Customer Reviews for

Changes: A Novel of the Dresden Files

Average Rating 4.5
( 824 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(632)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nothing done by halves with Jim Butcher!

This book promises CHANGES and boy does Jim Butcher deliver. I found myself, as usual, laughing out loud at many parts of Changes: great snarky conversations, funny imagery, surprising turns of events... but it was the heartbreak and pain that Harry Dresden endures tha...
This book promises CHANGES and boy does Jim Butcher deliver. I found myself, as usual, laughing out loud at many parts of Changes: great snarky conversations, funny imagery, surprising turns of events... but it was the heartbreak and pain that Harry Dresden endures that had me aching. From moment one in this book it is clear that Harry is in for major upheaval and each event you think must surely be the last bit of destruction, the last loss he must endure, something tops it. As always, there are wonderful interactions with some of our favorite supporting characters: tiny but FIERCE Murphy, tragic and dangerous Thomas, Molly, Sanya, and great stuff with Lea, Mouse and of course Susan and Martin. This book is revelation after revelation and is incredibly thrilling. Another must read by Jim Butcher!

posted by IrshLass on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Avid Butcher fans feels let down.

As a fan of all of Jim's work, this one was a let-down for me. I didn't enjoy the flow of this particular novel. I found the ending (with his daughter) predictable and the interactions between major characters lacking in spontaneity. The book's only redeeeming feature ...
As a fan of all of Jim's work, this one was a let-down for me. I didn't enjoy the flow of this particular novel. I found the ending (with his daughter) predictable and the interactions between major characters lacking in spontaneity. The book's only redeeeming feature was the final moments, but even that leads me to believe that we are going to lose many of the charming things we love so much about this series.

I'm already missing the Fae, the Black Council, and the Denarians.

posted by Marine74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Nothing done by halves with Jim Butcher!

    This book promises CHANGES and boy does Jim Butcher deliver. I found myself, as usual, laughing out loud at many parts of Changes: great snarky conversations, funny imagery, surprising turns of events... but it was the heartbreak and pain that Harry Dresden endures that had me aching. From moment one in this book it is clear that Harry is in for major upheaval and each event you think must surely be the last bit of destruction, the last loss he must endure, something tops it. As always, there are wonderful interactions with some of our favorite supporting characters: tiny but FIERCE Murphy, tragic and dangerous Thomas, Molly, Sanya, and great stuff with Lea, Mouse and of course Susan and Martin. This book is revelation after revelation and is incredibly thrilling. Another must read by Jim Butcher!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Superb swing into darker themes

    One day Harry Dresden encounters a woman he hasn't seen for over 8 years. On that day, she informs him he is a father and their daughter is in danger. Then, he finds the ancient and powerful Red Court is preparing a lethal bloodline curse which will kill him and everyone in his family, including his half-brother, his grandfather and his daughter. Now, Harry must save himself and his family. But, a devastating injury tempts Harry into making a Deal with the Devil to save his daughter. What will he do? This is an excellent novel even though it sets a darker tone which brings forth the major plot arcs of the next novels in the series. A definite must read if you enjoy the series up to this point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Read

    I have enjoyed ever book in the Dresden Files series.
    Harry is awesome.

    I hope Jim Butcher keeps writing for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Damon

    Got in the car and headed over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Butcher has always brought Harry Dresden to life, exposing his i

    Butcher has always brought Harry Dresden to life, exposing his inner thoughts, fears & struggles while also portraying wonderous & intense battles and exciting plot twists. With this book he takes it to a whole new level. The story marks a critical shift for Dresden, brilliantly closing the last chapter (of the series) and opening things up for the next. I've never felt more empathetic for a character in a novel than I did for Dresden in this latest masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Hi

    Hi sarah

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Harry goes farther down the road to the dark side, but he's able

    Harry goes farther down the road to the dark side, but he's able to pull his mind/body/soul back with out losing to many freinds,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Banefoul

    It rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    A must read

    This book is number twelve in a series and it may have been the best one yet. Jim Butcher has outdone himself yet again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Maddie

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Tfttfyytthh

    Tgfyfhftdghugtfsfxfttryhfgryetgfyrtddggddrdffhgrtrrrddgfggttntjteddghuuyuhjg jkgggggggggggggggggjgdjdjsbfhhbbvtfbhcxhdhgghvjchx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    A must read!! But read the others so the suspense is even better!

    I love the dresden series and this book did not disappoint. Lots to keep me entertained and I literally couldnt put it down. Read it in a day. Its almost like all the books have been preparing Harry for this book-this moment. I love all the characters in it and I feel Jim Butcher told the story very well. He left plenty of things about the characters out so in stories to come all those questions we had can be answered, like about mouse,Mab,Murphy and molly. What i really cant wait for is the book after Ghost Story so we can see the winter knight work his magic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Fantastic "Dresden" book

    Simply put, a great story for anyone who's a fan of this series. A major game-changer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Jim Butcher's imagination and creativity is surprising. I enjoy just seeing what he comes up with next. The reader gets very involved with his characters, which is a compliment to the author's skills.
    Good series of stories...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Team Dresden turns out to have some surprising members

    After reading Ghost Story, I have finished all of the existing Dresden Files. I don't know what I'll do with myself. This is one of the best of the tales, providing answers, surprises, and I suspect setting the stage for what is to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Love it.

    Not done yet, but it is the same lovable Harry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Best One Yet!

    This was definitely a depart from the Harry we all know. I have been waiting awhile for him to hit the screw it button. The development of him having a daughter is the perfect excuse. The ending is surprising and refreshing; Butcher is a brave author and pulled it off nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    mr butcher keeps me amazed!

    changes is the best title for this book, so much happened in this book, i laughed i cried i yelled and i was stunned... can't wait for the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    JIM BUTCHER ROCKS

    This is one of my favorite series. Harry I love you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32