Customer Reviews for

Changing Faces

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    Great book! ...I needs a sequel... What happen to the friends an

    Great book! ...I needs a sequel... What happen to the friends and etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Ok....

    This book was ok... not really what i expected... the book did indeed start off slow and there wasnt much dramatic changes in the end... the book was just ok... nothin more nothin less...

    Akeshia Marcellina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great ending

    This book was great. It started out somewhat slaow but as i continued reading the plot became more complex which led to an amazing ending! Not predictable at all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Another favorite

    I absolutely love this book, from chapter to chapter i couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Very entertaining

    I really enjoyed this book. I can relate to the characters and there situations. Charise was my favorite character because she was hurting the most. No one saw her pain until it was too late. The ending was somewhat satisfying, i wish Charise could have had a second chance.... but thats my empathy for damaged souls. I really like this book. I am looking to readsome of her other books. "The best kept secret" sounds good. Thanks Kimberla!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great entertainment!

    This was a good read, somewhat predictable storyline but overall, a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love It!

    This is my 1st novel by author and looking forward to reading more. The characters in the stories keeps you in the suspense. I especially enjoy the character of Whitney. I am plus size myself and knows how it feels when people watch you. I don't want to spoil the ending, so go order this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Couldn't help it....

    The first book I read of Kimberla's was Casting the First Stone. As I started reading this one I thought it wasn't as good, but soon enough I couldn't put it down. I enjoy her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Changing Faces

    A great read, a little slow at first but it picks up and becomes great. The characters are different enough yet real in todays time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Great Read

    I read this book within 3 days. A fast paced read. This author has great talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Slow, but good at the ending

    I thought this book dragged out too long and two of the girlfriends were too goody goody and unrealistic. In fact, all of the characters were not very genuine and it doesn't pick up till the ending. However, the ending picks up in a big way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Friends Forever?

    Kimberla Lawson Roby uses the alternating voices of Whitney, Taylor, and Charisse to carry the story line in Changing Faces. The three have been friends for years and years but sometimes they don't even like each other. The women are dealing with relationship issues with friends, lovers, family, coworkers....you name it and they're trying to sort it out. Whitney, an overweight woman who is trying to lose weight for an upcoming reunion, has to deal with her thin sister and mother, who are joined at the hip and don't hesitate to put her down. Meanwhile, she's looking for a man who will see beyond her size into her heart. Taylor is ready to settle down and have a family but she's in love with a man who's avoiding marriage and children like the plague. Faced with a health crisis, she has to decide what she wants for her future. And then there's Charisse. Loudly proclaiming herself a Christian, she nevertheless treats her family as she's been treated by her abusive mother. She rules her husband with an iron hand, loves her son, and ignores her daughter, all the while carrying on a sexual relationship with her pastor. There's a lot of drama packed into the novel but there's also a good picture of women supporting one another through thick and thin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Great Book I received for Xmas

    I thought this book was great and have recommended it to friends. It didnt have me on the edge of my seat like others I have read, but it had a happy ending and I am satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Okay, Not her best

    I thougt the story plot was good but how it was brought about needed some revision. The story didn't flow naturally, but it was a decent read. She has other books that are really, really, good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Good Read

    I definitely recommend this novel as a reader choice. The story line was very good, it kept me yearning for more and after completing this novel you'll see that it is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Awesome!!!!

    This book was awesome to read it was so real that you felt just what the characters were going through and they come to life on every page. My daughter introduce me to the book and I just have to say that it is awesome and so is the editor Ms.Kimberla Roby keep on writing and I will keep on reading were getting ready to start on 'Casting the First Stone' and I know it will be great. You go Girl. Princess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    GIRL POWER

    WHAT A WONDERFUL READ. THIS BOOK DID NOT DISAPPOINT AT ALL. THREE GIRLFRIENDS THAT WAS OFF THE CHAIN. TAYLOR STRUGGLING TO KEEP EVERYONE TOGETHER IN THE MIST OF TURMOIL. WHITNEY TRYING TO LOOSE WEIGHT AND MAINTAIN A NEW RELATIONSHIP. AND LAST BUT BY NO MEANS LEAST CHARISSE WITH HER CRAZY BEHIND. I DON'T KNOW ANYONE LIKE CHARISSE, AND I WOULDN'T WANT TO. YOU HAVE THE READ THIS BOOK TO SEE ALL THE DRAMA THAT UNFOLDS. ROBY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB WRITING THIS. I HOPE YOU ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS I DID.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Once again excellent writing

    This book was the greatest. It had so much going on. Funny, shocking, and sad events. Unbelievable. This book was excellent. I cannot wait for the next book. I always tell others about this great African American author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Damn Good but...

    Changing Faces is a damn good novel. The characters feel real and are easy to relate to. The element of hatred within a supposedly loving relationship is original as well. However, the book was a little too predictable for me, especially given the way the points of view were presented...more with Charisse's story than the other characters. This was my first Kimberla Lawson Roby book and it's doubtful that it will be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    FANTASTIC BOOK

    MS. ROBY HAS OUT DONE HERSELF ONCE AGAIN SHE MADE THIS BOOK COME TO LIFE AS SHE DOES WITH HER OTHERS COULDNT PUT IT DOWN AND DID NOT WANT THIS BOOK TO END. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3