Customer Reviews for

Changes: A Novel of the Dresden Files

Average Rating 4.5
( 828 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(635)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nothing done by halves with Jim Butcher!

This book promises CHANGES and boy does Jim Butcher deliver. I found myself, as usual, laughing out loud at many parts of Changes: great snarky conversations, funny imagery, surprising turns of events... but it was the heartbreak and pain that Harry Dresden endures tha...
This book promises CHANGES and boy does Jim Butcher deliver. I found myself, as usual, laughing out loud at many parts of Changes: great snarky conversations, funny imagery, surprising turns of events... but it was the heartbreak and pain that Harry Dresden endures that had me aching. From moment one in this book it is clear that Harry is in for major upheaval and each event you think must surely be the last bit of destruction, the last loss he must endure, something tops it. As always, there are wonderful interactions with some of our favorite supporting characters: tiny but FIERCE Murphy, tragic and dangerous Thomas, Molly, Sanya, and great stuff with Lea, Mouse and of course Susan and Martin. This book is revelation after revelation and is incredibly thrilling. Another must read by Jim Butcher!

posted by IrshLass on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Avid Butcher fans feels let down.

As a fan of all of Jim's work, this one was a let-down for me. I didn't enjoy the flow of this particular novel. I found the ending (with his daughter) predictable and the interactions between major characters lacking in spontaneity. The book's only redeeeming feature ...
As a fan of all of Jim's work, this one was a let-down for me. I didn't enjoy the flow of this particular novel. I found the ending (with his daughter) predictable and the interactions between major characters lacking in spontaneity. The book's only redeeeming feature was the final moments, but even that leads me to believe that we are going to lose many of the charming things we love so much about this series.

I'm already missing the Fae, the Black Council, and the Denarians.

posted by Marine74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Wonderful escape book, 'CHANGES' stands on its own but I recommend beginning the series at book one.

    J. Butcher develops his characters and plot so that you can read any of the Dresden Files books and enjoy it. However, to get a better perspective on all the characters and the continuing story lines, and to get a feel of the growth of Dresden himself, it is best to start with book one and read them sequentially. In the early books Dresden is brash, immature and not very likeable, but he is a product of his childhood. One wonders how he survives his adventures. Yet, he learns from his experiences and from the responsibilities that are thrust upon him and he evolves into a person you really like and want to succeed. J. Butcher does a wonderful job of weaving magic into the world we know. He also has a refreshing philosophical acceptance of religions and magic; weaving them both into significant roles in his stories. 'CHANGES' has wizards, a priest, knights of the cross, vampires, half vampires, fairy creatures, demi-gods, conventional weapons, magic, action, and plans that sometimes work but more often get derailed and require quick thinking and great magical feats to overcome the situation. If you want a fast paced magical fantasy to escape your everyday existence then 'CHANGES' is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    There are parts of this book that I expected to happen eventually.

    There are parts of this book that I expected to happen eventually. A subplot that was introduced early and had been slowly decaying as it limped along in the background is brought back into the spotlight. Not only is it made the central focus of the story, but it seems to have been finished off for all intents and purposes. I am curious to see how this will impact the supernatural world as a whole going forward.

    Part of this book seems like a big trip down memory lane for the series. I want to say that 90-95% of the recurring characters from the previous books make an appearance, and the only major players that we don't see are ones that have been sidelined by events in the last couple of books. We even get to see Harry lead a large group of his allies into the climax. I figured that was going to happen at some point, but also thought it was likely to occur for the big showdown with the super villain group that's been built up for the past few books. I enjoyed what happened here to a point where this is going to be my measuring stick for the final conflict.

    And even with all of this, he still has time to give us a small peek at some areas of the Dresden universe we haven't seen yet. I hope to see Vadderung and his associates expanded upon at some point in a future story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    HARRY DRESDEN IN PARANORMAL PERIL!

    I have read all the Dresden Files and Jim Butcher continues to keep Harry active and interesting....and you anxious for another adventure!

