Customer Reviews for

Changeling Moon (Changeling Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Moonlight Gleam's Bookshelf: Review - Changeling Moon by Dani Harper

Zoey Taylor has a secret, an ability that she wishes she never had. She moves to a small town away from the big city, running away from her fears in hopes of starting new and to discover herself. Zoey's transition is smooth at first, obtaining a position as the new edit...
Zoey Taylor has a secret, an ability that she wishes she never had. She moves to a small town away from the big city, running away from her fears in hopes of starting new and to discover herself. Zoey's transition is smooth at first, obtaining a position as the new editor for the town's paper. One night, after a cold and icey storm, she gets attacked by a wolf on her way to her car. It isn't until Zoey faces the creature while fighting for her life on the roof of her car that she realizes this is no ordinary wolf. Out of nowhere, a man comes rushing out of the dark and saves her, moments after the wolf bites her leg.

As she tries to tell the town residents of the attack, no one seems to believe that she was attacked by a wolf, and insist it was just a dog. The only person who doesn't deny the wolf attack, is the handsome man who saved her that night, Connor Macleod.

Zoey soon discover the reasons why the town's residents want her to stay quiet about the incident. The town holds an old legend. Zoey doesn't believe the legend at first, that is, until the next full moon.

Changeling Moon is a brilliant and captivating new paranormal romance series. Dani Harper does a fantastic job in bringing her characters to life through her detailed descriptions and use of relatable emotions. Connor is a caring and handsome veterinarian with special abilities, and who will do everything he can to protect Zoey from being affected by the wolf's bite. Zoey is a strong, determined, and passionate woman who feels an instant connection to Connor. There is enormous amount of bottled up lust and chemistry between these two characters from the very start, however, their connection may very well be their downfall.

My favorite elements of Changeling Moon are the various abilities presented within the novel. I enjoyed Dani Harper's description of the Changelings, how their abilities are inherited through generations, however, a regular individual can also become a changeling through a single bite. The method to reverse the transition once a person has been bitten is also intriguing. Changeling Moon is a refreshing take on the usual shapeshifting novels. The beautiful cover captures some elements within the novel that may not be obvious at first, and incorporated into the story very nicely.

This novel is the start of a wonderful series. I recommend this Changeling Moon to those who enjoy Paranormal Romance and shapeshifter tales.

5/5 - Must read! Highly Recommended!

posted by MoonlightGleam on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not terrible, not awesome

This book was a good read. Nothing in it really thrilled me but it was ok - especially for a free read.

posted by 584064 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Not terrible, not awesome

    This book was a good read. Nothing in it really thrilled me but it was ok - especially for a free read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Moonlight Gleam's Bookshelf: Review - Changeling Moon by Dani Harper

    Zoey Taylor has a secret, an ability that she wishes she never had. She moves to a small town away from the big city, running away from her fears in hopes of starting new and to discover herself. Zoey's transition is smooth at first, obtaining a position as the new editor for the town's paper. One night, after a cold and icey storm, she gets attacked by a wolf on her way to her car. It isn't until Zoey faces the creature while fighting for her life on the roof of her car that she realizes this is no ordinary wolf. Out of nowhere, a man comes rushing out of the dark and saves her, moments after the wolf bites her leg.

    As she tries to tell the town residents of the attack, no one seems to believe that she was attacked by a wolf, and insist it was just a dog. The only person who doesn't deny the wolf attack, is the handsome man who saved her that night, Connor Macleod.

    Zoey soon discover the reasons why the town's residents want her to stay quiet about the incident. The town holds an old legend. Zoey doesn't believe the legend at first, that is, until the next full moon.

    Changeling Moon is a brilliant and captivating new paranormal romance series. Dani Harper does a fantastic job in bringing her characters to life through her detailed descriptions and use of relatable emotions. Connor is a caring and handsome veterinarian with special abilities, and who will do everything he can to protect Zoey from being affected by the wolf's bite. Zoey is a strong, determined, and passionate woman who feels an instant connection to Connor. There is enormous amount of bottled up lust and chemistry between these two characters from the very start, however, their connection may very well be their downfall.

    My favorite elements of Changeling Moon are the various abilities presented within the novel. I enjoyed Dani Harper's description of the Changelings, how their abilities are inherited through generations, however, a regular individual can also become a changeling through a single bite. The method to reverse the transition once a person has been bitten is also intriguing. Changeling Moon is a refreshing take on the usual shapeshifting novels. The beautiful cover captures some elements within the novel that may not be obvious at first, and incorporated into the story very nicely.

    This novel is the start of a wonderful series. I recommend this Changeling Moon to those who enjoy Paranormal Romance and shapeshifter tales.

    5/5 - Must read! Highly Recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In attempts to elude the fast life of Vancouver in wake of a tra

    In attempts to elude the fast life of Vancouver in wake of a tragic personal defeat, Zoey Tyler seeks refuge in the small, drama-free town of Dunvegan, which seems warm and inviting at first, but seems to have mysteries and secrets of its own. The whole "heroine escaping her horrible past" cliché in romance novels is overrated, but for once, I was glad to see the swirling crisis actually be revealed bit by bit, rather than culminating to a disappointing climax. Harper fluidly incorporates Zoey's past demons with those she finds in Dunvegan, making for a rich, complicated plot.

