Customer Reviews for

Change the Culture, Change the Game: The Breakthrough Strategy for Energizing Your Organization and Creating Accountability for Results

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    One of the most influential books I have ever read

    This book gives you the practical tools you need to bring about change. Its content is not only useful but well described and easy to follow. It has finally brought my frustrations as a leader into focus to create the changes my organization needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Great expectations!

    Finding this, book and applying its principles, has brought about instrumental change in our organization. We are now making sure that each member has a clear vision of the results and of what their role is to achieve them. As a new business we have a strong desire to set the culture correctly right from the beginning and Change the Culture Change the Game is certainly going to play a key role in accomplishing this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Really worth the time to read this!

    Timely, motivating and insightful! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to create a lasting culture that produces advantageous results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Really excellent reading

    If you are looking for an immediate solution to changing the culture of your organization, look no further! Change the Culture change the Game is the resource you need to find that path and begin seeing the turnaround your organization needs. That is not to say this is something that can be implemented in one step, but by following the approach provided here, and maintaining it, you will get results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Long term success?

    The methodology presented in this book is sound and more than likely applicable, but the amount of communication and openness required to maintain this culture long term seems a daunting task. Indeed the change that is called for is necessary, but changing someone's belief system, let alone all in the company, would be an arduous and tricky task. I agree this could be accomplished with consistent actions, but I wonder if it would really become so ingrained as the authors claim. However, there is no doubt an entire company committed to these principles would certainly go far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    A must read!

    An important look at the necessary elements to create a culture based on accountability! This book would benefit anyone who owns a business or is in a position of leadership. It was inspiring to see how the authors showed such an incredibly complex task as manageable and attainable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    A new perspective !

    I hadn't seen my business in this light before! So many times we have tried to bring about culture change only to be met with confusion, or lack of consistent communication that caused it to fail. Little did I know that we were going about it the wrong way, and only involving part of our team instead of the whole! This is just many of the issues we will be solving in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    A huge task.

    Change the Culture Change the game was an interesting read. I think the process they suggest could be very useful, however I think the idea of providing right experiences for individuals to base their beliefs would be difficult to master often enough to really make the desired impact. It just doesn't seem likely that you could measure how the experiences you orchestrate would affect every person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Accountability

    Roger Connors and Tom Smith do an excellent job of defining accountability in terms of its role in culture change. In Chapter 1 they lay out the Steps to Accountability as See It, Own It, Solve It, Do It. These steps are explained thoroughly and the reader is reminded that accountability should not just be thought of as "getting caught failing" and thought of more as "starring in the solution". This insightful approach to culture change is the cornerstone of the process they present in this book and is sure to create positive results when implemented correctly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    A New Approach!

    A new approach! Change the Culture Chang the Game is a sharp look at what really brings about permanent results in business, not by simply changing the goal, but by defining what you want your results to be and changing the actions and thought process of every member of your company to achieve this. This may sound like an insurmountable task, but Roger Connors and Tom Smith have broken the process down in an easy to follow format. With a triangle diagram, they lay out the steps to achieving the necessary changes. 1. Experiences 2. Beliefs 3. Actions 4. Results This process is aimed at bringing about a Culture of Accountability, for as Connors and Smith remind us, "The most effective culture is a culture of accountability." This type of culture is one that will remain constant. It is the hallmark of the company and does not change with staff turnover or economic fluctuation. It is meant to unify the thinking and sense of purpose of all from management to entry-level worker. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    The Advantage you make!

    At a time where organizations are in need of being at the very top of their game to face the current economic state, Change the Culture Change the Game brings clear answers and practical methodology to light. I imagine the most challenging step in this process would be providing the experiences that shape the beliefs of the individuals and to maintain alignment, as explained in Part 2. Connors and Smith define this need by stating; "Alignment is common beliefs and concerted action in collective pursuit of clear result." This book is full of useful tools and principles and is sure to help anyone who is seeking permanent culture change in their organization!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Answers!

    Have you ever found yourself wondering why the steps you are taking to create an effective culture in your organization aren't working? Have you ever implemented a change with the hopes of stimulating production or sales only to be met with little to no success? In Change the Culture Change the Game, the reasons this happens are clearly laid out and a doable solution is offered. For many company's motion replaces action which the authors note is a common misconception. Roger Connor and Tom Smith also show us that another common but misguided attempt may come in the form of only clarifying the organization's intended results with those in leadership. This again, is one of the many ways company's fail to see the bigger issues of needing accountability at the center of any cultural change and, they explain, a change in the beliefs and experiences of every individual who has a part working towards these results. If you are wondering how to bring about cultural change in your organization this is certainly the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Ready for change!

    I was so inspired by the concepts in this book that I have already begun implementing it in my organization and have also ordered it's predecessor, The OZ Principal: Getting Results through Individual and Organizational Accountability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Definitely going to change the game!

    Change the Culture Change the Game is bound to have a lasting impression on the way we handle the culture of business! Roger Connors and Tom Smith have done an expert job of presenting a new approach to achieving the type of business culture that not only prevails but also succeeds in its endeavors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Change the Culture, Change the Game is a book that should be read and applied by every organization that is in need of change. This is a great book for every leader that is interested in creating a strong culture that maximizes their results. The tools and process's are so powerful, yet simple. If you don't read this book, you miss out and the valuable change you and your organization are looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    A Timely Topic

    Just in time to help the economy turn around! This book has a solid foundation on what influences the culture in the work place and how to manage it. The real data on how others made it work for them is also encouraging. What a brilliant model the book has describing how experiences affect beliefs and how those beliefs drive people's actions. I hope more organizations read this book and use it to create a better culture and work environment which will produce better business results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Can your culture today get you the results you are trying to achieve?

    This book helps you understand the impact culture has on your organization and the results you need to achieve. It takes you step by step identifying the culture you have today and the culture you need to have in order to obtain the results you desire. The book includes many real life examples to illustrate how to make the change from your current culture to a new culture. I highly recommend this book to any organization that is not 100% sure they are going to hit the mark this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended Book!!

    An incredible tool for any organization. Simple to follow and apply the concepts to your own workplace and daily life. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3