Customer Reviews for

Changeling (Order of Darkness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

As a reader who enjoys historical fiction and Philippa Gregory's

As a reader who enjoys historical fiction and Philippa Gregory's novels I was anxious to read her first Fictional young adult novel. Keeping in mind that the target audience for this book is young adults-or teenagers, this book departs from Ms. Gregory's previous books....
As a reader who enjoys historical fiction and Philippa Gregory's novels I was anxious to read her first Fictional young adult novel. Keeping in mind that the target audience for this book is young adults-or teenagers, this book departs from Ms. Gregory's previous books. The characters were not as well developed and the plot not as detailed as in her other works. I didn't feel as involved with the characters and their quests. While I did enjoy reading it, I felt that it was moke like an introduction into the other books. That being said, I still would probably continue reading the series

posted by ScotsLass on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Madiroxforever@gmail.com

    Add me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Author Philippa Grego

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Author Philippa Gregory writes excellent historical fiction as she is highly knowledgeable and a great writer as well. Her new series, 'Order of Darkness', represents the author's consummate ability to create fiction that not only tells of history but will engage the reader who might shun historical fiction otherwise. The setting is Italy in the year 1453 and seventeen year-old Luca Vero is expelled from his monastery while being recruited by someone at the highest levels of the Catholic Church to investigate religion and its violation by outside forces. Luca meets up with seventeen year old Isolde, now a Lady Abbbess in a nunnery as she refuses to marry the man her noble family has selected. Nuns in Isolde's convent are having visions and show bleeding wounds. Is this evidence of heresy or could it be the work of Isolde's brother and his mistress?

    "The Changeling" is the first in Author Philippa Gregory's new series, 'Order of Darkness', and in CD format, it is read and performed perfectly by distinguished actor, Charlie Cox. "The Changeling" itself is a fine work of historical fiction with fascinating characters like Luca and Isolde. Its dialogue is true to the medieval times in which it takes place but is easily understood and will appeal to the listener. The plot line develops well as Isolde's brother's complicity is not immediately apparent. The listening time is not hours long and CD format fans will enjoy listening to this first-rate story as they commute to work or just go about their everyday business.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Classic, vintage Philippa Gregory.

    Her usual meticulous research for an historical novel, but her muse unfettered by the presence of real people, allowing her fertile imagination to explore new areas.

    I eagerly look forward to the next in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Broken Song

    Awkward silence... :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Teenage Grandma

    I loved the story and I am a grandma! Gregory delivers even for teens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    Excellent !

    A very interesting book, I completely enjoyed it, hope there are more of this story to come, soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Moonshine

    I am not telling you to join our clan cause we are nice and kind but sometimes mean. There as been an evil cat two evil cats. If you want to just visit our camp then go to sunwater all results. See you there. Meet me at result five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Changelingpaw

    Waits for clans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Order of darkness

    Loved it. I love all Ms. Gregorys books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Queen Chrysalis

    You are all my soldiers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Good

    [::::::::::]:::::::::::::::> Cool sword right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    very good-waiting for #2

    A very interesting historical story. Loved it. Everyone should read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Intriguing story

    A wonderful story that I found to be compelling and to keep my interest. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    So good

    It was very interesting and worth the money . Im definetly buying the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great book!

    Interesting twist to todays teen books

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Wow

    A perfect story for fantasy lovers!:)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Middle Agr Middle Ages fun

    A thoroughly, engaging historical novel with delightful characters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2