    This installment of Harry's saga brings some old characters back and keeps you in contact with the "regulars". And as always, there are some unexpected turns of events that keep you reading far into the night. Keep reading folks, and maybe get the Dresden Files #13 when you buy this one, since you'll want to keep going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Paperback/Urban Fantasy: This book is really good. Everything

    Paperback/Urban Fantasy: This book is really good. Everything Harry didn't lose in Turn Coat, he loses in this book. And just when you think he can't lose anything else, BAM! Then, he can't lose anything, BAM, repeat...several more times. I see lots of peeps saying this is the best Dresden book. I still think the first book Storm Front is the best.
    You know from the first line of the book what the situation is going to be. The only mystery is how Dresden is going to get there.
    There are some funny parts including Mouse "talking" and Toot mouthing off about the reflection he saw in he pond. I actually had to reread the latter because it is so funny. I'm still loving some Molly and her maturing role.
    Great book and great addition to the Dresden series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    A surprise on the first page

    Readers of The Dresden Files know that all the titles are two words, related to the plot in some ironic way. Seeing a one-word title, the reader knows that this book is going to be different.

    All of the reviews and plot summaries start with the surprise on the first page: Harry has a daughter with Susan Rodriguez. Her name is Maggie and she's been kidnapped. The plot twists and turns and looks like a tangled mess of yarn to the very end.

    The end is heartbreaking - twice - and you'll want to have book 13, Ghost Story on hand when you've finished this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Deepest Dresden Yet

    The character interplay and development are better than any previous Dresden book. The action is nonstop and the choices are more complex. The book is miss-titled it should be Choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    fun. Fun. Fun.

    Dresdan lovvers enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent addition to the series, really moves the story forward.

    Jim Butcher's Changes introduces many changes into the lives of characters from the Dresden Files. I finished the previous book long enough ago to have forgotten most of the details (okay, I have a bad memory), but the author includes enough simple references to satisfy without my needing to reread-a master at the well-hinted back-story I guess. Characters spring back to, or into, personhood (or something else) and pull the reader in, while the overall situation, a missing, vitally important child, keeps the tension going from beginning to end.

    This is definitely not a story for the squeamish. Dangers and horrors hinted at in earlier volumes become much deeper here, and Ick isn't just a name for a monster. But as horror stories go, there's plenty of human interest, lots of fascinating depth of detail, and intriguing hints at the only partly known. There are mysteries too, and wholly satisfying revelations, complex good and bad guys, and a fine coming together of ideas from the earlier novels. Did the author really have all this planned out from the start, or is he a genius at making ideas come together? Whatever, I really enjoyed the book and am eager to read the next; I just wish it would come out in paperback sooner. Ah, but that's what libraries are for.



    Disclosure: My husband and I both enjoy the Dresden Files, so when we heard this one was out in paperback we had to buy it. Husband gets to read it next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    great book!

    i have to say that i actually came upon this book by accident while listening to book radio in my car one day. Soon i found my self wanting to drive around the block so i could hear the next chapter. I'm not one for audio books but this got my attention, i would deffinatly recomend it as one to read. Now i find out it's a series, i cant wait to get to the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Changes ROCKS

    This series is getting better and better. The name "Changes" is very apt. Dresden is the man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jim Butcher delivers another great thriller with "Changes"!

    I consider myself a big Jim Butcher fan, and when I discovered that book 12 of his Dresden Files Series would be released, I was more than ecstatic. I thought that the plot was a little weak, because hey, he's (Harry Dresden) is big on saving damsels in distress--so it came as no surprise to me that Susan would reprise her role in his life as "lost love". I wish that Butcher had developed more of a storyline with his other characters like Ivy, and bringing in more of a plot besides the one where he annoys the Fey again. Overall, the vampires of the Red Court always amuse me, for one, their tactics of trying to tick off Harry are usually pretty ridiculous---I'd just like to see more of what will happen now that he has given up independence by pledging fealty to ol' Mab and becoming the Winter Knight. Hopefully, the ending scene isn't going to be as ominous as it seemed and Harry will once again ride into the sunset with a new Blue Beetle (resurrected yet again)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    These always go somewhere slightly differently than I expect

    Rumor has it that there will only be 13 books in this series. I am going to be very sad when the 13th and final book comes out. I stumbled onto this series when I was stuck in an airport and needed something to read. I am so glad I picked it. I have loved this series and not just because I am a Chicago reader. It has been a fun ride growing up with Harry. Jim Butcher writes fun dialogue and well developed characters. The characters end up in impossible situations that are really over the top, but the reality of the human emotional turmoil stays real with Harry. I'm looking forward to the next - I need to find out what happens to Harry, Bob the skull and all the rest. I need to see how this series wraps up in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8