    Changelings, which differ from werewolves due to their greater power, and their ability to change into human form whenever they please, are creatures you don't encounter often in paranormal romance, so I enjoyed this fascinating twist on the mythical beings in a contemporary world. Readers get both Connor's lupine and Zoey's human perspectives, which kind of did make the story drag on, but was overall highly revealing. When one enraged beast sabotages the Connor's pack by resurrecting old werewolf folklore which exposes real-life changelings, the entire public is terrorized, and the changelings of Dunvegan, in grave danger. Somehow, Zoey is connected to all of this... and it's Connor and Connor alone who can show her why.

    As much as I liked the supernatural elements, the romance aspect is unconvincing—plenty of insta-love going around—but the love scenes, woooowhee! If you enjoy hot hot alpha male sex, you need to pick up this book now.

    The characters are disappointing too. The secondary characters such as Jessie the pack leader and Connor's playful-yet-equally-sexy brothers are great—I loved them—but Zoey is extremely dislikable. She's supposed to be "strong" and "independent" but she's quite aloof, and rather stiff-necked. She says and does the rashest things that may give her the strapping young reporter vibe in a romance novel, but would literally get her nowhere in real life. Connor, too, isn't that great. He's huge and sexy and tough, yeah, but nothing about him really clicked for me. He's unnecessarily overprotective of Zoey—even though he knows nothing about her—and again, is an ideal, but pretty unrealistic hero. 

    Pros: Smoldering chemistry between Zoey and Connor // Secondary characters are great, especially the Macleod brothers! Mmmm! // Connor is a fantastic alpha hero // Refreshing take on changelings, as opposed to werewolves

    Cons: Changelings seem to be the ideal species—there's basically nothing they can't do // Neither Zoey nor Connor are particularly likable // Physical attraction is well-portrayed, but actual romance and love storyline unrealistic

    Verdict: Since I've never read a changeling romance before, I am glad I gave Changeling Moon a chance; Dani Harper introduces paranormal lovers to a world of werewolf folklore, bloodsucking predators, and sizzling romance. While this first book of the Changeling series isn't something I would necessarily recommend or read again, if you want to try your hand at changelings, you might want to consider this one.

    Rating: 5 out of 10 hearts (3 stars): Doesn't particularly light any of my fires; I feel indifferent about this book.

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by FSB Media in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you, Leyane!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Very good werewolf book. I enjoyed it, and hope to read more abo

    Very good werewolf book. I enjoyed it, and hope to read more about this pack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Good story line

    Another werewolf/Changling romance story. Well written, somehwat fast with poor charaster development at points. Did enjoy, would have liked it to have gone on longer so may read the next books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story is about an editor for a small town newspaper, named

    This story is about an editor for a small town newspaper, named Zoey and a nice veterinarian named Connor. They initially meet up in a parking lot at night where Zoey is being attacked by a large wolf. She manages to fend off the wolf for a while, but is quickly losing ground. Step in Connor. He is like a knight in shining armor except he has fur. Connor realizes that Zoey has been bitten by a changeling (werewolf) and has a way to keep her from changing into one herself. Unfortunately, the changeling will have to be punished in order to keep the packs secret.

    It is no big surprise that Connor and Zoey start to fall for each other. Connor tries really hard to keep Zoey from finding out about the pack, but the changeling that bit her has other plans. Keeping Zoey safe becomes a full time job for Connor, one that he is more than willing to put in overtime to make sure that he is doing a real good job.

    I did enjoy the story as a whole and it is a great addition to the paranormal romance genre. There is some smoking hot sex in this book, so if you are timid you may find yourself skipping some chapters. But luckily for you timid reader, there is more story than sex so you won’t have to miss too much of the good stuff.

    If you are in the mood for a good werewolf story this might just fit the bill. They do refer to themselves as changelings and when you get to the end, you’ll know why. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Excellent

    Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Wonderful

    Completely different view of the werewolf from any I've every read, great characters and story line. Really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Fabulous new series!!!

    I loved this book!! Perfect blend of action/suspense & romance!! I enjoyed Zoey & Connor's relationship!! Her writing skills will get you hooked on the world she's created & the chatacters in it!!! An absolute must read!!! ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Well Written

    Liked it a lot!!! Can't wait to read the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Okay...

    Weird that the heroine had the ability to change into EVERYTHING on a whim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Recomend

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Highl Recommend

    Loved the story. very wonderfully written. can't wait to get the next to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!!

    Changeling Moon is a wonderful story. It's well written with a great plot. Harper makes you fall in love with her world. Before you know it you'll be looking for your own changeling. I enjoyed Connor and Zoey. It was fun to see them fall in love. Harper also introduced you to some secondary characters that will make you sit on the end of your set waiting for their books. If you're a fan of paranormal romance this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    A very good read

    I really enjoyed this first instalment in Dani's Changeling Series. The charaters really came to life. The book kept me turning page after page, I couldn't put it down. I cant wait to start the second book in her series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Aewsome Read

    There was action and suspense immediately in the first chapter! Loved the characters and the way the author laid out the plots for a very gripping story! If you enjoy True Blood, there are parts in this book similiar to that story line. Again excellent read, I had trouble putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    great story

    this was a really great story with a twist. i loved the characters and the action never stopped. it got a little slow at times but always picked up before i got bored. will read the rest of the series. highly recommend to all paronormal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Hmmmm

    Should i get this? The overview said hot sex and im not into that.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Good book

    Well it is a good book but it got a little slow for me in the middle. I keep read and the end was great. I just dont think its worth ten dollors but its up to you. Overall a cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    test

    test

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4