BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Changeless

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Parasols Prevail Again!

    I am thoroughly in love with Gail Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series. The first book, Soulless, is required reading; not just because it's incredibly fun and a very good tale in its own right, but also because Ms. Carriger's steampunk world is not one I'd recommend jumping into without your parasol, which means you need to begin with book 1 in the series to fully understand and appreciate the storyline in Changeless.
    In Changeless, Carriger expands on her world mythology, bringing Alexia, and therefore the readers, further into the werewolve's world. She also introduces some intriguing new characters.
    Ms. Carriger shows her flare for all things Victorian in this book. In fact, her world play and descriptions of the era, within the steampunk framework, are even more clever on this go-round. I would say that the only weakness, which I observed in the first book, as well, seems to be that the plotting is a bit light. In many books, that has annoyed (and sometimes downright infuriated) me; but the characters and world are so charming, that it's easy to forgive this lapse. If book 3 shows a tightening of the plotting, with a bit more depth and a few more layers, it will take the series to my personal "must read anything she writes" list.
    So, to summarize, if you enjoy good steampunk; spunky heroines; and very original characters, I don't think you'll want to miss Gail Carriger's Parasol Protectorate.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Talented writer. Great story line. Enjoyed this book!

    Talented writer. Great story line. Enjoyed this book!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Another Excellent Book

    Two months into her marriage Alexia Maccon (nee Tarabotti) finds herself alone. Her husband has disappeared into Scotland and a Humanity Plague is robbing all the supernatural beings in London of their powers. As the only preternatural member of the Shadow Council, she must find the source of this new threat to England and neutralize it. Even if it leads her directly into her husband's past.

    Changeless is another excellent romp in steam powered Victorian England. I particularly enjoyed the unearthing of villains both suspected and unsuspected as Lord and Lady Woolsey work together to solve the humanity plague. The dialogue between the two sparkles. Even better is the bumps Alexia experiences as she begins to fully realize what it means to be married to a 200 year old werewolf. A word of caution for the reader: this book ends with setting up the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    A must read for fans of Jane Austen, Victorian literature, steampunk, tea, and fashion!

    I cannot express how much I love this series, and this book in particular! The writing style is impeccably period, while still being accesible to modern readers. If I were rating simply on literary style and flair, it would get five stars! But in the characters of this world lie Ms. Carriger's true genius! In that area, I would happily give Changeless ten stars, if such a rating existed! Each character, down to the merest cameo appearance, comes to life- and in many cases eccentric life- on the page!

    The plot is funny, creative and fresh- I have rarely come across such originality in modern fantasy novels! The steampunk gadgetry element is definitely there, but not so much so that one feels as if one is reading a textbook for would be mechanics. The overall effect is charming, humerous and engaging, and I have been recomending the novel to anyone who will listen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Great steam punk series.

    I wish the author would reconsider ending the series. Love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Great read

    Following shortly after Soulless ended, you can tell "the honeymoon is over" and it's time for life to move on. I'm a newlywed and completely understand this. However, when their work lives bring Alexia and Conall on the same path for different reasons you can see that the fire isn't out. Solving a mystery centuries old is nothing but a job well done for Alexia. Secrets are shared, floating is had, and espionage is afoot. The ending quite made me cry, every girl knows the feeling of rejection and it stings years later when reminded. Thankfully there is another book to keep the tale going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Faboulus Series

    funny corky and a little out there, and who doesnot love a warewolf?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Parasol protectorate

    Whole seris very very goood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    O god

    My my my Alexia you are in a werewolf load of trouble this time.
    Conall u need a chill pill . Lyall find Conall a @#$% chill pill!!! Someone shut felicity up and Conall listen to your wife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    The second helping is just as delicious as the first!

    You will not be disappointed if you loved the first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Very fun!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Honestly, I enjoyed this book more than the first one. Steampunk

    Honestly, I enjoyed this book more than the first one. Steampunk, werewolves, and vamptires--all in 1870 London (and Scotland). I never thought a novel in this setting would have me laughing out loud, as it intended, but it did. Repeatedly. Good story. The only down-side (if it can be called such) is that you will want to immediately jump into the third book ("Blameless") upon completing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Wonderful take on vampires, werewolves, and things that go bump in the night!

    It is a fast enjoyable romp through 19th century England

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Steampunk Dreamland

    This series is an awesome blending of many different styles and ideas to create an addictive entertaining trip through what could have been. It has a little bit of everything and a whole lot of fun and laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    As excellent as the first!

    Alexia Maccon is back in this worthy successor to the first book in the series. Both my husband and I are enjoying this romp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    A fun engrossing read, don't miss it!

    The first I read in this series was discounted, and I was hooked now looking forward to anything that escsapes Gail Carrigers' pen. Her odd characters are endearing and funny, the humor in her writing makes me want to know her. The incidents will have you laughing outloud, and you do forget you're not in the world she's created in her books. ca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Alexia forges ahead...

    Just completed installment No. 2 and I enjoyed it immensely. Thanks to Gail Carriger for bringing to life the indomitable Alexia and her entourage of acquaintances. Wherever she goes chaos will surely ensue! Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Excellent!

    If you like steampunk you'll LOVE these books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Fun & creative

    This serious is truly creative and fun. The characters are rounded and interesting, while the plot is robust eniugh to keeper the reader interested...in book after book after book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Unexpected Twist

    Love this series! The end was really unexpected and I absolutely have to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9