different takes on religion. I also felt this was kind of a copycat of the Green Mile movie although the guy in the Green Mile Movie did not give up a heart, and I actually like the Green Mile. I have read Nineteen minutes by Picoulty and thought that book was great. Adissapointment this one was. I will try another one of her books but not for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Unfortunately, not a 4-star for me.

    Had never read Jodi Picoult prior to "Change of Heart." It was suggested by a member of our book club. Her writing style, for me, is disjointed. I don't like the each person narrative. The plot was interesting. At the very end you get quite a surprise.

    Several of our members also did not like that each chapter is written by a character and the lack of integration of characters and storyline this style of writing offers. If this style does not bother you, it is a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read to your heart's content

    Jodi's Change of Heart kept me riveted as I sailed down 101, roundtrip San Francisco-Los Angeles, listening to this captivating audio book. I hated turning it off to pump gasoline; the suspense she created through the twists and turns of plot and the bonds formed between the characters and the characters with me, brought me squarely into the living story. I'd never have guessed "who done it" or the bittersweet conclusion; you've got to read it to find out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Change of Heart

    I love Jodi Picoult's sensitive, paradoxical handling of sensitive issues.
    However, for me, there was too much "prison time" in this book. I was repulsed, rather than sensitized, by the details of prison life and how the prisoners related to each other. Creating a self confessed murderer as a Christ figure counteracted my "willing suspension of disbelief."
    I finished the book to see how Picoult handled the climax, but when I put the book down each time, I was not eager to return to reading it. I'm looking forward to the next Picoult novel which, hopefully, will not be set in a prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    A page turner

    Liked the overallplot, kept me interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I almost didn't finish this book. I am glad I did though. I love all of Picoults other books but struggled through this one. As usual Jodi has many twist and turns and for that I ended up enjoying the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Not characteristic of her other books

    I love Jodi Picoult and have read almost all of her books. I was so excited to get this book and I am pretty disappointed. I think the book is okay but I can definitely put this book down (not like her other ones that I read within a week). I also agree with other reviewers that the prisoners characters were too developed. I wanted to read more about June and her family. I know her 2010 book about a boy with autism should be better, hopefully.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Uhhh, it's okay.

    Jodi is one of my favorite authors, I loved My sister's keeper and Plain truth....most of her others, but this one is too outrageous. I didn't appreciate it coming from her....not original, or able to keep me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Not Impressed

    This was not one of my favorites. Usually I can finish her books within two days. Change of Heart is a bit predictable...and impersonal. The characters are not loveable and you are rarely taken into their lives but always put into their minds where they are always deeply thinking in a way that no person does 24/7. Shay Bourne, the murderer, is said to have a speech problem and yet he gives educated speeches..I really wanted to love this book and excpected to but instead I find myself trudging through..there's way too much bible speak.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you read Ms. Picoult's books, you'll realise they follow a pattern. They tend to focus around an issue that's come to a head - this foolows her usual path. I love Jodi when she's good, but regrettably, this was just not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4